We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trecco Bay Parkdean Holiday Park. EXCELLENT!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porthcawl
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park
Oakham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Trecco Bay Parkdean Holiday Park. EXCELLENT!!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Can i just first of all mention that i have read a few reviews off people, and quite frankly i feel that many of u are incredibly picky. Its not a 5 star luxury holiday. For example i read that someone was moaning about the fence at the crazy golf was broken.....so what?? this does not prevent you from having a good time.
The park was incredibly clean and well maintained, staff were friendly and always nearby if needed. Caravan was spotless and spacious. I will say i feel the entertainment could of been based more towards adults after 10pm, and less of the parkdean troupers and more visiting artists would of been nice, but other than that the entertainment/cabaret acts were good. =] ....Plenty to do on the site if you didnt feel like travelling , Porthcawl is just a 10min walk along the beach with the High Tide amusements and Fair Ground along the way. I really cant fault the park and have booked up to go again next year. So much for the kids to do!!! .....Ive stayed at alot worse.

Room Tip: Its a big park so try and request a caravan if u wanted to stay in a particluar area. Can be a long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sammie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    489
    215
    103
    121
See reviews for
944
156
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

we stayed on a mon-fri break. 2adults 1 child of 2.

the facilities were very good and all in the same place, which is a good thing.

The swimming pool was a good size but patrolled by the most anal lifeguards I have ever witnessed. everyone is there to have fun, I understand they need to make the facilities safe but when the kiddy pool is empty and you walk in and you are told abruptly 1 adult to 1 child, with no real explanation. the kiidy pool was empty what difference would it make. there was no signs to say this. the strange 1hr 15 min limit of swim time in a less than busy swimming pool made no sense. in busy periods i understand but there were 20 people in the pool when we told to leave.

my 2 year old loved the kids club but the actual entertainers were shocking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newboybecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in a caravan at Trecco Bay, and the facilites were good, kids were well looked after, special mention for Ali who remembered all the kids names on the site. However, Adult entertainment was Poor, with a magician who was so bad he was almost funny!
Caravan basic, but adequate, although any later in the season it would have been cold even with heating on.
Also outside our caravan they dug the road up during our stay, with no warning, starting at 8am. This was rather annoying.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AxholmeRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We booked a four day midweek break as part of a newspaper promotion. The check in process was smooth but when we arrived at our caravan (Brambles 39) we were disgusted. The carpets and seating areas were filthy, there was mould growing on the windows and shower and the fridge and radiators were rusty. I telephoned the reception who told me to come back and they would see what they could do. After a twenty minute wait they gave me the keys to another caravan (Brambles 90) which was only slightly better, we ended up staying in this caravan but it spoilt our holiday. I know we didn’t pay much for the holiday and I don’t expect the world but for me cleanliness is a must.
Everything on the camp seems to close early and looks tired and dated. This did surprise me as I have been to other Parkdean sites and they have been really well maintained.
The location of the site is great but I think that is really the only positive I could find.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellacharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here recently with a young family. We booked a Pembroke Caravan, however it looks like we were upgraded to a Cornelly. Impossible to know as none of the caravan's are labelled as per the Parkdean terminologies.

Pro's
- Excellent site for young families
- Excellent standard caravan
- Decent kids club
- Excellent site facilities. Lots for the kids to do
- Close to Porthcawl Pleasure Beach
- Onsite food value for money is excellent. Not sure why others believe otherwise. Portions are huge!
- Friendly staff


Cons
- Would imagine that this place is boring for couples or groups of young adults
- Swimming staff are a bit highly-strung and inconsistent. Be aware of the rules and expect to be kept in line
- The phantom noise that others have written about is true (and weird). Sound like someone running around on the roof of the caravan throughout the night.
- Way too much effort is focussed on selling caravans or selling future holidays. Would be more interested in seeing more effort in communicating onsite activities.
- Busy. Site is quite cramped and can be a bit congested in the central areas

Issues aside - I was definitely impressed. Not normally a fan of caravan park holidays and expected it to be a lot 'rougher' than it actually was. Have already booked a return visit this year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PenriJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham,England
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Went to trecco bay on a sun holiday would never ever go back, upgraded caravan as i normally do,arrived and was allocated the smallest caravan ive ever stayed in, dated, staines on carpet and sofa (i have a 2 month old baby) and a mouldy musky smell, went to reception to explain i wasnt happy with the caravan was told i could pay another 100 pound to upgrade again to the same size caravan but a newer model... I expalined i already paid once and just expected the van to be clean, we were moved to another one which was slightly better but still stained carpets and sofa. Reception staff are rude and not helpful at all. Swimming pool was nice a little cold but found it very un family friendly to only have 2 family changing rooms and only 1 baby changing station! A member of staff called james that mans the token exchange gift shop in the arcades really should think about a job change cause his people stlills are unreal! Porthcrawl it self is a dump! We had a drive to barry island just for the gavin & stacey experience but this town also is very run down. All in all a vile place with vile people dont waste ur money! Ohh to end on a positive the chippy was really nice and good valve for money!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kano1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

we stayed in a 2 bed van which was cleaned very well, one of the best cleaned vans i have ever stayed in! basically spotless. the site was also kept very neat and over the week i saw several people cutting the grass and picking up litter. the facilites are fantantic, there is something for everyone. the swimming pool had two lanes which were for people that wanted to do proper swimming, but had a fun pool with a pirate ship, and had a small slide for the little children and had a flume for all ages. there is two large arcades with plenty of amusements. the only downside was the entertainment cold have been a little better, as some nights it was a very good, and others were poor, but i guess it whats you like. but the children entertainment was amazing everynight.
the fish and chip shop was good value for money, and the portions were generous, and was good quaility food, there was also a pizza place and a restaurant which we didnt use.
the onsite shop was a big nisa and slightly overpriced, for example 90p for 2 pints of milk. but it did have everything you need. the nearest superstore was in bridgend which is able 6 miles away but quite straight forward to get to.
overall it was a good family holiday and would go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgii124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
1.2 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
41 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Porthcawl Hotel
The Porthcawl Hotel
#6 of 6 in Porthcawl
124 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
366 reviews
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park
Address: Bay View Road, Porthcawl CF36 5NG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Porthcawl
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One fantsatic big family fun park!You bring the family - we'll supply all the entertainment with crazy kids' clubs, our fabulous Splashland indoor pool, wet and wild outdoor play, bowling, bingo and basketball. And that's just for starters! When you're not whizzing down zip wires and watching live shows, you're only a hop, skip and a jump from a blue flag beach and countless other fantastic visitor attractions. * One of the UK's largest holiday parks * Right on the edge of a lovely Blue Flag beach * Explore the Glamorgan Heritage Coastline * Fantastic Splashland pirate themed pool * Live Showtime Entertainment every night ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trecco Bay Holiday Park Hotel Porthcawl
Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park Porthcawl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing