We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome, stunning property”
Review of Bodiwan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bodiwan
Ranked #2 of 24 Bala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A warm welcome, stunning property”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We arrived pretty late, Mark was waiting by the door to give us a warm welcome.
He showed us the lovely cosy cottage where everything was spotlessly clean. We went out for a (not so quick) dinner at the only restaurant that was still serving. When we came back, the kid's sofa bed was made up. A lovely surprise, they were tired and were happy to get into the big bed.

The breakfast was super, we couldn't get enough of the delicious pancakes!

Both Sarah and Mark are excellent hosts, made us feel very welcome in their unique house.

We even took the chance of making a little kayak-trip on the lake, pure fun ... yes Mark, our bums were wet, but we had some dry clothes in the car, so we could still visit Snowdonia and Conwy Castle.

Excellent B&B, will definitely come back on our next Wales-trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nessie3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
69
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good location near to the High Street and got a really good deal on KGB for 2 nights at £99 including breakfast and canoeing.

Positives were Sarah and Mark who were lovely hosts and nothing was too much trouble. They were very knowledgeable about the local area and provided us with some great tips. The breakfast was also really good and the towels and bedding were a very high quality and very clean.

My negatives would be that the room (The Aran room) was described as an ensuite when the bathroom was actually next to the room but not connected. This may not be a problem for a lot of people but it was not what I would have booked. I think this should just be highlighted to guests before they visit to check they have no problem with this and give them the choice. A friend stayed in the Arenig room and this was a lot bigger and a nicer room.

I think the carpets, toilets, sinks etc are well cleaned but other areas such as lampshades and window sills etc could have been cleaner. This was particularly noticed in the separate bathroom where I saw a few cobwebs and spiders etc. I think the house is a lovely building but could just do with de-cluttering in some areas such as internally outside the Aran room where some bits were stored and outside the bedroom window where boat parts were stored.

Overall, great hosts, a lovely house and a good stay in Bala.

Room Tip: The Arenig room was nice and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
superser, Owner at Bodiwan, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi Thank you so much for the review and a shame you would have preferred an en suite and did not inform us. All our rooms are on our website and it does say the Aran room has a private bathroom Had you contacted us in May when you made the booking we could of changed the room to an en suite. Thank you again for the review and we shall continue to improve our facilities and service through reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portishead
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed for two nights. Stunning! The house and the room were beautiful. Classy reflection of it's owners Sarah and Mark. Nothing was too much trouble. We made a huge mistake in not taking up the offer of kayak tuition. We went solo but should have made use of Sarah's vast expertise!
The accommodation is close to the high street with some simple pubs or some very nice restaurants.
We will find time to return even if just to capture house decoration ideas!!
Lovely area, fab people, stunning house. Thank you.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Bodivan room with deep slipper bath. Fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights over the weekend. What welcoming friendly staff, Sarah and Mark were so helpful, nothing was too much trouble. They advised us on places to visit, i would definitely recommend Betsw y coed. We also went Kayaking on lake Bala, which is beautiful. There are nice pubs in the village.
Bodiwan is a beautiful house, breakfast was delicious and the beds were soooo comfy would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRandle_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a wonderful 2 night stay. Sarah was extremely welcoming and friendly. The room was lovely, spacious, well decorated, very clean and comfortable. The choice for breakfast was excellent. The town centre was only a very short walk away. Most definitely somewhere we would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We booked a romantic weekend away without the kids and were delighted with Bodiwan. Sarah was lovely and told us all the local knowledge. The bedroom was spacious, immaculate and had a fantastic slipper bath. We choose a delicious locally sourced full welsh breakfast and went to explore Bala which is 5 minutes by foot. The hot tub was a real treat and the canoeing was great fun. We will definitely be back and will bring the children next time. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: The Bodiwan room had lovely views and a slipper bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ludlowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here after receiving an offer for 2 nights b and b and canoe session. We were very impressed by our room, with a lovely stand alone bath (Bodiwan room), the bed was very comfy and the room had everything you needed for a comfortable stay. Breakfast was well organised and great quality fresh food and home made. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Sarah was able to give us advise on where we were going and very helpful. We really enjoyed our stay and will hopefully be able to come back with children as I see that there are family rooms. Bala lake kayaking was fun and there are lots of rural walks and places to visit nearby. We had a look at the white water rafting and so plenty still to do for a return visit.

Room Tip: Bodiwan was very comfortable for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bala
0.3 mi away
White Lion Royal Hotel
0.3 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
29 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Glan Y Gro
Glan Y Gro
#1 of 24 in Bala
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Frondderw Country House
0.2 mi away
Bwch-yn-Uchaf
Bwch-yn-Uchaf
#4 of 15 in Bala
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodiwan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodiwan

Property: Bodiwan
Address: Ffrydan Road, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7RY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Bala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bodiwan is an historic building in Bala town. As well as its history, grand rooms, large garden rooms have modern touches including internet access in all rooms. This family-run bed and breakfast is definitely worth an inquiry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bodiwan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodiwan Hotel Bala
Bodiwan Bala, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing