We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Christmas 2016”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Dolgadfa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bala, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Daniel R
1 review
“Christmas 2016”
Reviewed January 1, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

My family & I spent Christmas 2016 at Dolgadfa. The cottages are very spacious & situated in beautiful surroundings. We also took 3 dogs in our party & they loved playing in the large garden areas. The lady who rented out the property was very helpful on arrival but at the same time left us to enjoy our holiday & was not intrusive in the slightest. Bala is a lovely little village & providing you have access to a vehicle, you can see other parts of Wales quite easily. We visited Llandudno, Wrexham, Mount Snowdon & Bangor. All roughly an hour away or less. I would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed November 23, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A beautiful property in a wonderfully remote location. All my friends and family enjoyed it overall and we had some lovely walks with the dogs.

Very bitterly cold during the day with no option to put the heating on so fires are a must though not the easiest to keep going when you're not used to it and takes a while to heat the large rooms.

Comfortable beds and lovely to see so many original features throughout the property. Would make more sense for the dining room in the main house to be turned into a sitting area as the kitchen has a dining area plus a further one off it. A large party have nowhere to sit comfortably in the main house so we had to all go over to the annexe after we'd eaten and carry some chairs from the dining room over as we couldn't eat in the annexe becaue there is no kitchen, or alternatively fit a kitchen in the annexe.

Only bugbear nearby was from first thing to nightfall you can hear some sort of quad bike circuit happening in the distance which did ruin the peace a little. If that's goes on all year long I'd be very annoyed if I lived nearby!

My own personal opinion also is if somewhere is dog friendly there shouldn't be an extra charge for dogs, same as if somewhere is child friendly, but it's a non-refundable £25 per dog here in addition to a security deposit being taken. Also a £10 charge for wifi which no one used because it didn't work for longer than a couple of minutes at a time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2016
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you found some problems with your stay at Dolgadfa, unfortunately we have to charge £25 per dog as not all guests are as tidy as you and some have left considerable mess after their dogs have been, sadly we are now not going to allow dogs from next year due to these problems. As for the dining room being were it is, it is more convenient for it to be next to the kitchen for obvious reasons. We are not allowed to have an extra "kitchen" in the barn annexe due to planning permission, the barn is ancillary accommodation to the main house. I am sorry that the WIFI was not satisfactory and as stated on our website we will of course refund you the £10 if it is not working properly, sadly due to the rural location of the property WIFI is not always great. As for the bikers across the other side of the valley, again this is out of our control and only happens on occasional weekends. I would like to say that it was a pleasure to do the changeover after you had left as the house and barn were left immaculate so thank you for that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The huge space inside and the cottage itself is best.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2016
Thank you! Hope to welcome you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FayeB281
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Clean, cosy and spacious - perfect for a get-together with friends”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We recently stayed for a long weekend at Dolfadga whilst visiting Wales to do the Velocity Zip Wire and Bounce Below.

The 2 x building are gorgeous, character properties with original features and open fires, there was plenty of space for all x 10 of us. Lots of kindling and wood for both fires making it the cosiest getaway!

You must visit the local pub for the Bryn Bara - best meal i've eaten in ages!

Highly recommended for a trip to Wales - it's around an hours drive from Velocity but with the best views around

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2016
Thank you and hope to welcome you back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W
2 reviews
“A magical spot”
Reviewed July 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A really wonderful place to spend a week. Very quiet, right next to the beautiful River Dee, and no near neighbours apart from the sheep. A very comfortable house, and a glorious outlook across the valley.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daragh O
Meols, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location for a family gathering”
Reviewed July 19, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Ideal get away for an extended family gathering.
Spacious, comfortable & cosy with good mix of rooms. Particularly liked the large lounge and large dining room even if they are in two buildings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall feel of the place
Liked least: Only two proper showers
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pkwilk71
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful house & barn annexe in lovely rural location”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Well equipped house & annexe, very comfortable, all amenities & linen provided.
Ideal for large family group, plenty of very safe grounds for children to run around in - the children (4 - 7) loved it.
Lou greeted us on arrival. There were a couple of problems with the house early on which were sorted promptly.
Well placed to explore the area, not too far for the beach when the sun shines (which it did, a lot!) Can recommend a lovely spot by the river, ideal for paddling & impromptu bbq!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bedrooms split across the two buidings - allows for different waking times!
Liked least: Somewhat low water pressure in bathrooms (minor detail)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing