We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay (and not as bad as made out but...)”
Review of Y Cwrt

Y Cwrt
Ranked #11 of 21 Restaurants in Bala
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Wine Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Forest Gate
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Okay (and not as bad as made out but...)”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Saturday night was pretty quiet, plenty of tables but service very good. Soup of the day good but the Lasagne starter (which they don't usually have as a starter) was pretty wishy washy. Pizza main courses were okay but nothing really special but lots of cheese.

Regarding past complaints I think that many restaurants in small tourist towns have problems coping with holiday rushes.

House red wine good.

I am here for week and noticed that restaurant not been open since Saturday? (tuesday)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grayee1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    28
    15
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice restaurant, ok food”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant wasn't full, just one table taken when we arrived. They have no children's menu and the only thing they wanted to serve as a smaller, children's size portion was spaghetti bolognese. Apparently easier to prepare then other pasta dishes...

The starter arrived quickly and we didn't have to wait long for drinks or mains either.

After we had finished our meals, we did have to wait for a bit too long time to get the bill. Our child got restless during that time and wanted to get moving again. We watched the waitress sitting down and chatting to other customers who she obviously knew and she didn't even looked at our direction.

The staff are nice people, but there is room to improve the customer service. If you're not in a hurry, this is a good place to go since the food's alright.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terhi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and welcome”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stopped by Y Cwrt on our way back home and we're very glad we did! We were welcomed by both the waiter and the owner and had a drinks order straight away. We receieved our drinks promptly and ordered then. We took our five week old son and the waiter was able to fetch us a bowl to heat his milk quickly us so we could feed him before our meal. Our food arrived then, nice and hot. I had a pizza which was delicous and my husband had a fillet steak, cooked to perfection! The cherry on the cake however was that the manager actually cuddled our little boy (where we could still see him) the whole way through our meal. I cannot express how nice it was to have a hot meal I could eat with two hands and a chance to have a 'grown up' meal with my husband! We were too stuffed for dessert but had coffees which were a little delayed but as we were all chatting to the manager and her son it didn't matter.

The manager was aware of the recent reviews and seemed genuinly upset by them, all I would say is that we had a wonderful time and give this place another try. We'll definatly be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cæti-Elene I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Long wait, rude service, average food”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I wish I'd read the reviews on here before making the booking.
A group of us on a nice weekend away thought that pizza would be a treat. However, after 30 minutes without even being offered a drink and no apologies from the staff (who weren't that busy as the restaurant wasn't full) we started to be concerned.
We got our drinks and placed an order but it took a further hour before anything else happened.

My advice - go elsewhere. The food is okay but this is no way to run a restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great evening out in Bala”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

If you want perfect plastic food with perfect plastic service go elsewhere. If you like good food served in a nice atmosphere by staff with character of their own try Y Cwrt. If you want to scoff and go try the chipy over the road. If you are happy enjoying friends company, cold beer and dough balls and waiting for a nice pizza the service is perfectly quick enough.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DragonFly2587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Y Cwrt also viewed

Bala, Snowdonia National Park
 
Bala, Snowdonia National Park
Bala, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Y Cwrt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing