We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware if you are a certain age”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl
Ranked #6 of 20 Porthcawl B&B and Inns
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beware if you are a certain age”
Reviewed January 10, 2011

I have visit this hotel, for meals with my husband, I had asked the question would it be ok to have a childs dinner as I have a medical problem, I was told no problem provding we had dinner in the pub area and not the dinning room, I was so pleased, I said to my husband that I would bring my 86 year old mother to have lunch there, she is very frail, she to has only has a small meal when we dine out, after travelling 15 miles to have lunch there just before xmas, I was told I could not have a childs meal, I told the waiter I had made arrangment in the past up until now there was not a problem, I asked to speak to the manager, I was told they had eldery people dine there and they lie about their health problems, but she did say she accomodated a 98 year old as a favor how rude of her to say that, she is not interested in your wellbeing only in your money even our small meal would have cost us over £8 each there is a place that will accomodate your needs, not to far away called the priory golf club, home made meals, my mum and I went there after we were insulted by the owner, we were very well looked after, you need to read the reviews about this hotel as you can read I am not the only person complaining.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cherrytreelodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    80
    44
    21
    20
See reviews for
63
80
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

i recently booked a night at the Atlantic as a treat for my parents' golden wedding anniversary. From the point of booking through to settling the bill all of the staff I spoke with were friendly and professional and seemed to go out of their way to ensure that my parents had a fabulous stay. They even arranged for gold coloured balloons to be placed on their table in the restaurant at no extra charge - a nice touch I thought. My parents reported back that they'd thoroughly enjoyed their stay, their bedroom had fantastic sea views and was spotlessly clean and dinner was delicious. All in all a great stay and good value for money. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrelawneyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Delightful hotel, wonderfully situated overlooking the sea. All the staff were charming, helpful & enthusiastic. Absolutely delicious & interesting food with a very extensive dinner menu & large portions. Lovely big room, beautifully furnished. Stayed 6 nights, 2 to 8 September 2010. We shall definitely return. Glorious beaches nearby and convenient for Swansea, the Gower Peninsular, Laugharne, and indeed all South Wales!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyDWetherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powys
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We visited the hotel last Sunday whilst on a trip to the seaside, it was 3.15pm, yet you could still order a Sunday lunch, it arrived piping hot, loads of beef, plenty of veg, and luuuurrrvely gravy. It was a lovely sunny afternoon and we ate outside, very relaxing and staff very friendly despite being so busy. Would definately visit again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelPowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

The location is great, a good base for exploring this part of the coast, brilliant nature reserve.
Sadly, the hotel staff (apart from the excellent and helpful receptionist) don't live up to the surroundings, a previous reviewer called them indifferent, I'd certainly agree with this, it seemed to be too much of an effort to smile.
The food is very bad value for money, we were promised a vegetarian menu but there was a very limited choice and the selection we made at supper and breakfast were not available. We ended up at one supper with a poor second choice, two bland blobs of goat's cheese on a dry bed of lettuce. We had to ask for dressing, (but we only got a couple of sachets of Heinz salad cream). Not good value for the price (approx £9) that was charged and not at all tasty.
We overheard others complaining about the service and food, so I don't think it's a 'veggie' menu issue alone.
Worryingly, we found out that a builder had been given access to our room while we were out, without our knowledge. We only found out by accident as he'd left one of his tools in our room and the room was left only partly cleaned.
The room itself was average, nice views. The TV didn't work properly.
The hotel bar did become noisy at night, not too much of a problem for us where our room was located but we did note that other guests in rooms at the front of the hotel had complained

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Enjoyable family reunion spent at this hotel.
Comfortable beds and refurbished rooms facing the sea.
Food very good but slow service in the evenings but worth waiting for as freshly cooked.
Sunday lunch menu very good value and a good choice.
We hope to come again soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyp_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

My Wife and I live local to this hotel and decided to visit there for a meal for my 66th Birthday, I had booked well in advance and arrived on time, we were shown to our seats at 7.30pm, the bad service then became apparent because it was 7.50 before a waitress came and asked if we wanted a drink, we waited for another 15 min before the drinks arrived, in total it was over two and a half hours before they served us our two course meal.

The meal was very dry and for the price charged was very dissapointing, we were charged over £9.00 for two glasses of very cheap french wine, the total bill being over £45.00.

I do not mind paying for good service and good food! This hotel did not give either, even when I complained to the barman who took our money he was not interested.

This would be the last place in porthcawl I would ever choose for a meal again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Porthcawl hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porthcawl hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seabank Hotel
Seabank Hotel
#1 of 6 in Porthcawl
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Porthcawl Hotel
The Porthcawl Hotel
#6 of 6 in Porthcawl
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Foamedge Guesthouse
Foamedge Guesthouse
#3 of 6 in Porthcawl
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
19 Mary Street
19 Mary Street
#8 of 20 in Porthcawl
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl

Property: Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl
Address: West Drive, Porthcawl CF36 3LT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Porthcawl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing