We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay!”
Review of Bodiwan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bodiwan
Ranked #2 of 25 Bala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here with a friend in the Tryweryn room. Lovely and spacious with high ceilings, fresh and clean and a nice spacious bathroom with a large shower. Oh and amazingly comfortable beds! The landlady was very friendly and helpful to us and also provided a wonderful breakfast filling us up for a day of walking and was very helpful on where to go walking. We also went canoeing on the lake as part of a KGBDeal, on a gorgeous sunny day. Didn't quite make it to the hot tub, so can't comment on that.

Can't fault the place, and would love to go back someday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citybreak2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 130 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

Warm welcome on arrival. Lovely rooms. I have never slept in a more comfortable bed. Breakfast was great my daughter loved the pancakes and we enjoyed the full English very much. We even enjoyed kayaking on the lake. Would not hesitate in recommending this b&b.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We arrived pretty late, Mark was waiting by the door to give us a warm welcome.
He showed us the lovely cosy cottage where everything was spotlessly clean. We went out for a (not so quick) dinner at the only restaurant that was still serving. When we came back, the kid's sofa bed was made up. A lovely surprise, they were tired and were happy to get into the big bed.

The breakfast was super, we couldn't get enough of the delicious pancakes!

Both Sarah and Mark are excellent hosts, made us feel very welcome in their unique house.

We even took the chance of making a little kayak-trip on the lake, pure fun ... yes Mark, our bums were wet, but we had some dry clothes in the car, so we could still visit Snowdonia and Conwy Castle.

Excellent B&B, will definitely come back on our next Wales-trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nessie3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good location near to the High Street and got a really good deal on KGB for 2 nights at £99 including breakfast and canoeing.

Positives were Sarah and Mark who were lovely hosts and nothing was too much trouble. They were very knowledgeable about the local area and provided us with some great tips. The breakfast was also really good and the towels and bedding were a very high quality and very clean.

My negatives would be that the room (The Aran room) was described as an ensuite when the bathroom was actually next to the room but not connected. This may not be a problem for a lot of people but it was not what I would have booked. I think this should just be highlighted to guests before they visit to check they have no problem with this and give them the choice. A friend stayed in the Arenig room and this was a lot bigger and a nicer room.

I think the carpets, toilets, sinks etc are well cleaned but other areas such as lampshades and window sills etc could have been cleaner. This was particularly noticed in the separate bathroom where I saw a few cobwebs and spiders etc. I think the house is a lovely building but could just do with de-cluttering in some areas such as internally outside the Aran room where some bits were stored and outside the bedroom window where boat parts were stored.

Overall, great hosts, a lovely house and a good stay in Bala.

Room Tip: The Arenig room was nice and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
superser, Owner at Bodiwan, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Hi Thank you so much for the review and a shame you would have preferred an en suite and did not inform us. All our rooms are on our website and it does say the Aran room has a private bathroom Had you contacted us in May when you made the booking we could of changed the room to an en suite. Thank you again for the review and we shall continue to improve our facilities and service through reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed for two nights. Stunning! The house and the room were beautiful. Classy reflection of it's owners Sarah and Mark. Nothing was too much trouble. We made a huge mistake in not taking up the offer of kayak tuition. We went solo but should have made use of Sarah's vast expertise!
The accommodation is close to the high street with some simple pubs or some very nice restaurants.
We will find time to return even if just to capture house decoration ideas!!
Lovely area, fab people, stunning house. Thank you.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Bodivan room with deep slipper bath. Fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights over the weekend. What welcoming friendly staff, Sarah and Mark were so helpful, nothing was too much trouble. They advised us on places to visit, i would definitely recommend Betsw y coed. We also went Kayaking on lake Bala, which is beautiful. There are nice pubs in the village.
Bodiwan is a beautiful house, breakfast was delicious and the beds were soooo comfy would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRandle_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a wonderful 2 night stay. Sarah was extremely welcoming and friendly. The room was lovely, spacious, well decorated, very clean and comfortable. The choice for breakfast was excellent. The town centre was only a very short walk away. Most definitely somewhere we would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bala
0.3 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Lion Royal Hotel
1.5 mi away
Glan Y Gro
Glan Y Gro
#1 of 25 in Bala
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
#7 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
296 reviews
13.6 mi away
Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Cysgod y Garn
Cysgod y Garn
#1 of 4 in Frongoch
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodiwan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodiwan

Address: Ffrydan Road, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7RY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bala
Price Range: $115 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bodiwan is an historic building in Bala town. As well as its history, grand rooms, large garden rooms have modern touches including internet access in all rooms. This family-run bed and breakfast is definitely worth an inquiry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bodiwan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodiwan Hotel Bala
Bodiwan Bala, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing