We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Wonderful”
Review of The Old Priory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Priory
Certificate of Excellence
Hyde, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply Wonderful”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I took my wife for our anniversary, initially for a meal but decided to book a room last minute. The food was absolutely top notch, fantastically presented, well executed and is a without doubt 1 michelin star standard - get in while you can! Monday night and it was packed. The price for the quality I feel is an absolute bargain (£39.50 3 courses) - go to Bath Priory and you pay £68.50 for 3 courses. The wine list is just large enough, with a fair selction from around the world. Despite my best efforts, I ended up going for an old favourite of mine (Rioja reserva) which drank beautifully and superbly priced at £28.50 for the quality.
I echo all the previous comments regarding the rooms, full of character, charm and the bathrooms are great too. We stayed in Mary Bell - unfortunately the mattress does need addressing as there was a big dip in it and didn't lend itself to a great nights sleep.
Back to the positives - Jane was absolutely fantastic from booking to arrival and looking after us at dinner. The team were faultless - friendly, discreet, welcoming and knowledgeable.
Without doubt an outstanding find - and not a Moody Goose in sight! Highly reccommended

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheldonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    16
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
53
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights mid October 2011. WOW! What a find!! Beautifully and sympathetically restored old medieval priory. Beams, huge fireplaces, sloping floors, creaky floorboards, interesting 'nooks and crannies' - absolutely charming! Our room, Mary Bell, was fabulous. Window seat, comfortable bed, nice soft pillows, crisp cotton sheets, luxurious bathroom. The owners and staff are, well i hardly know how to describe them but I'll try! Friendly, courteous, attentive and just nothing is any trouble. In all our travels (and boy! there are many) we've never come across such lovely people and excellent service. Within minutes of arriving, a pot of tea and quality fresh coffe with homemade cake and biscuits arrived to our room, beautifully served on a silver tray with damask napkin! Breakfast selection fab from cereals etc. to smoked salmon with scrambled eggs or a 'full English'. Evening meal in the Moody Goose restaurant within the hotel....well, the BEST food we've ever had! 'Master Chef' has nothing on this place! It was superb with lots of little 'extras' that made it so special and memorable. If you go here, we guarantee you won't regret it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Be11aboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We planned a weekend in Bath and by chance found The Old Priory Hotel while searching on the internet for accommodation. What a good choice. The hotel itself is full of character, the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. We were so glad we had booked two nights at the hotel so we had the chance of having two choices from the menu! We would definitely stay agian.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyTandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

hi just returned back from another visit to the Old Priory Hotel in Midsomer Norton.
once again I can only rave about this hotel. The word that comes to mind is SUBLIME.
We slept in the schoolroom. A large airy room with a four poster bed and a large bathroom.Its not the only room of course there is a selection. The Mary Bell Room a big spacious room front facing. The Chapel which used to be,[hmm let me see.... old priory] oh yes the Chapel. We stayed for four nights and slept really well every night.
Next morning breakfast was a well awaited treat. Fresh strawberries and lovely vanilla yoghurt Pears fresh from the priory garden seeped in vanilla pods. Yummy english breakfast, smoked salmon and scrambled egg, and absolutely gorgeous smoked haddock, poached egg and a cream and tarragon sauce [home made] and the usual cereal and toast of course.
You really do have to try the place.
However if you are expecting midsomer norton to be a lovely picturesque village . Forget it ,its not. Infact it gives the impression of being shut. However it is a fantastic base to explore the beautiful surrounding countryside,and,not too far from Longleat. Need anymore convincing read my report on the hotels restaurant The Moody Goose.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We live locally and had wanted to try the Moody Goose restaurant in the hotel for a long time and we decided to stay the night too for my husband's birthday.
The Old Priory is a beautiful building and the garden is lovely. The room was fine, it was typical of the country house hotel type a little tired looking and the bed probably needed a new matress. The only thing that bothered me was the bath with the hand held shower, I don't know how many people want to have a bath in a hotel I certainly don't so I really need to remember to ask the shower question when I book a room.
The food is fantastic here as are the staff and it really made our stay.
Midsomer Norton does not have a great deal to offer but if you're visiting the area it's handy for Bath, Bristol and Wells.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALO62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

fantastic food and good firm mattress. Good service and pleasent staff. Food a little expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights eating in the restaurant on our first night. As other reviewers have said the service was lovely. Really attentive and very friendly. Our room was well furnished and the bathroom well laid out with a good shower over the bath. Also as others have mentioned the building and beds are VERY creaky and bed not the most comfy. Breakfast; superb quality.
The moody goose restaurant: marvellous ! From start to finish excellent food,excellent attentive but not intrusive service.
Not as expensive as I would've thought for such a nice meal.
Midsomer norton; as others have said it a little run down quiet little place with very little to offer apart from the moody goose but it's an excellent base to tour this part of the country

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garry2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midsomer Norton
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
2.3 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
658 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#28 of 34 in Bath
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
148 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
948 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Old Parsonage
The Old Parsonage
#1 of 1 in Farrington Gurney
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Priory

Property: The Old Priory
Address: Church Square, Midsomer Norton BA3 2HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Midsomer Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Midsomer Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Priory 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful building with parts dating from 14th century, 9 miles south of Bath. Excellent base to explore Somerset. Recently refurbished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Priory Midsomer Norton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing