We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a warm welcome here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plas-Yn-Dre

Plas-Yn-Dre
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Bala
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always a warm welcome here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Called in on Friday evening as it was our last day on holiday in Wales. The food is exceptionally good. Locally sourced produce and serving micro brewery ales. We have been going here for over 7 years and would always call in for a bite to eat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkJMiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    104
    32
    30
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Me, my partner and our dog stayed in Bala for a week in September 2013 - we cam to Plas-Yn-Dre twice, once just for a drink where we sat outside where there are plenty of benches to choose from. The other time, we had walked 13 miles doing the Bala lake circuit walk which was very enjoyable, and we came here for food. The staff were extremely friendly, and there was a doggy treat jar which was opened more than once for our pooch :) the food was delicious, I had the Welsh lamb shank which was melt in the mouth gorgeous! If you're visiting Bala, definitely come here :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank flump19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice welcome on a wet day . Food very nice and excellent beer. Lots of cafés in Bala but this stood out.
The dog was welcome and even got her own treat !

Helpful?
Thank domshirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
“Good food, good atmosphere good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Lovely comfortable surroundings, attentive service and very good food and reasonably priced. Dogs welcome. Overall a must if in Bala.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andjuladam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful bala”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

After walking in tired and hungry, we were greeted by 2 very friendly hosts. Our food and drinks order was taken and our drinks arrived as we waited in the bar to be seated. We were then taken to our table. The restaurant is a beautiful open room with a warm feeling. The food was delivered efficiently and tasted amazing. The staff are all very friendly, polite and welcoming. It was a fantastic experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plas-Yn-Dre also viewed

Bala, Snowdonia National Park
 
Bala, Snowdonia National Park
Bala, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Plas-Yn-Dre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing