We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Frondderw Country House
Ranked #7 of 24 Bala B&B and Inns
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Welcome hospitality”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed with my wife in March 2012 visiting Bala to recce a run of the Mary Jones walk. Owners very friendly and hospitable - and the vibe was such that talking with other guests was easy. Views of the lake are limited but its so close to Bala without being in Bala its one to make note of. Room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    12
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
52
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Friendly staff, very helpful. Room was very clean and extremely comfortable. The owners took our mountain bikes into the building so as to keep them safe and dry, which was much appreciated.

Would have liked a shower, but that's nitpicking, everything other than that was pretty much perfect. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIRMINGHAM
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a very nice weekend at this place. Great base for our Snowdon climb and cycling round Bala lake. Very friendly and welcoming couple who keep the place spotless. We had a room overlooking the lake on the first floor and could not fault it. The breakfast realy set us up for the day,would i go back, YES.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for the lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarmacrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

After booking and reading various reviews, myself my partner and a friend arrived with high expectations. We were welcomed at the door by Veronica and immeadiately felt very comfortable and welcome. She advised us on a nice restaurant to eat at (which was fantastic) and promptly booked us a table.
The house itself is magnificent, with character filled rooms, including a massive 16th century fireplace and bread oven.
The views over the valley are second to none and there is a lovely outdoor seating area.
Our breakfast was served, with fresh strawberries, cantaloupe melon among other fresh fruits, homemade Jams, delicious pork and leak sausages and black/white pudding from the local butcher.
Our room was lovely with very tasteful decor and ornaments, no expense has been spared by the owners here.
We were bid a very friendly farewell and went on our way most impressed with what we had experienced.
All 3 of us work in the hospitality industry, so it takes something quite special to impress us and that is what our stay here did.
I can't understand the whingey review posted re the booking for children etc, I was very happy to have no children staying here as parents don't seem to be able to control there kids these days and I was woken at 7am on 2 occasions at a previous guest house by some elses kids running riot.
Keep up the great work Veronica and Paul, we have told all our friends they must visit!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank craig b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stayed at Frondderw for a night in late July. My single room was only £50 and was spotless. The power shower was amazing after a long walk. The breakfast was the best I have had in any B and B with cereals,fresh fruit and yoghurt before a wonderful full Welsh breakfast made with produce from the local butcher. The bacon was superb. Veronika and Paul were lovely people and the house was beautiful with lots of rooms to sit and relax with plenty of reading material on offer. The house is up a fairly steep slope but you are rewarded with fantastic views of the lake and hills beyond from the seat in the front garden. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobanmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I would like to know where he stays in this century for £78 for 2 that includes a choice of home made bread and fish (or did he even mean kedgeree) for breakfast. I assume that he was also complaining about it being light enough to be woken from his slumbers at 5 a.m. and would appreciate an elaboration as to how this was the fault of the establishment if his ultra light-sensitive eyes were beyond the help of normal curtaining? Perhaps if triadvisor increases his budget by at least 50%, his expectations of the finer touches will be met and a fairer assessment made.

Personally, all my priorities for the money i was paying were more than met - front of house Veronica was friendly and helpful, the breakfast was fab - way above what we have eaten in many more expensive b & b/hotels, and the overall standard was high. Ok, the standard double room was lacking space if you wanted to 'swing a cat', but those who do only have to pay an extra £20 for the spacious luxury touch. Get real Chantifrog!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

It was not a great start. We were allocated the back room on the ground floor. It was very small for a double room and smelling of damp so we were disappointed. Our friend got the equivalent room on the first floor that didn't have the smell problem but was even slightly smaller. The unpleasant smell didn't help the sleep but the worse was that at st night however Veronica fixed that for the second night. It must have been due to the heavy rain and lack of ventilation as the whole house was damp proofed. Anyway whatever was done worked and the smell went so the second night was more comfortable, still we woke up at 5am and fortunately my wife was given a eye mask and I put a bandana on mine.
The whole house is pleasant and apart from the rooms include 3 nice community rooms with character, including one with an impressive fireplace. -Tons of CDs and books are available. There’s also a nice front garden with various seats and a very nice view on the bala valley and lake.
Bala lake by the way, although large and beautiful is disappointing in that you can’t walk around it and the road around it has such a massive edge that it masks the view most of the time, even if you use the small railway on the side. The best way to enjoy the lake therefore is by doing some of the walks starting from LLangower or Penybont. These walks are documented in a book available in the B&B.
Bala town is disappointing too, not really pleasant with no good restaurant, for that you have to go outside town (ask Veronica).

Breakfast was fine, with home made jam and a good range of fresh fruits however fresh bread, pastries and a fish option would have been welcome.

In summary it is a good B&B but on the expensive side if you want a decent room. Not sure I’ll go back as the area is not brilliant, I’d rather go to Llangolen and its gorgeous valley we passed.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the house are fairly small for double rooms, I would recommend booking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chantifrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bala
0.3 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
39 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
142 reviews
15.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,503 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pen-Isa'r-Llan
Pen-Isa'r-Llan
#2 of 4 in Llanfor
29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bwch-yn-Uchaf
Bwch-yn-Uchaf
#4 of 15 in Bala
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frondderw Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frondderw Country House

Property: Frondderw Country House
Address: Fron Dderw Stryd-Y-Fron, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7YD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Bala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Frondderw Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Frondderw Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frondderw Country House Bala, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing