We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveler rating
144
166
55
40
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
166
55
40
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh streetpub grubroom was largegood sizefish and chipswould stay againwelsh breakfastpower showerfollowing morningbreakfast was excellentfull englishlovely rooman evening mealtea and coffeenorth waleswarm welcomebrains
Filter
Updating list...
363 - 368 of 448 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2012

After arriving in Bala and setting up our tent we were desperate for a hearty lunch but unfortunately did not get one here.I chose the ploughmans lunch which was just a few slices of cheese,a couple of salad leaves,a slice of bread and a quarter of an apple all for £5.95.I was very disappointed especially when the next day I bought a ploughmans from the co-op opposite to take on a picnic which was twice the size and the equivellent of £1 in the meal deal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank michelle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel is well located in the center of Bala. Has a small private car park. It's an old building and a bit quirky. Rooms are well appointed and we had an executive room that was very spacious (only because it was the last room available). Hotel restaurant and bar serves good quality food and prices are in line with other pubs / bars in Bala.

Bala can be lively at the weekend so rooms at the front can be a bit noisy.

Will use this hotel again when we return to Bala.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be disturbed at night by the lively high street, particularly at weekends, ask for a room at the rear.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I think we must have stayed in a different hotel from some of the guests whose comments are posted on this page or we were very lucky and they were unlucky! We stayed for three nights with our son daughter in law and their two small children. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff who were friendly kind and efficient. We had two spacious rooms spotlessly clean with comfortable beds AND pillows!! OK the plumbing was a bit unusual and the floorboards creaked but surely that has something to do with the age of the building and adds to the character? The food was well cooked and plentiful and we had our evening meal each night with a great choice on the menu! Service was brilliant. We loved the location and had a really enjoyable break and will definately return and will recommend it to all and sundry! Well done the white lion dont let the rants get you down!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

What a lovely hotel. Fantastic triple room which slept three adults. Very clean and spacious with a lovely en-suite. Good service from the staff and a great breakfast. Fantastic location - the National White Water Centre is literally a 5minute drive away - thoroughly enjoyed the rafting. Bala Lake only a 5 minute walk which was really tranquil. Quite frankly not interested if there is dust under the dressers... we had a fantastic weekend! Booking again for next year already!!

Room Tip: Booking through Booking.com - we saved £30 per room per night against the tariff on show in reception.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A well run hotel with comfortable rooms, good food and all at good prices. This venue is excellent as it is on the x94 bus route and also close to the sights and sounds of the region.

I would recommend this hotel for the solo traveller, family or couple as the town itself is quiet but has restauraunts an old fashioned cinema that has intervals and it is easy on the wallet with films from £5.50 per person.

The staff themselves are friendly and willing to help. Next door to the hotel is the hotel bar that serves Brains own ale and it is of a good quality. The beers can be put on a hotel tab meaning if you have no money, no worries it will be charged to your bank account.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews