We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveler rating
162
173
58
42
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
173
58
42
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable hotel high street pub grub good size room was large four poster bed welsh breakfast would stay again powerful shower fish and chips following morning my partner full english breakfast was excellent lovely room an evening meal north wales
Filter
Updating list...
391 - 396 of 478 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Very disappointed. I wrote this waiting for our food. Took an hour for our food to arrive and Pudding turned up first. Avoid !!! Ordered chicken breast and new potatoes in butter with salad. Chicken pieces chopped up with butter portions on the side arrived no salad :-( rip off. Spent £40 then had to go to Chinese over the road because left our meals

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Thecampers25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Bala is a small sleepy village/town in North Wales on the edge of the Snowdonia national park. I stayed with friends for a stag weekend and the hotel was lovely, bar served a great pint if ale, we tried a few local pubs but went back to the hotel! Also nice evening meal for the price and when i needed sone special assistance with travel plans the following morning the staff bent over backwards.

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveroseknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

After arriving in Bala and setting up our tent we were desperate for a hearty lunch but unfortunately did not get one here.I chose the ploughmans lunch which was just a few slices of cheese,a couple of salad leaves,a slice of bread and a quarter of an apple all for £5.95.I was very disappointed especially when the next day I bought a ploughmans from the co-op opposite to take on a picnic which was twice the size and the equivellent of £1 in the meal deal.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank michelle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel is well located in the center of Bala. Has a small private car park. It's an old building and a bit quirky. Rooms are well appointed and we had an executive room that was very spacious (only because it was the last room available). Hotel restaurant and bar serves good quality food and prices are in line with other pubs / bars in Bala.

Bala can be lively at the weekend so rooms at the front can be a bit noisy.

Will use this hotel again when we return to Bala.

Room tip: If you don't want to be disturbed at night by the lively high street, particularly at weekends, ask for a room at the rear.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I think we must have stayed in a different hotel from some of the guests whose comments are posted on this page or we were very lucky and they were unlucky! We stayed for three nights with our son daughter in law and their two small children. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff who were friendly kind and efficient. We had two spacious rooms spotlessly clean with comfortable beds AND pillows!! OK the plumbing was a bit unusual and the floorboards creaked but surely that has something to do with the age of the building and adds to the character? The food was well cooked and plentiful and we had our evening meal each night with a great choice on the menu! Service was brilliant. We loved the location and had a really enjoyable break and will definately return and will recommend it to all and sundry! Well done the white lion dont let the rants get you down!!!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews