We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque Hotel, Fantastic Food.. Rooms average 11pm Curfew”
Review of The Old Priory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Priory
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Visted as part of a group of 10 persons ( 5 x couples) on Arrival we were greated with a warm welcome by the manager, As you entered the hotelentrance you felt festive with a Christmas tree and helpful staff. Taxi was arranged for 2 of us to be taken into Bath for a mooch around the Christmas market, the taxi cost £25 for a 15 min ride. On arriving back to The Old Priory we meet up with the rest of ou group where sat relaxed in the small lounge. The lounge was small and not idea for a group of 10 guests , it missed any type of christmas decor, the huge stunning fire place was empty of festive spirit , the wood burner was not lit, lacking in ambience, when shown to our room, with very low beams, we were a little disappointed for the rate of £130 we has v hard old beds mattress with blankets and no shower, instead a bath with a shower head that trickled a littel water with a erratic temp together with a noisy water tank gurggling away through out the night.
The Moody Goose resturant was lovely the food was fantastic and the waitress staff and service were superb, the down side is come 10:30 were were asked to turn the music down to a volume of a whisper as a guest that retired to sleep t 9:30pm complained of the noise, , as a group of 10 persons their was lots of chatter, but no way loud or shouting and the music was only back groud music so not loud. At 11pm when asked for another red wine/port we were told no as the bar had shut, this came to a surprise as were were not given any prior warning . This was very disappointing esp as a group spent way over £1,500 on meal and rooms only to be asked to whisper and no drinks in the evening..we asked if we could go to the lounge to relax for the last part of the evening, only to be told that no one was allowed as staff had all gone home. Great place to eat ,but lacking in festive cheer and not ideal for groups who what to socialise after 11pm !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Butterflyheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 101 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2011

Last minute booking on Laterooms literally made whilst sat in The Old Priory car park, reception service was so efficent the manager was trying to phone us to ask if we wanted dinner reservations as we walked up to the front door.

This place is loaded with history and character, each room having a "name" rather than a number. We stayed in The Old Chapel.

Service in The Old Priory was excellent, staff were all friendly and attending to your requirements without being "in your face".

The food is amazing, outstanding, fabulous, etc. It's not burger and chip-butties and this is reflected in the price. However for "expensive" food its reasonably priced, well worth treating yourself. They even managed to make the traditional breakfast fry-up look (and taste) gourmet.

The Old Priory is not for you if you are looking for a "pie and a pint", but thoroughly recommend it if you are looking for a totally relaxing and delicious night in with a loved one.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ack3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I took my wife for our anniversary, initially for a meal but decided to book a room last minute. The food was absolutely top notch, fantastically presented, well executed and is a without doubt 1 michelin star standard - get in while you can! Monday night and it was packed. The price for the quality I feel is an absolute bargain (£39.50 3 courses) - go to Bath Priory and you pay £68.50 for 3 courses. The wine list is just large enough, with a fair selction from around the world. Despite my best efforts, I ended up going for an old favourite of mine (Rioja reserva) which drank beautifully and superbly priced at £28.50 for the quality.
I echo all the previous comments regarding the rooms, full of character, charm and the bathrooms are great too. We stayed in Mary Bell - unfortunately the mattress does need addressing as there was a big dip in it and didn't lend itself to a great nights sleep.
Back to the positives - Jane was absolutely fantastic from booking to arrival and looking after us at dinner. The team were faultless - friendly, discreet, welcoming and knowledgeable.
Without doubt an outstanding find - and not a Moody Goose in sight! Highly reccommended

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheldonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights mid October 2011. WOW! What a find!! Beautifully and sympathetically restored old medieval priory. Beams, huge fireplaces, sloping floors, creaky floorboards, interesting 'nooks and crannies' - absolutely charming! Our room, Mary Bell, was fabulous. Window seat, comfortable bed, nice soft pillows, crisp cotton sheets, luxurious bathroom. The owners and staff are, well i hardly know how to describe them but I'll try! Friendly, courteous, attentive and just nothing is any trouble. In all our travels (and boy! there are many) we've never come across such lovely people and excellent service. Within minutes of arriving, a pot of tea and quality fresh coffe with homemade cake and biscuits arrived to our room, beautifully served on a silver tray with damask napkin! Breakfast selection fab from cereals etc. to smoked salmon with scrambled eggs or a 'full English'. Evening meal in the Moody Goose restaurant within the hotel....well, the BEST food we've ever had! 'Master Chef' has nothing on this place! It was superb with lots of little 'extras' that made it so special and memorable. If you go here, we guarantee you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Be11aboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We planned a weekend in Bath and by chance found The Old Priory Hotel while searching on the internet for accommodation. What a good choice. The hotel itself is full of character, the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. We were so glad we had booked two nights at the hotel so we had the chance of having two choices from the menu! We would definitely stay agian.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyTandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

hi just returned back from another visit to the Old Priory Hotel in Midsomer Norton.
once again I can only rave about this hotel. The word that comes to mind is SUBLIME.
We slept in the schoolroom. A large airy room with a four poster bed and a large bathroom.Its not the only room of course there is a selection. The Mary Bell Room a big spacious room front facing. The Chapel which used to be,[hmm let me see.... old priory] oh yes the Chapel. We stayed for four nights and slept really well every night.
Next morning breakfast was a well awaited treat. Fresh strawberries and lovely vanilla yoghurt Pears fresh from the priory garden seeped in vanilla pods. Yummy english breakfast, smoked salmon and scrambled egg, and absolutely gorgeous smoked haddock, poached egg and a cream and tarragon sauce [home made] and the usual cereal and toast of course.
You really do have to try the place.
However if you are expecting midsomer norton to be a lovely picturesque village . Forget it ,its not. Infact it gives the impression of being shut. However it is a fantastic base to explore the beautiful surrounding countryside,and,not too far from Longleat. Need anymore convincing read my report on the hotels restaurant The Moody Goose.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We live locally and had wanted to try the Moody Goose restaurant in the hotel for a long time and we decided to stay the night too for my husband's birthday.
The Old Priory is a beautiful building and the garden is lovely. The room was fine, it was typical of the country house hotel type a little tired looking and the bed probably needed a new matress. The only thing that bothered me was the bath with the hand held shower, I don't know how many people want to have a bath in a hotel I certainly don't so I really need to remember to ask the shower question when I book a room.
The food is fantastic here as are the staff and it really made our stay.
Midsomer Norton does not have a great deal to offer but if you're visiting the area it's handy for Bath, Bristol and Wells.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALO62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Priory

Address: Church Square, Midsomer Norton BA3 2HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Midsomer Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Midsomer Norton
Price Range: $128 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Priory 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful building with parts dating from 14th century, 9 miles south of Bath. Excellent base to explore Somerset. Recently refurbished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Priory Midsomer Norton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing