We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great week, great garden, big house!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main lounge Kitchen with large dining table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Main lounge
Kitchen with large dining table
Snug with logburner and 2 x 2 seater settees
Log burner in snug
One of the single bedrooms
Chiminea in summer - great lake views and sunsets
View of Lake Bala from Garden
view on hillside walk from house
lake bala from walk from house
Path to castle Gronw
Views of Lake Bala from the grounds
House in winter
Winter wonderland
Castle mound in winter with view of Lake Bala
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Bala, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Craig N
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great week, great garden, big house!”
Reviewed June 3, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

6 Adults, 2 kids and a dog, and loads of space for us all. Loved the quirky layout, and the two staircases, and the history right outside the kitchen window. We sat outside and bbq'd, or in the welsh drizzle got sat around the kitchen table. The wifi is patchy due to the thickness of the walls but everyone figured out where to sit if they needed it and we could still plan our activities. We hired canoes, went to Barmouth, walked Snowdon, did the 7 miles walk from the front door (straight up the hill behind can I say!). We also hit the town centre pubs - our favourite for drinks being Stori - the boys loved the beers, the girls loved the Gin and the wine. Any questions we had Louise came back to us quickly, and the booking process I am assured was easy, including things like arrival time and key access. Low doorways was only an issue for one of us which he learnt quickly. If we could change anything, losing the wall between the snug and kitchen would open up downstairs into a huge communal kitchen/diner. Little tip from us, there is a camp shop 30 secs walk away which we used a couple of times (matches/milk). Thanks for a great week, would recommend to anyone considering.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireLSw...
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed January 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We were having an extended family Christmas for the first time in years and we had a great time at the cottage. The last couple of get togethers have seen a couple of arguments etc triggered by so many people living in each other's pockets but Pen Y Bont easily accommodated 7 adults, 2 kids and 1 dog. Everyone had space to fit around the table for meals, gather round the fire or head off for some peace or quiet; it was really relaxed.
The property is so historic and the owl hunt was a massive hit, as was the 'secret' staircase and castle mound. Louise putting up a Christmas tree with a present for each of the kids, wrapped in owl wrapping paper was a very lovely touch.
A word of warning, as with many old buildings low doorways... my husband couldn't get the hang of ducking!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
209lh99
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely property full of character and comfort - home from home”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Great place to stay to celebrate my birthday and have a family get together. We were a party of 6 adults and 2 children. The house was very comfortable and fully equipped with everything we could need.There was plenty of space for us adults to chill out and relax.
The kids loved doing the "owl hunt" and all the games provided in the house.
The house was in a great location, with fabulous scenery nearby and yet also only 10 mins walk into Bala.
We plan to return in the summer to explore the area more.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shashmi
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful house well maintained”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of 11 friends who had stayed at the farmhouse for the weekend and the place is just amazing. The house is so well kept, and to each detail. There wasn't a thing that was missing about the house. The rooms were spacious and clean. The lounge area was just lovely with a cozy fireplace. The kitchen was sufficiently spacious too with so many kitchen ware and cutlery. The bathrooms were clean too, just one fact about the drainage system in the top floor bathrooms, but cant do much about it since its such an old structure and still so well kept. The location is perfect with so much wooded area around and so close to the Bala lake. Every one of us loved our stay here and just wished if we could have stayed longer. Will definitely want to come back again :)
P.S. you ll have a good time counting the owls ;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lounge area, the fireplace, the kitchen and the double bedroom with en-suite bathroom. These were the best rooms in the house. Loved the collection of books and movies :)
Liked least: Some of the rooms were a bit cold even after the heaters were on for long.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sushaantt
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Amazing place for stay and countryside vacation”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had our stay at in the second weekend of December. I found this place when we are looking for weekend vacation on snowdon countryside and this place perfectly meet all our requirement. This place has blessed with amazing natural beauties. Farmhouse is very big and maintained with excellent interior. It has big kitchen with all required utensils, cutlery, microwave, fridge n dish washer. There was 2 fireplaces with very big living rooms. We have been provided with complementary logs as well. This property is very clean and again to say amazingly maintained. We got complete privacy during our stay without any disturbance. We checked in the night and enjoyed our stay at this place. The cost of the stay is very cheap comparing with the other benefits we have been provided such as individual towels, fully equipped kitchen, TV/DVD player/Music systems/board games and many more. I loved interior and owl hunt too.

I would Highly recommend this place to stay for countryside family vacation to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything in the property
Liked least: I was expecting wifi
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buzzardbo...
Merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We arrived and felt at home as soon as we pulled in to the drive. The owners could not be nicer and showed us where everything was. The three children loved playing in the woods and the garden, as did the adults!. Three minutes drive to Bala and five minutes walk to the Lake. We will be booking again as we all had a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grounds
Liked least: Main road.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
728scarle...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely but noisy”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We spent a week at Pen y Bont as a family group of eight adults. It is a very lovely farmhouse - well taken care of and clearly loved. It has plenty of character and charm and the owners are very helpful and friendly too, which is great.
However, and this was a big however for us, what we hadn't picked up from the website was that it is situated bang slap on the main road into Bala. For those of us city dwellers who were desperate for some peace and quiet, we didn't really get it. The windows are double glazed and cut out alot of the road noise, but we like to sleep with windows open and so were woken at 7am every morning by traffic noise. Equally during the day, it was hard to get away from the traffic noise. We also found that noise carried significantly through the house. The couple sleeping above the kitchen said they could hear when the kettle had boiled! And certainly sleeping above the living room you could hear almost word for word conversations in the living room. You could even hear toilet activities from some of the bedrooms, which was a bit uncomfortable!
We also found the kitchen too small. The kitchen table does fit 8, but with 8 seated, you can't get round the table, or into the fridge (which was also too small for us being an under the worktop fridge). We found it difficult preparing food in the kitchen as there simply wasn't enough space.
The snug is actually a hall way with a couple of sofas in, which meant it wasn't really a separate space (we used the third reception as a bedroom).
So, all in all a very lovely house and well cared for but in our opinion not suitable for a big group looking for peace and quiet. We were a little bit too on top of eachother and the traffic noise would have been a deal breaker had we known about it beforehand.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of charm.
Liked least: The noise
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2015
We are sorry this guest did not fully enjoy their stay. We are surprised by their comments, as an overwhelming number of guests rate our property location as a key plus factor. The property is on a minor B road into Bala (not the main road) and so whilst not being remote or isolated provides a great location for the lake and short stroll into Bala with all its amenities, yet still being out of town within its own grounds. We have had many groups (of up to 11) who have described it as ideal inside for a extended family, or group of friends get together - spacious and comfortable and a relaxing feeling of being at home. This review is highly unusual, please see our many guest comments on our website, all taken directly from our comments book, to get a true overall impression of guests experiences of staying at Pen Y Bont Farmhouse.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing