We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Welcoming cottage in a lovely area”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spring.  Entrance gate. Parking to  the side of the cottage.Registered Four Star with Visit Wales
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Spring.  Entrance gate. Parking to  the side of the cottage.Registered Four Star with Visit Wales
Living Room.  All facilities provided.  Freeview, DVD and Video Player.  Music Centre,
Living Room.  Gas fire and Central Heating
Master bedroom.  King bed with Tempur Mattress.
other aspect of main bedroom.
Double Bedroom
Other aspect of Second Bedroom.
Constant hot water, shower and bath.
Rear Garden
Aspect of rear Garden.  Garden furniture in Summer House
Full boom in summer.
Dark Sky, Peaceful. Moorland.  A uphill walk from the cottage front door.
Winter view of lake at top of the hill.
Bala Lake in the distance.  Taken from top of lane uphill walk in December 2017 from cottage.
Summer by Bala lake looking toward the Arneg Mountains.
One of the best views of Bala Lake taken from the lop of the lane looking down the whole length.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bala, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
G G
1 review
“Welcoming cottage in a lovely area”
Reviewed May 10, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Lovely cottage near Bala. Easy to find, especially with the extra directions given by Carole. The cottage couldn't have been better for our weekend away. It was very well equipped and clean, with plenty of towels linen utensils games for children DVDs and books. Carole even left tea/coffee /Hot chocolate for us and a large container of milk ( she even asked our preference for semi or full fat!) The garden was great for our two dogs who enjoyed the safe place to run around.
I would recommend this cottage for couple/families wanting a neat traditional welsh cottage in the middle of the welsh countryside. Thank you for a delightful stay, we will be back!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2018
Thank you very much. I try hard to make everything as comfortable as I can.

The surrounding area is very beautiful, a wonderful landscape that is vertually undiscovered.
Hope to see yo all again soon.
Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conscienc...
south west
1 review
“A real home from home experience”
Reviewed April 17, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Pen y Banc is situated a few miles from Bala and is within leisurely driving distance of many outstanding areas like Mt. Snowdon, the Rhinogs, the Celtic rainforests near Dollelgelau, Cregennan (stunning!) and the Llanberis Pass and not too far from the Llyn Peninsula either. The cottage is in a dark sky area for those interested in walking or driving a short distance out of the village to watch the stars. Carol is very helpful and hospitable and provides everything you need for a comfortable stay. The beds are super with nice quality bedding, so you will sleep well here. It's a fully enclosed garden and so my little dog could have free roam there when we were not out exploring. Carol's cottage was a perfect mini break and Carol is lovely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mancwrite...
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another wonderful stay at Pen Y Banc”
Reviewed January 18, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

This was our second New Year break at this simply divine cottage and it was just as warm and welcoming as ever, offering real home from home comforts. Carol was there to greet us once again and made us feel like old friends. The log burner was lit when we arrived on a cold, snowy day and the Christmas decorations were still up to put us in a cheery mood. The cottage was just how we remembered it, perfectly proportioned and ever so inviting. Everything you need is here and Carol can't do enough for you to make your stay as relaxing and rewarding as possible. Our second trip to Bala won't be our last. We'll be back to Pen Y Banc for sure. Read the other reviews and do yourself a favour by booking a break at this well-equipped and very reasonably priced cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2018
Absolutely wonderful I am so pleased, thank you.

I like to look after you all as if it was your own country cottage and I was your housekeeper.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best christmas n a long while”
Reviewed December 27, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Well what do we say...Myself 2 other guests plus 2 dogs stayed for 3 nights in this charming cottage in a stunning part of Bala. Carol decorated the cottage for christmas and had s all in a festive mood. (made our Christmas. Wonderful host,happy to listen and help. This cottage is well equipped for all year round, great location,secured garden for dogs, ,and the warmth of the cottage inside and out made it all the more special. We did not want to leave.
On top of that a handbag was left behind accidently Carroll's husband offered to bring it to us 120 miles away. Wish the world was full of people like this.Will be back for a week in 2018.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2017
Absolutely wonderful. We were both really happy to return the Handbag. We can all imagine the worry. Stress levels would have gone through the roof. So all sorted. Thank you for the lovely comments. Knowing that the cottage was as described makes all the difference to the experience. I look forward to seeing you again in 2018. (I do ask if guests would like festive decor)
Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A nice traditional well maintained cottage.”
Reviewed November 9, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A peacefull location in Saruna, near Bala, with good walks around fields near the cottage and also the Snowdon national park. A nature reserve across the road, wildlife to watch in different places. Marvellous views from the top of the hill. Pet friendly. Close enough to shops in Bala. A cosy cottage to relax in when the days exploring is complete.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2017
Thank you for spending time too write a review. I really appreciate it. The valley and countryside is surrounded by wilderness and black sky at night and I agree, the view from the top of the lane is truly spectacular.
Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALD.fores...
Middlesex
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A lovely cottage which was well equipped and perfect for our needs. Bedrooms were lovely. The whole place was very clean and comfortable. Carol was lovely and had great advice on places to go and visit/ things to do. Good value for money. Wouldn't hesitate to go back if ever heading to Bala again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2017
Many Thank,
Congratulations on the award at the Bala Triathalon too. I am pleased all the family had a really good time. The area has so much to offer those who love the outdoors, Wonderful landscapes, moorland, forests and mountains, equal to Scotland any time of the year without the midges.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing