We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome weekend Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Seas Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 20 Porthcawl B&B and Inns
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome weekend Away”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was our second visit here and found it to be clean, tidy with spacious rooms, lovely en suite shower room. we stayed from Friday to Sunday during the Elvis Festival and frankly if we had stayed anywhere else we would have come home.
Breakfast was served promptly in the morning with a smile and was of good quality, cereal, fruit juice and full breakfast. Plenty of tea and coffee, milk and cream in the room, room was cleaned daily, bed very comfortable and a quiet location.
We have recently returned from a visit to Blackpool where we stayed in a tiny room with no soundproofing, one serving of Tea and Coffee and a charge of £1.00 for further supplies.... there was no comparism...
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaygirl049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaBlueseas, Manager at Blue Seas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review , we really do appreciate it when our guests take time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    17
    4
    5
    9
See reviews for
26
22
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

we had stayed at blue seas before and it was very nice so we decided to book up again and stay two nights. We were greeted by a man who told us they had changed our room and we now had a private bathroom which was across the enterance hall outside the main dining area when my husband explained he was registered blind and this really wasn't convienant to him we was bluntly told well that was our room and we couldn't go in another as they was fully booked but throughout our stay they had vacancies on the door. the breakfasts in the morning the egg wasn't cooked and we was given toast with no side plate. I was given a pot of tea and jug of had to ask for a cup to which the lady huffed and puffed.We went there for a rest and couldn't because of loud noise and kids screaming upstairs till 10.30 pm . We certainly wont be going back the staff are rude and want to learn about how to treat disabled people very low class.

Room Tip: go anywhere but here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaBlueseas, Owner at Blue Seas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We picked room 4 has it is a ground floor room with stunning views across Newton Bay! which are unrivelled in Porthcawl it has al large by fronted window which is greatly appreciated by all who stay there, it is situated on the ground floor which negates the need for a blind person to have to navigate the stairs, and whilst the bathroom is next to the room it is private and totally lockable and leaves the room unspoilt which as a result is large, airy, comfortable and clean.
Unfortunatly we did not have another room available as September is one of our busiest months if we had availability we certainly would of switched the room as our customers satisfaction and enjoyment are always uppermost in our minds.
I have taken up the minor breakfast issues with the staff and they have assured me this is not a common occurence.
As for the children screaming upstairs at 10.30 pm I cant help but feel that there is confusion here as I live on the first floor and this never happens, on the contrary Blue Seas Guest House is always appreciated for its quietness and calm enviroment
Finally we have many disabled people stay in room 4 as they appreciate its conveniance and easy access to all the common areas it also fits the budget as there are no other guest houses or bed and breakfasts that seem to have ground floor rooms in this area and hotels are expensive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Café should be closed!! The service and seating areas outside are as my title says disgusting!
The staff are also slow, rude and haven't a clue about hygiene!
I don't know what was worse, waiting 20 minuets for a sandwich that once arrived got attacked by a dozens wasps and flies or the waitress spraying a can of Raid around our food.
Needless to say we left without eating and will never be returning!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsGunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaBlueseas, Owner at Blue Seas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Blue Seas Guest House and Beachside Cafe are overlooking the stunning bay of Newton and boast panoramic views which are unrivelled in this area.
The cafe exterior has beautifully paved london coble floors with quaint tables and chairs some with umberellas and some without to suit everyones needs
It is a pleasure to watch the locals sit and tap thier feet to the well thought out music, whist enjoying the sunshine.
Unfortunatley we like the rest of the country did have a few wasps last summer as they are unavoidable, however the interior of the cafe is equally lovely for those who are bothered by wasps.
The Beach side Cafe also boasts a 5 out of 5 food and hygene star rating which it is very proud of

Bue Seas Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is about the cafe rather than the hotel but thought it may be of interest to your readers. Every year we holiday at Trecco Bay Holiday Park which is next to The Beachside Cafe. We use the cafe for breakfast at least once during our week long stay and always on the day we travel back home to Hampshire. Due to other commitments we only came to Wales for a long weekend this year but, as always, went to The Beachside this morning or breakfast to set us on our way. All was fine initially, we ordered, paid and waited or our food. We waited about 20 minutes, which was fine as its always cooked to order but then all the customers who arrived and ordered after us were served and we were still waiting. We didn't say anything and our food soon arrived. Unfortunately my toast had a big lump of mould in it so I asked if the toast could be replaced from a fresh loaf. The girl huffed and walked away, coming back with a plate to take the toast away. She didn't say a word, let alone apologise. We started to eat but the bacon and hash browns were cold, not barely warm even, cold. We called the girl over, apologised for being a pain and explained it was cold. She silently leant over us, took our plates and walked away. Not a word. In fact she came across as very rude. We sat for a few minutes, feeling slightly uncomfortable and decided to ask for our money back to go elsewhere. My husband went up to the counter and spoke to her to which she replied yep, opened the till and gave the money back or the three breakfasts we had to return. Still not a word spoen. My youngest daughter had only ordered a bacon bap, which she really enjoyed so we waited for her to eat that and we finished our tea. The three members of staff behind the counter were clearly talking about us as we sat there and made us feel so uncomfortable. We will never go back there which is a real disappointment to us as it had become a proper holiday tradition for us over the last four years. It seems they don't take criticism well but if they serve cold mouldy food they could have at least apologised for it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnylou2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaBlueseas, Owner at Blue Seas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
This review is regarding the Beach side Cafe not the Blue Seas Guest House, as I am the owner of the property and sublet the cafe I cannot comment on the content of this review.
I have however passed it on to the manageress of the Beachside Cafe whom has assured me that she takes its content very seriously and will take it up with her staff and discipline accordingly. The Beachside Cafe as a 5 out of 5 star rating for food and hygiene which the manageress is very proud of along with her excellent reputation with the locals.

Blue Seas

Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The chalet we stayed in was a fire hazard,faulty toaster and doors which when shut were hard to open again without using force. No hot water to bath and wash dishes. Eleven spiders in the bathroom and a wood louse in the bath. Uncomfortable beds,very dated decor. In my opinion the chalet should never be used as holiday accommodation. I would never stay there again or recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room or chalet before parting with money or giving bank card details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAREN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaBlueseas, Owner at Blue Seas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
The chalet is a large two bedroom property, with a lounge,sky tv kitchen and two bedrooms sleeps six people and it is 50 yards for the beach .
We did change the toaster as soon as we were informed of the fault.
Unfortunatley in this particular situation the ladies children did not want to stay in Porthcawl, they wanted to go home to play with their friends and so the lady came to ask for her money back. I explained that we have a 48 hour cancellation period and therefore a refund would not be possible, she then came up with a list of reasons why she should have her money back. I was bemused by her tale of woe and so I agreed not to charge her.
However when I subsequently went to check on the list I found that it was a total fabrication, apart from the toaster which has now been replaced. I then contacted the client with my findings and charged her credit card in accordance with my cancellation policy.
We have had several guests praise the chalet for its comfort,clenliness,space and convenience, it is also great value for money

Blue Seas

Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Friendly and accommodating staff. Clean rooms with all basic facilities. The location is spot on too, right on the seafront, and if you need something for lunch there is also the beachside cafe which is part of the same establishment. It suited all our needs

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susysioux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Searched for ages for a good recommended Dog friendly hotel or B&B
Greeted politely and shown around upon arrival,advised what is available locally with directions.
Lovely clean rooms,easy parking on site ,lovely breakfast ,helpful and courteous staff
Beach is a stones throw from the front door,Lovely coastal walk on your doorstep
Friendly natives
Highly recommend for refreshing break as we had

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Syracusey2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
1.2 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
42 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Porthcawl Hotel
The Porthcawl Hotel
#6 of 6 in Porthcawl
124 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seabank Hotel
Seabank Hotel
#2 of 6 in Porthcawl
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
163 reviews
9.9 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Foamedge Guesthouse
Foamedge Guesthouse
#3 of 6 in Porthcawl
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Seas Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Seas Bed and Breakfast

Property: Blue Seas Bed and Breakfast
Address: 72 Beach Road | Newton, Porthcawl CF36 5NE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Porthcawl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Seas Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Blue Seas Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Seas Bed And Breakfast Porthcawl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing