We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service!”
Review of Parry Pentywyn - CLOSED

Parry Pentywyn
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
CAERPHILLY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Went here yesterday with husband, daughter and granddaughter. We had the Traditional breakfast - it was scrumptious! The service was excellent, nothing was too much for the lady in charge. Would recommend it to all!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mezw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    4
    4
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Breakfast is the BEST !!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Found Parry's at Easter when travelling around Wales, and had a lovely Breakfast then so when I was back in Wales in October 2012 and had suffered a breakfast in Tesco in Carmarthen the day before I travelled down with a friend to Parry's just for the breakfast, praying it was open, and thankfully it was.

The restaurant is on the main road through the town on the right, with car parking and a take away all part of it. The service is great, very friendly staff, along with a lovely clean premises. We opted for the big breakfasts with tea, and I have to say we could not fault them they were just perfect. (see photos)

Looking at the menu it seems they cater for everything, and cannot wait to try the Sunday roast if ever in the area on a Sunday lunch time! the menu is massive and doubt anyone could not be able to find something to temp them.
Cannot recommend this pace highly enough, such a refreshing change to have such friendly service along with great food.
If you are visiting Carmarthen and Laugharne and the lovely Castle it is well worth the short drive to Pendine to try this place and see the lovely beach where the land speed records took place.
I was told they are closed from November to March sadly!!so check if you are planning to visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alaninmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Give the chef the order your self”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Following a recent family outing to Pendine and a day on the beach we thought we would finish our day with a meal at Parry's.
After placing the order and asking for things such as "no onions or mushrooms" we had a really long wait and when the food came all of the orders came with both onions and mushrooms, for three of the meals we were able to scrape off on to a seperate plate but my meal had these items integral so had to be re-cooked.
I finally managed to eat my food 10 mins after the rest of my family had finished.

The food was ok and we did get an apology - aparently the chef had not been made aware we did not want these items after making this clear to the waitress and her writing it down.

I would advise any body eating here to give the order direct to the chef!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Had a delicious meal with great staff”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Visited Pendine for a week this summer (2012) and visited this restaurant several times. At first not attracted to the appearance, but dont be put off, the food is delicious and always seemed busy while we were dining there. Really enjoyed the laid back atmosphere and staff were really lovely. Definitely recommend the steak, and the jacket potatoes are very tasty!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Catejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Overall good. Visited several times.”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Eaten here several times. Generally decent food. Steaks always been nice. Sunday roast was disappointing. Desserts nice but not inexpensive. I think family run and you can tell this sometimes. Some interesting history on the walls. Clean and tidy. Seating outside, and a sliding window where you can take away ice creams and drinks. Worth visiting to make you own conclusions.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander_Ford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parry Pentywyn also viewed

Pendine, Carmarthenshire
 
Pendine, Carmarthenshire
Pendine, Carmarthenshire
 
Pendine, Carmarthenshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing