We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creaky but great”
Review of The Old Priory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Priory
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Creaky but great”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights eating in the restaurant on our first night. As other reviewers have said the service was lovely. Really attentive and very friendly. Our room was well furnished and the bathroom well laid out with a good shower over the bath. Also as others have mentioned the building and beds are VERY creaky and bed not the most comfy. Breakfast; superb quality.
The moody goose restaurant: marvellous ! From start to finish excellent food,excellent attentive but not intrusive service.
Not as expensive as I would've thought for such a nice meal.
Midsomer norton; as others have said it a little run down quiet little place with very little to offer apart from the moody goose but it's an excellent base to tour this part of the country

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garry2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    16
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
54
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Spent one night here. It is a beautiful old building with beams and beautifully furnished - looks good from outside too. Our room was quite nice, not the smartest room we have ever stayed in but rather old fashioned, crisp sheets (and blankets!). The problem we found was the noise from other rooms, the person above only had to walk across the room and the whole ceiling creaked, it was very hard to get to sleep because of this. The people in the next room were talking and we could hear every word! I don't think our room neghbours were being especially noisy it was more that every sound could be heard. On the plus side, the breakfast was beautiful, the quality of the food and the service was exceptional. We did not eat in the Moody Goose the previous evening but having tasted the breakfast we think we missed a treat! Incidentally, there is nothing in Midsomer Norton at all, it is not even quaint - nowhere to get a half decent meal unless you want a takeaway! It sounds like it should be a pretty little town but it is not!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieHEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

stayed here in March 11, and dined 2 nights at the moody goose {see separate review} The hotel is tucked away in the centre of midsomer Norton. Not exactly a picturesque village but the Hotel makes up for that. While we were unpacking and settling in to the Schoolroom, which is a very generous sized 4 poster room,our hostess was making us a cup of tea with home made biscuits. Our room was warm and comfortable if a little creaky with a large bathroom and a very nice comfy 4 poster bed.
We had our cup of tea in the lounge which has a large fireplace,old oak beams and sofas with plump cushions.
The next morning we went down to breakfast and was greeted by our hostess who served us with the most fantastic breakfast .
We would like to thank Stephen and Jenny for a fabulous stay, and look forward with anticipation to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2010

stayed at guesthouse with colleagues for three weeks, we found it comfortable , always warm, good shower facilities, lovelly food ,friendly and helpfull staff ,clean rooms, and always made to feel welcome, good value for money,, definatly come again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathanbarley186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

The hotel was lovely, very very old and quaint on a way only British hotels can be However, I agree with a previous review about the room, Mary Bell. I can truly say it is the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. It is like sleeping on straw and it creaks very loudly with every move which not only keeps you awake but probably every one else as well. If the owner spent a night in that bed it would be replaced the next day! The welcome was warm, the facilities fine and the restaurant unrivalled - I would go back to eat but not to stay in case of another sleepless night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Lovely old building, with lovely dining room, breakfast room and snug bar. The food in the restaurant was fantastic, at dinner and at breakfast. Unfortunately, the room did not live up to the restaurant's high standards. We had booked a superior room, but I couldn't see what we were paying extra for. Admittedly it was big, it was up in the eaves, and it had another room attached with two small beds, so basically it was a family room - not really what we'd expected. The beds were ancient - extremely hard, and you could feel every spring when you moved. The carpet had been vacuumed but it was grubby, and the furniture and fittings were tired. In the morning I felt as though I didn't sleep a wink all night. To add to that, there were low beams everywhere where we banged our heads several times - one strategically placed on the way to the bathroom. The room was not particularly clean - very dusty. The bathroom didn't have a proper shower, just a shower attachment in the bath that it seemed impossible to get the temperature right. To top it all off there - and not entirely their fault I suppose - there was the biggest, hairiest spider resident in the bathroom, and after I'd spotted him the first time I started spotting cobwebs everywhere. NOT the relaxing night's stay we had hoped for. Such a shame because the restaurant really is great, and the breakfast included in the rate was its only saving grace. Perhaps they should stick to what they do best and ditch the 'hotel' part.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricker74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed at The Old Priory Hotel on a Saturday night to celebrate our wedding anniversary after hearing great things about The Moody Goose restaurant. The restaurant was all we'd expected it to be - delicious food, good service and reasonably priced. As we live fairly locally, staying the night was an additional treat that we now wish we'd done without. Our room was very hot and we were kept awake until 2am by the music from a nearby pub, boy racers on the high street and the couple in the room next door having a blazing row! Whilst none of this is the owners fault, it certainly spoilt what should have been a relaxing evening away for us and I would not stay there again. I would definitely go back to the restuarant though - top notch.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeeBeeBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midsomer Norton
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
1.7 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 31 in Bath
187 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
8.5 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Priory

Property: The Old Priory
Address: Church Square, Midsomer Norton BA3 2HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Midsomer Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Midsomer Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Priory 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful building with parts dating from 14th century, 9 miles south of Bath. Excellent base to explore Somerset. Recently refurbished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Old Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Priory Midsomer Norton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing