We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Incredibly special place - loved it!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private garden & hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Private garden & hot tub
Local Welcome Basket
Spa treatments available
Bala White water rafting nearby
Snowdonia National Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bala, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Voyage752...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredibly special place - loved it!”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is a hard review to write - I'm not sure I can do justice to quite how special Rivercatcher is

The accommodation is of an exceptionally high standard, thought has been given to everything. The cottage is incredibly well equipped, and luxuriously and comfortably decorated and furnished. It is a cottage for 2, but it feels comfortably large enough, while also feeling cosy and romantic. There is a large garden with patio and hot tub, and a lawned area. The hot tub is fantastic, it has privacy from the other cottages and a beautiful view to the river.

All the grounds on the Rivercatcher site are beautifully maintained. There is a great games room and a laundry equipped with two Bosch washing machines and two tumble dryers. It is a beautiful place, but works so well practically too. The location is ideal for exploring Snowdonia. There are lovely local walks (details are provided in the guest folder), and Snowdon, Zipworld and the beach at Barmouth are all just over an hour away. Incredible place, can't fault it. Desperate to return.

Date of stay: June 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickA6061...
Sunbury-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Setting on the banks of the Dee”
Reviewed May 21, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A week of lovely weather in a beautiful setting. Great restaurant (Michelin starred) close by. good pub and restaurant (closed when we were there) in the village. Crockery needs at least 4 of everything. Boiler from next door noisy. Aled was a great help. Good walking locally. Fantasic setting in North Wales for Bala etc. as a Cestrian, it was so nice to be back in part of unspoilt Wales. Cottage very comfortable. we are experienced cottagers and this is in our top five (and the most expensive!) but it was my wife's 65th Birthday!

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage,setting and location
Liked least: Boiler noise at night (not ours)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrey W
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed May 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had no problem finding the Rivercatcher location, which consists of an old farmhouse and outbuildings. All are renovated and decorated to a very high standard and excellently maintained by Aled, who is on site weekdays and very helpful. We loved the setting overlooking the River Dee and the hot tub. Each property is "fenced" off to keep children and dogs from straying. We were the only people there and enjoyed peace and quiet until our last day when most properties were occupied by people and dogs. The dog in the Farmhouse would not stop barking and when we went out in the garden it appeared at the fence barking at us without any attempt by the guests in the farmhouse stopping it. It was even barking in the middle of the night. We were therefore pleased to be leaving the next day. Pity, but it's probably better if you go with a dog.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: Other people's dogs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2016
Hello Audry, Thank you for taking time to review Ghillie's Cottage at Rivercatcher. I'm so pleased you had a lovely time and you enjoyed our Riverside location. I'll pass your comments onto Aled, who is loved by our Guests for being so helpful and friendly.
With regards to the dog that wouldn't stop barking I can only apologies for this disturbing your last day. In the nearly 2 years that we have been open we have had no trouble from our doggy guests and no complaints from guests regarding this matter. This was just so unlucky for you and very annoying to be the first, I'm sure. In this situation we would always approach our guests about the noise and ask them to consider others when such issues are reported.
I hope you have fond memories of your stay and can be reassured that this is not a regular occurrence. However I really do understand your frustration. Kind regards, Jen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
846Heathe...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway! Ghillies cottage”
Reviewed April 15, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

5 star cottage with everything you could need! Hot tub was fantastic with the perfect view of wildlife, river, and countryside! The cottage was very cozy especially when you can light the log fire. Meals can be eaten inside with a view of the river or outside with again a view of the river. Couldn't recommend this cottage enough for the perfect getaway break. Only 20mins drive to Bala and an hour drive to Portmeirion and Beddgelert.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the cottage and cozyness of inside.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LymmLife
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“5 Star - Idyllic Retreat ”
Reviewed March 14, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This was our second year at Ghillies Cottage and it is still the most wonderful, romantic, Idyllic Retreat we've stayed in. From the little touches of the welcome basket to the hot tub, fire, attention to detail and even meeting Alan (mainatance man) we've just had another amazing stay... If you're looking to completely get away from the world (no mobile phone reception ) then this is the perfect retreat. This time we tried the Thai take away from the local shop - for a take away at home this was absolutely delicious and the vegetable spring rolls are to die for... we can not recommended Rivercatcher enough and look forward to coming back to stay in a larger cottage with friends.

Date of stay: March 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K4350FXad...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend away”
Reviewed February 29, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Myself, girlfriend and our Westie stayed the weekend of 26th February - 29th February. We cannot recommend it enough to anyone thinking of going. The setting of the cottage is beautiful and relatively easy to find, the cottage was of one of the highest standards we've stayed in. Upon arrival finding a small hamper with essentials and extras (wine, butter, eggs) was a really nice touch.

The only gripe we had was that there was only one toilet roll between two people for 3 nights so bring some with you. Although, not too much of a problem as there is a shop down the road or a co-op about 15 minutes drive.

We will definitely be going back.

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, hot tub, cleanliness
Liked least: couldn't think of anything!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YolandaG1...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best experience”
Reviewed February 16, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We love this cottage. It is fantastic quality and the hot tub after a long walk is out of this world.
We keep going back and will continue to do so.
The cottage is well stocked for self catering accommodation & we miss out on nothing.

Date of stay: February 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing