We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD STUNNING VIEWS”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fairways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairways Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Porthcawl
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD STUNNING VIEWS”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have been here several times over the past few months, and i can honestly say that the standard of the food is outstanding. Great quality great service and a lovely place to relax and watch the world go by!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5StarTravel2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    36
    28
    25
    15
See reviews for
36
62
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Glamorgan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We called in on St David's day, 1st March for lunch and had the two course meal for £9.95. We had the soup of the day, a tasty vegetable soup, followed by a delicious plaice, fresh from Swansea market, with lemon and butter sauce, boiled potatoes, carrots, cauliflower and beans. We couldn't resist the apple tart, ice cream and fresh berries for a further £3, well presented.
The formal restaurant where we had our meal was not crowded, spacious with a pleasant decor.
The hotel is well located on the seafront, with views over the Bristol channel. It's our favourite place to eat in Porthcawl, and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymonnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouthshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have used the hotel every year we attend an awards evening in nearby Trecco Bay. The service is always excellent both day and night and the sandwich buffet provided when we returned at midnight was brilliant. All bedrooms are extremely comfortable but room 1 is exceptional and comes complete with a king size bed, sea views and a jacuzzi bath. The owner and his staff fully appreciate and understand the meaning of customer services and many 4 and 5 star hotel managers should visit the establishment in an effort to improve the service they offer

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor with sea views especially Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonmouthshireEmporer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

called here for lunch on Friday 1st Feb, we ordered drinks , peroni excellent as alway, after a short delay by us we ordered, few mins later we were told they could only do a starter of soup followed by a roast turkey dinner one course at £10 and two courses at £12. some had soup no complaints we all had turkey this was very disappointing, selection of veg was poor and what we had was over cooked or not cooked enough, apparently the kitchen was being remodelled, this is the first time i have written a bad review about this place and we were very disappointed, staff are excellent as always though so no complaints there , despite this bad experience im sure will be there again soon for some tastey food and drinks

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank porthcawltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Porthcawl hotels

s wales
Level Contributor
164 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Great pints of bomardier and friendly staff.

Loved the 2 course meal as we watched the 6 nations. 9.99

Had the soup of the day and the haddock. Was very filling.

Will be back and enjoyed the day totally relaxed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgannwg64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

What a great place - had a late check in, this was a great place to stay, staff first class and the room I stayed in was out of this world - sea view, jacuzzi bath, large room, comfy bed. Breakfast and check out like clockwork. I'll stay here again very soon.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abe030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We visited this Hotel on Wednesday 16th October for a quick Bar Meal and we found this Hotel is an excellent quality Hotel, it has recently undergone an extensive refurbishment and is now one of the most up-to-date hotels in the area. Bar lunches are Monday – Saturday 12.00 pm – 2.30 pm and 5.00pm – 9.30pm. We were served with a friendly smile and professionalism. The views over the Bristol Channel are lovely as we had a clear day to see them. The menu is a bit pricey but well worth the cost, Delicious food, hot, and well turned out. I think we will return for a Sunday Carvery this weekend it looks yum yum yum... :-)

Room Tip: The front of the Hotel has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
0.1 mi away
Seabank Hotel
Seabank Hotel
#1 of 6 in Porthcawl
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
36 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Foamedge Guesthouse
Foamedge Guesthouse
#3 of 6 in Porthcawl
58 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bridgend
272 reviews
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways Hotel

Property: Fairways Hotel
Address: West Drive, Porthcawl CF36 3LS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Porthcawl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairways Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Fairways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways Hotel Porthcawl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing