We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Midsomer Norton
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely stay..”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here for one night in May 2013 with my partner. Such a nice hotel situated on a golf corse, easy to find.We made full use of the lesiure facilities whilst there. Gym was very quiet, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi all lovely. Lady on the gym reception was extremly helpfull, she showed us around the facilities available as did the gym instructor. We were made to feel very welcome.The restaurant food was simply amazing, with pudding being a rather surprisingly large portion which went down well with the boyfriend. Cooked breakfast in the morning was nice, with cereals, toast and pastries all available. Only one recommendation, would be really nice if there was more movie channels, but this is such a minor point. I would recommed this hotel and would stay their again should we be back in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    185
    51
    20
    12
See reviews for
121
198
17
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stay here with a Belgian tourist group for two nights on our tour thru Somerset , good and quiet location , clean rooms ,excellent breakfast buffet , swimming pool and gym facilities , friendly staff
Absolutely the best hotel in Midsummer

Room Tip: all rooms are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Hotel has undergone a bit of a refurb, that has taken it out of the 80's. Comfortable rooms, friendly staff and excellent bar/restaurant food. A bit pricey per night, although I did book through the best western website.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartWilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just retuned from a two night stay on a golfing break: from the moment we arrived the Service
we received can only be described as exceptional whilst the food served at both Dinner and
Breakfast was nothing short of excellent - in fact could be one of the best breakfasts I have had in an hotel.

With the facilities of the Spa, Gym and Pool plus 9 hole Golf Course this is certainly a location
well worth visiting both from a Service and Quality perspective.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed here for one night, on route to Taunton. Had a lovely evening meal (in town) and a very nice breakfast (in the hotel conservatory, watching golfers thrashing their way through the early-morning mist.) Double room was nicely appointed but possibly smaller than any other double room I've ever stayed in. In contrast, the pool and gym area was big and sprawling - strangely laid-out too. Unclear when changing rooms become sauna rooms, become exercise rooms, became, er... corridor? Nice people behind the counters and bars though. Makes all the difference.

Room Tip: Pack a small case. There ain't enough room for a big one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISpyEd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My review isn't good which is at odds with most other reviews. I'm not being harsh just honest!

The positives are that the reception staff, bar and gym staff were friendly and the room spotlessly clean. But I'm afraid the negatives outweight those...

The location isn't great - the front overlooks the car park and some industrial units, the rear is much better and overlooks the golf course. Guess what view we had? I would have appreciated a bit of honesty when booking about the vista, we paid a premium price and got a second rate view.

The whole gym experience was totally underwhelming. It's tired and poorly equipped - they claim it to be state of the art, maybe it was when it was opened which, according to their website was 2000. But it's now tired and not well equipped. (Eg, no rower.) As a basic hotel gym it was fine but they shouldn't make claims that aren't correct.
The changing rooms were poor, the locker area similar to most leisure centres with those 'push button' showers that last 20 seconds. Definitely in need of a make over! The pool is accessed by the same corridor that leads to the gym, and incredibly the sauna/spa pool are not co-located with the swimming pool. So, if you fancy a swim and straight into the sauna you've got to go back out into the corridor... badly laid out!
Breakfast - we arrived towards the end of the shift and detected a frisson of resentment for daring to arrive with 15 minutes to go. Some foodstfufs wre laid out but the majority had to be ordered. This means they regulate what you have whereas better hotels, eg Marriott, let you choose for yourself. They also got our order slightly wrong which shouldn't have happened as the place was quiet.

The evening menu was pricey and the restaurant lacking in atmosphere so we ate in a local pub - excellent.

Overall I was disappointed because it was overpriced for what they supplied. It puts me off Best Western because other chains are more reliable with their features and pricing.

Room Tip: Make sure you have one at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxwellStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCenturion, General Manager at Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We welcome you comments and thank you for your remakes on our team and apologise your stay was not completely satisfactory. We would just like to comment on a few points. With regards to our gym we are in the process of revamping and our new equipment is arriving in the next 8 weeks. However the gym is over two floors and the rowers are upstairs along with the free weights and other equipment. The spa is separate from the swimming pool as designed due to the dynamics of the building. With breakfast we present the cold buffet which is extensive and all hot food is prepared freshly cooked from the kitchen. We do hope you will return to a Best Western hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I cannot comment on the hotel itself as we went to the Best Western purely for a meal in the restaurant, but it's well worth a visit for the food alone. We were celebrating a family anniversary and were all seated in the conservatory area which is an ideal area for a party of 20 - 30 people and had a pleasant view overlooking the golf course. The restaurant itself is unpretentious but the food was outstanding and the service from a very young team was excellent. We were all impressed with the presentation, standard and quality of the food - I had salmon with a very crispy skin which was accompanied by an assortment of very tasty and unusual roasted vegetables, followed by an amazing apple and rhubarb crumble with clotted cream ice-cream. Try it you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquiSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midsomer Norton
1.6 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#28 of 31 in Bath
178 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
664 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
8.4 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Address: Charlton Lane | Midsomer Norton, Midsomer Norton BA3 4BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Midsomer Norton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Midsomer Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Midsomer Norton
Midsomer Norton Best Western
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel Midsomer Norton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing