We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porthcawl
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went with family 13 of us in 3 caravans reasonably close to each other. The check-in was quick and smooth, The caravans were lovely though some could do with updating and ours could have been cleaned better in unused areas. The site is well laid out and was clean and tidy. The amenities were good especially the play park and wet play. The swimming pool was also worth visiting. The beach was fine and only a short walk. Porthcawl isn't far and the fair is just a typical seaside fair but the kids had a good time. Chip shop is pricey but nice food, as are the drinks but you expect this on holiday. The kids entertainment was very poor so only went once. The staff we dealt with were all fine. Would go again with family but not just us two.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,160 - 1,166 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Trecco Bay. We stayed in Firs number 94 and I really cannot complain about the caravan itself. For what we paid it was adequately spaced, clean, comfortable and had everything we needed for 4 adults and 2 children.

The service was slightly hit and miss. The reception staff, coast bar staff and shop staff were all lovely. However the staff at Splashland were not the most hospitable in my opinion-alot of the carried quite a laid back, miserable tone.

There is lots to do on the park from bowling, splashland to jungle gyms and crazy gold which was fun although both jungle gyms and crazy gold are not included in the price.
I cannot comment on the timeout bar or evening entertainment as we did not use the.

The beach surrounding trecco bay is very rocky so we tended to use Coney beach which was just a short 5 minute walk away and it was immaculate so clean.

We enjoyed our time at Trecco Bay although would not return.

Once again can not fault the cleaniness of the site but Porthcawl did not seem to have a huge array of things to do in our opinion and we like to go exploring.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I went to trecco bay for the third time in April, and i really enjoyed it ! There's so much to do on site and all the staff are very friendly. Things to do include: swimming pools and small flumes, entertainment throughout the day for all the family and places around the area are all in walking distance. Arcades are good and there is an arcade upstairs in the entertainment complex that you could said your children to if they get bored. Caravans are clean and beds were comfortable.The only thing is that it can be expensive for meals and drinks, but they are worth it, also in some places its a fair distance to walk from the caravan to the entertainment complex. I would recommend trecco bay to anyone as it is very fun and a good experience !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesshughes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Very average.

Paid a small fortune for August 7 break for the one of the top 4 bed caravans 2012 model bedford.

This was situated a stones through from the shops and the entertainment which is great if you like loud people and loud music all night long. As well as the resident chavs and the boy racers who seemed to zoom around the carpark day and night (the park security seemed to consist of two doormen on the venue and a skoda fabis with security on it at night you could scream your head off and no one came to see what was happening).

I was woken several nights by loud people shouting and screaming by are caravan at night. Also don't think for a minute if you book a pricey caravan you will get space as at trecco they jam in very tight and i could barely park our car next to the van. If the caravan next doors kids ran up and down you could feel and hear it in your van. Then a bonus the shops delivery trucks started coming at 6am and since we were right by the loading area they often disturbed us (no lie ins on this break)

The park has lots of facilities but aug it was heaving and as a bonus when I have paid best part of grand I had to que with 30 other day visitors to use the pool and the soft play area (which is charged separately). This only happens in school holiday but the site is open to the public during this time and they can pay to use the pool and other attractions (you have been warned).

The caravan was quite well warn for a year old but seemed to have been cleaned fairly well (none like haven dirt pits) but was missing some of the kitchen ware which i had to go and collect from house keeping.

You only get 1 hour in the pool tops and tahts after you have qued for 40 minutes. The staff would stop letting people and chat for 15 minutes without explain to anyone what was happening. I was left assuming they were staggering entry a joke when you have paid hundreds to be there.

Porthcawl itself is nothing to right home about either.

We had some nice days out in cardiff and folly farm is superb although 1.5 hrs drive away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbsportstech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a privately rented caravan from 17th Aug for one week. There was nothing wrong with the Caravan itself pretty standard, and pretty much what we expected. This was our 3rd stay at a parkDean site (previous 2 visits were to Devon). We picked this site because the website states it is the biggest parksite and their 'flagship' park. The site is HUGE! But the facilities were no where near adequate for the amount of people staying. The swimming pool was smaller than we expected, the pictures on website make it look bigger. You also are limited to an hour's swin. Evening entertainment was poor nothing special. But the biggest disappointment was the location of the park once outside there was just nothing there...........there were a few fish and chip shops and a fair that was shut alot? In fact nearly everything was shut it was middle of August! ?? We came home a day early as we were fed up by the end of the week we were struggling to find things to do. This was all topped off with alot of drunk people keeping me awake every night, fights, drunk men trying to break into the Caravan next door to me at 1am!
Just not what you want when your on holiday with your children.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Charlotte2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The booking was easy, the reception was smooth, & then it went down hill.
For the cost of £700 per week, I expected a bit more for free? I appreicate the evening entertainment may well be free, but its very amerturish. Apart from the Indoor Splash (swimming pool) which is limited to 2hr sessions & the external wet/dry play areas, you pay for everything, even a round of Crazy Golf for 4 was £10. If the weather is bad all you have is 1hr swimming & the rest of the day in the amusment acarde (lots of money later).

The caravan was clean but very small especially the bed rooms & shower room. They provide most utensils, but lack in any external sitting facilities.

The area is rather scare from eating establishments, although we did find the "Goble" (pub)which was very good on cost & service. But you would'nt want to eat there everynight, or would you.

Would I book again with Parkdean "NO".
Would I return to South Wales "YES" there was some brillant days out. See other reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Caravan was great. Caravan park was like a council estate with caravans crammed together and full of chav's. Trecco bay is a disgrace!Staff were great. Pool and splash park great for kids. Porthcawl is Grim. I won't be coming back

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 830DOMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
1.2 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
52 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Porthcawl Hotel
The Porthcawl Hotel
#6 of 6 in Porthcawl
129 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seabank Hotel
Seabank Hotel
#1 of 6 in Porthcawl
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
182 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
406 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park

Address: Bay View Road, Porthcawl CF36 5NG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Porthcawl
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One fantsatic big family fun park!You bring the family - we'll supply all the entertainment with crazy kids' clubs, our fabulous Splashland indoor pool, wet and wild outdoor play, bowling, bingo and basketball. And that's just for starters! When you're not whizzing down zip wires and watching live shows, you're only a hop, skip and a jump from a blue flag beach and countless other fantastic visitor attractions. * One of the UK's largest holiday parks * Right on the edge of a lovely Blue Flag beach * Explore the Glamorgan Heritage Coastline * Fantastic Splashland pirate themed pool * Live Showtime Entertainment every night ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trecco Bay Holiday Park Hotel Porthcawl
Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park Porthcawl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing