We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old coaching inn built in 1752”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Lion Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bala
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and i had dinner in the hotel last night ( 15/09/2012) lovely meal was excellent. It was very reaosnably priced, i had the Cajun salmon my wife had the Salmon fillet great quality food and a lovely presentation, Nice ambient, friendly service,. We shall certainly return

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 351 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

Very disappointed. I wrote this waiting for our food. Took an hour for our food to arrive and Pudding turned up first. Avoid !!! Ordered chicken breast and new potatoes in butter with salad. Chicken pieces chopped up with butter portions on the side arrived no salad :-( rip off. Spent £40 then had to go to Chinese over the road because left our meals

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Thecampers25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Bala is a small sleepy village/town in North Wales on the edge of the Snowdonia national park. I stayed with friends for a stag weekend and the hotel was lovely, bar served a great pint if ale, we tried a few local pubs but went back to the hotel! Also nice evening meal for the price and when i needed sone special assistance with travel plans the following morning the staff bent over backwards.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveroseknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

After arriving in Bala and setting up our tent we were desperate for a hearty lunch but unfortunately did not get one here.I chose the ploughmans lunch which was just a few slices of cheese,a couple of salad leaves,a slice of bread and a quarter of an apple all for £5.95.I was very disappointed especially when the next day I bought a ploughmans from the co-op opposite to take on a picnic which was twice the size and the equivellent of £1 in the meal deal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank michelle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel is well located in the center of Bala. Has a small private car park. It's an old building and a bit quirky. Rooms are well appointed and we had an executive room that was very spacious (only because it was the last room available). Hotel restaurant and bar serves good quality food and prices are in line with other pubs / bars in Bala.

Bala can be lively at the weekend so rooms at the front can be a bit noisy.

Will use this hotel again when we return to Bala.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be disturbed at night by the lively high street, particularly at weekends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I think we must have stayed in a different hotel from some of the guests whose comments are posted on this page or we were very lucky and they were unlucky! We stayed for three nights with our son daughter in law and their two small children. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff who were friendly kind and efficient. We had two spacious rooms spotlessly clean with comfortable beds AND pillows!! OK the plumbing was a bit unusual and the floorboards creaked but surely that has something to do with the age of the building and adds to the character? The food was well cooked and plentiful and we had our evening meal each night with a great choice on the menu! Service was brilliant. We loved the location and had a really enjoyable break and will definately return and will recommend it to all and sundry! Well done the white lion dont let the rants get you down!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

What a lovely hotel. Fantastic triple room which slept three adults. Very clean and spacious with a lovely en-suite. Good service from the staff and a great breakfast. Fantastic location - the National White Water Centre is literally a 5minute drive away - thoroughly enjoyed the rafting. Bala Lake only a 5 minute walk which was really tranquil. Quite frankly not interested if there is dust under the dressers... we had a fantastic weekend! Booking again for next year already!!

Room Tip: Booking through Booking.com - we saved £30 per room per night against the tariff on show in receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bala
0.0 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
64 reviews
15.1 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
32 reviews
16.8 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
775 reviews
15.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
779 reviews
17.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lion Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lion Royal Hotel

Address: 61 High Street, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7AE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bala
Price Range: $89 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Lion Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lion is situated within the Lake District of Wales. Bala water sports are world renowned. The hotel has 26 rooms fully refurbished in 2005 to a 4 star standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your White Lion Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lion Royal Bala
White Lion Royal Hotel Bala, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing