We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“oh dear,oh dear,oh dear” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Lion Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White Lion Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bala
coventry
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“oh dear,oh dear,oh dear”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

Just stayed at the White Lion for the bank holiday weekend and it wasnt what i was expecting at all!! First of all Bala is a smaller version of Blackpool,which turns the White Lion into a beer swilling pub rather than a quaint welsh hotel. The hotel bedroom was ok,dirty and old but ok. Bathroom was great though and the power shower was brilliant. Ive read lots of reports to say the food is good ! ! No the food is awful. Menu looks nice enough but it is most definately standard pub grub and the breakfast is mostly fried! ! It was obvious that the hotel was under staffed but this is no excuse on a bank holiday weekend. VERY DISAPPOINTED!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brownie044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    121
    46
    29
    28
See reviews for
44
136
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

We spent just one night at the White Lion Royal Hotel in Bala and enjoyed out stay. It is a huge, rambling building that seems to go on forever, but it was great to stay in a place with all the facilities we required. The room was large and equipped with everything we needed and in a nice position on the top floor to watch the street below (not much was happening). We had a hearty meal in the pub and a good solid sleep. Breakfast was fine, not exceptional, but more than adequate with attentive service. Overall the building is looking a little tired in places, but the cost of the room quickly removes any concern in this area. Definitely recommended as a good place to spend the night if you passing this way.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hunm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

Room was large and very clean .Staff were very nice and helpfull. Food was lovely. Great base for seeing lots of beautiful scenery. We will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beller078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

My hubby and I have just spent an overnighter at the White Lion Royal Hotel Bala, this was a late booking, 2 days before arriving. Having read the reviews, was happy with our choice. The hotel is situated in the high street amid all the shops and pubs, was surprised to see how big the pub actually was, car park at the back ok, we travelled by bike, but would have a problem parking the car as the car park is not that big. Check in was quick and Ms O'Hara welcomed us as if she had known us years, our room was ok, lovely bathroom, but due to the late booking , I think we had one of the smaller rooms, but fine for what we paid, clean but fairly warm , our view was of the air conditioning system which was a little noisy, with the window open
We were recommended to book a table if we wanted to eat in, which we did and was not disappointed, the service was exceptional, Gillian and Robert who waited on us were friendly, knowledgeable of the menu and very attentive. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. We retired to the bar which was open to non residents and found even the locals chatty. Breakfast in the morning was equally delicious and plentyful.
I will definitely return to this hotel and think the staff are what makes me want to return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RootytootCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

The staff were friendly and very helpful, the food was superb. We were a group of 8 adults staying 2 days. The Hotel was in the centre of Bala, within walking distance of the Lake and walks up the surrounding hills. The Manager gave us directions of local places of interest. We spent a very relaxing evening playing board games in the lounge after Dinner.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dunnomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

Stayed one night in the White Lion Royal Hotel Bala. It was not up to the 4 star standard that it was advertised at, however it had a lot of character. The four poster bed creaked when I turned over on the night which disturbed my sleep. The bathroom was very smelly and the bin had not been emptied from the previous guests.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Canada_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bala hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Wales UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

Stayed here for one night and found the hotel to be really comfortable and full of charm.
The room we had was on the first floor at the front of the hotel and it was lovely and the bathroom was really spacious and newly refurbished. The staff at the hotel were very helpful, as we found out on checking out when our credit card had been declined and they let us use the hotel phone to find the cause, (our credit card had been stopped due to our details having been stolen........) The receptionist was very helpful and we cant thank her enough. We had a lovely evening meal in the bar and our compliments to the chef..... Really enjoyed Bala, a number of good pubs in the high street. Thanks to all the staff at the White Lion, a truly memorable stay and by the way the breakfast was fantastic.....

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALLYJWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bala
14.8 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
11.5 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
15.2 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
15.3 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
17.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lion Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lion Royal Hotel

Property: White Lion Royal Hotel
Address: 61 High Street, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7AE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — White Lion Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lion is situated within the Lake District of Wales. Bala water sports are world renowned. The hotel has 26 rooms fully refurbished in 2005 to a 4 star standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your White Lion Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lion Royal Bala
White Lion Royal Hotel Bala, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing