We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok For What We Paid”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porthcawl
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ok For What We Paid”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were here on a Sun holiday break and paid for an ungrade to a 2012 van. i cannot fault the caravan it was spotless although we had a job sorting the heatin out but one visit to the reception and this was sorted. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Pool was clean and we left it until the evening to take a dip so dod not have a problem with over crowding.
Negatives - the beach! i was looking forward to spending time on the beach attached to the park having seen the picture in the brochure. Goodness knows where they got that picture from but it certainly was no where near Trecco Bay Holiday Park. It was heavily littered and not looked very uncared for, we did not spend any time on it!
A vast majority of the clientele had no regard for the time of night at which they were returning to there vans after an evening on the beer. Very noisy.
During one evening we had blue lights on site and the police helicopter over head - say no more!
I would hate to have paid anymore for the break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RCH_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    489
    215
    103
    121
See reviews for
944
156
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were on a Sun holiday and paid an additional £30 so we could bring our dog with us. I have to say my expectations were not too high for how much we had paid but the place was wonderful! We had a basic caravan on the ashes part of the site, it was very quiet and the caravan was compact but was adequate for us. We didn't really use any of the park facilities other than the fish and chip shop as dogs were not allowed inside any of the entertainment venues.
There are a couple of pubs in the village of Porthcawl that will allow dogs inside, 'the ancient briton' and 'the jolly sailor'.
The location of this park is what makes it, as there are two lovely beaches right beside it. I honestly couldn't fault any aspect of our stay, the reception staff were also very friendly and helpful. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for the ashes section as you are out of the way of all the entertainment and it is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tambourine55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at trecco bay from the 23rd for three nights.never really fancied it before but was really supprised how helpful the staff were,how clean the place was and how good the caravans were.when we checked in we were told we had a free upgrade to a cornelly caravan which has three bedrooms,two bathrooms and a large living area and was spotless and only five minutes walk to the entertainment.we had paid for half board and found the food really good value and really tasty and fresh.i think the park would be very expensive if we hadunt gone half board. The pool was lovely and our ten week old loved swimming in there,the arcades were. Varied and fun,the shop was expensive,the beer was good and the coast resturant was lovely.all the staff were really polite and helpful. Now the negatives.the only fault with our break was for some reason parkdean had decided to host a pool or snooker tournament on the same weekend as family's use the venue and you had sleepless nights because the idiotic teams decided to scream and shout as they walked past your caravan at all hours of the night and then have the music blaring in the caravans at 5am.thankfully most of those thick inconsiderate people must have left Sunday because we had a great nights sleep.when I brought this to the attention of reception they apologised,offered to move us and assured me that it will not happen again an adult tournament in season and apologised again.all in all a great break and will defo return

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andybCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I paid for a basic caravan, it was really nice,clean,big, heating in the bedrooms as well. Great facilities on site, beach nearby. designer outlet 6ish miles away at bridgend there as well is an odeon, food court,harvester and sainsburys. swansea and cardiff not to far away from each other.

Room Tip: Sainsburys is one of closest, better places to food shop at bridgend outlet 6ish miles
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KellyRyan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Short Friday to Monday break with wife and two kids (3 & 1) and an exceptional time was had.

I have been to many caravan sites over the years and Trecco Bay is up there with the best. The site is very large, right next to the sea. Lovely walks were had along the coast and kids loved the beach and rockpools.

We upgraded our caravan as in November might get a bit chilly and glad we did. It was very cosy, all the mod cons you needed and couldnt fault.

The entertainment complex was excellent, lots of things to do for all ages, good soft play and pool, also bowlingo and loads of pool tables.

The shows were very good too and the resident entertainment staff were the best i have seen - all good singers/dancers and very energetic (which made a lovely change from the usual x factor reject types with no talent!)

There is an adult only venue open on Fri/Sat night next door to main complex, which whilst didnt use as had the irritants, (sorry kids), was a good touch for those not wishing to have kids running around all the time.

Porthcawl is a nice liitle seaside town - fantastic rugged scenery and very impressed.

Would recommend to all....i have been away in November a few times and places have felt more like ghost towns but Trecco had a real old school feel to it like Pontins did in its heyday!...must be great, if a little crazy in the summer months.

Seagullls!!!!!!....Lizards!!!!!!....Seagulls!!!!...Lizards!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MickeyAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend in Park Dean Trecco Bay. Having visited a few Park Dean sites this is by far the best, it has a adults only bar, family bar, sports bar, restaurant, chip shop, shop, pizza place, mini golf, swimming pool, children play area, bowling, 2 amusements, fast food restaurants ETC. As you can see from some of the facilities I have listed Trecco Bay is the perfect place for families and couples a like.
The entertainment was as brilliant as it was the first time we visited, although there was one act called Gold Dust which weren’t as good as the rest. The food is of a high quality and there is always something on offer. The park itself is spotless and only a 5 minute walk to the beach and the main town of Porthcawl.
This time around we did not upgrade the caravan as it was a last minute trip. Unfortunately you could tell it was not upgraded as the fire alarm kept beeping every 10 minutes, the heater in the bed room did not work and as well as this one of the doors to the caravan would not open.
Having said that how much time do you actually spend in the caravan? Trecco Bay is by far the best caravan site I have ever been too and we will definitely be returning next year.

Room Tip: Pay to upgrade the caravan, the difference is unbelievable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JodieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Although the park has a lot of carvans on site,many of them are privately owed.We booked though the park and had a lovely caravan with two showers and verenda.It was spotless as was the decking.When we walked back from the main entertainment area we could look out across the bay and see the many colour changes in the sky.All food outlets on site were very reasonably priced-hence why i didnot cook all week. All meals were well presented and couldnot fault any of the meals we had.Overall the park was well maintained and clean.We thought overall it was good valve for money.

Room Tip: Pick the caravan with two showers and central lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brillant08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
1.2 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
42 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Porthcawl Hotel
The Porthcawl Hotel
#6 of 6 in Porthcawl
124 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
366 reviews
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park
Address: Bay View Road, Porthcawl CF36 5NG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Porthcawl
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One fantsatic big family fun park!You bring the family - we'll supply all the entertainment with crazy kids' clubs, our fabulous Splashland indoor pool, wet and wild outdoor play, bowling, bingo and basketball. And that's just for starters! When you're not whizzing down zip wires and watching live shows, you're only a hop, skip and a jump from a blue flag beach and countless other fantastic visitor attractions. * One of the UK's largest holiday parks * Right on the edge of a lovely Blue Flag beach * Explore the Glamorgan Heritage Coastline * Fantastic Splashland pirate themed pool * Live Showtime Entertainment every night ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trecco Bay Holiday Park Hotel Porthcawl
Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park Porthcawl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing