We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect get away cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private garden & hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Private garden & hot tub
Local Welcome Basket
Spa treatments available
Bala White water rafting nearby
Snowdonia National Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bala, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ALSHSX
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Perfect get away cottage”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A gorgeous warm, homely cottage with luxurious touches (like the welcome basket, deep bath, hot tub & inglenook wood burner).
Perfectly situated within a small farm estate, a secure garden for my little dog to be free and the floor to ceiling window where she sat for hours watching the wildlife.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Ghillie's Cottage. I'm so pleased you had such a lovely time. Many thanks, Jen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elainecha...
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed March 12, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Had another amazing stay at ghillies cottage. This was our second stay and it was just as amazing. Rivercatcher have got it spot on!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2017
Thank you Elaine! Glad your second stay with us was as good as the first. Many thanks, Jen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rarala22
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay but watch your deposit”
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Really fantastic accommodation with everything thought of. We have made a few trips here and have thoroughly enjoyed every one, we have also recommended it to friends who have been. Having been home 2 days we have now been told we will not be getting our deposit back for damage to paintwork and a door handle. This has been blamed on our dog when this is not possible. It looks like on the images a dog has been locked in, which would definitely not do. Also being asked for a review before making me aware of this has made me question the validity of this. This has left a sour taste for us and sadly we will no longer be recommending Rivercatcher. Definitely cover yourself by taking photos of any damage so you don't lose your deposit, I wish we had!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2017
I'm sorry to here that you are upset about the damage caused during your stay. We really don't make a habit of withholding any guests security deposit without good reason, and have only had to do this on 2 other occasions in the 3 years we have been open.

I hope you can appreciate our situation in wanting to keep our cottages at a 5 star standard for all guests. Minor breakages etc are always accepted as just 'one of those things' and part and parcel of the business we are in. However the damage we found on your departure was significant enough for us to have to replace and fix items of value.

I hope you have good memories of your stay at Rivercatcher and we would of course welcome you back at any time.

Kind regards, Jen & Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c00per6
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage, Stunning location”
Reviewed February 10, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed in Ghillies cottage for 3 nights at the beginning of February and we could. Or have had a more perfect weekend. The cottage has everything you need and a real warm and homely feel. The welcome basket and blanket for the dog was a lovely touch.
The location is perfect with stunning views. We made use of the walking tips in the info pack and added some adrenaline to our weekend by going to Zip World. The hot tub was a great way to relax after busy days out.
I cannot recommend this place enough, although I would love to keep it for myself. We will most definitely be returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albobon
1 review
“Our Ghillies Cottage Stay”
Reviewed February 9, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Just had a fantastic 2 day stay with my husband and our 2 little pooches and it met all our expectations and more.. beautiful property in stunning surroundings we felt like we had escaped the rat race..
From the log stove the high end touches and amazing hot tub we didnt want to leave you have thought of everything even the welcome hamper and blankets for our pooches i could go on and on..
My only criticism which isnt really one more personal preference would be a feather pillow choice but like i said thats because we prefer that..

We cannot wait to return thanku for everything..weve made amazing memories to treasure of our time here

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline Y
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed January 29, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

The cottage we stayed in was so comfortable .the log fire lovely to come back to after a day out, also the hottub was very relaxing even though the weather was cold. Cottage very well equipped and a lovely welcoming pack. An extra plus was they are dog friendly. Rivercatcher is in beautiful surroundings, we were lucky with the weather but if it had been rainy ,there are plenty of books and games in the cottage and a Smart television with Netflix , not forgetting the lovely games room.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 1, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday! Looking forward to welcoming you next year again. Many thanks, Jen & Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samibear6...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent cottages situated inbeautiful surroundings”
Reviewed December 28, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked to stay here for Christmas 20th to the 27th DEC. The cottage was excellent with everything you could need. Decorated to a very high standard, also we had the best sleep we've ever had whilst being away. The views are spectacular and there's so much to do in the surrounding areas. You've also got your own hot tub which is a bonus. The welcome pack upon arrival was of a high quality and all was sourced locally. You've got the river Dee behind the cottage and lovely scenic walks.. I'd recommend Rivercatcher to all my friends and family. Thank you for an enjoyable and relaxing week away........

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm so pleased you had such a lovely time. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Many thanks, Jen & Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing