We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Break in South Wales at the Atlantic Hotel, Porthcawl”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl
Ranked #6 of 20 Porthcawl B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Delightful hotel, wonderfully situated overlooking the sea. All the staff were charming, helpful & enthusiastic. Absolutely delicious & interesting food with a very extensive dinner menu & large portions. Lovely big room, beautifully furnished. Stayed 6 nights, 2 to 8 September 2010. We shall definitely return. Glorious beaches nearby and convenient for Swansea, the Gower Peninsular, Laugharne, and indeed all South Wales!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyDWetherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
There are newer reviews for Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 247 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2010

We visited the hotel last Sunday whilst on a trip to the seaside, it was 3.15pm, yet you could still order a Sunday lunch, it arrived piping hot, loads of beef, plenty of veg, and luuuurrrvely gravy. It was a lovely sunny afternoon and we ate outside, very relaxing and staff very friendly despite being so busy. Would definately visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelPowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

The location is great, a good base for exploring this part of the coast, brilliant nature reserve.
Sadly, the hotel staff (apart from the excellent and helpful receptionist) don't live up to the surroundings, a previous reviewer called them indifferent, I'd certainly agree with this, it seemed to be too much of an effort to smile.
The food is very bad value for money, we were promised a vegetarian menu but there was a very limited choice and the selection we made at supper and breakfast were not available. We ended up at one supper with a poor second choice, two bland blobs of goat's cheese on a dry bed of lettuce. We had to ask for dressing, (but we only got a couple of sachets of Heinz salad cream). Not good value for the price (approx £9) that was charged and not at all tasty.
We overheard others complaining about the service and food, so I don't think it's a 'veggie' menu issue alone.
Worryingly, we found out that a builder had been given access to our room while we were out, without our knowledge. We only found out by accident as he'd left one of his tools in our room and the room was left only partly cleaned.
The room itself was average, nice views. The TV didn't work properly.
The hotel bar did become noisy at night, not too much of a problem for us where our room was located but we did note that other guests in rooms at the front of the hotel had complained

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Enjoyable family reunion spent at this hotel.
Comfortable beds and refurbished rooms facing the sea.
Food very good but slow service in the evenings but worth waiting for as freshly cooked.
Sunday lunch menu very good value and a good choice.
We hope to come again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollyp_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

My Wife and I live local to this hotel and decided to visit there for a meal for my 66th Birthday, I had booked well in advance and arrived on time, we were shown to our seats at 7.30pm, the bad service then became apparent because it was 7.50 before a waitress came and asked if we wanted a drink, we waited for another 15 min before the drinks arrived, in total it was over two and a half hours before they served us our two course meal.

The meal was very dry and for the price charged was very dissapointing, we were charged over £9.00 for two glasses of very cheap french wine, the total bill being over £45.00.

I do not mind paying for good service and good food! This hotel did not give either, even when I complained to the barman who took our money he was not interested.

This would be the last place in porthcawl I would ever choose for a meal again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Trevor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

What a pleasure to meet such pleasant and helpful staff. We arrived in transit to the ferry looking for an overnight stay and some food. The restaurant was about to close. They opened it again for us, provided a great meal and a room at a reduced rate. What a service. That's the way to run a business. The neighbouring hotel could provide no food and a far more expensive room. OH, and the full English breakfast was first class.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer009Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Called here for coffee in afternoon and were quickly served this,by pleasant waiter.
Would definitely recommend this for future use.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ted87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
0.1 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seabank Hotel
Seabank Hotel
#2 of 6 in Porthcawl
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Olivia House
Olivia House
#1 of 20 in Porthcawl
282 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rose and Crown Public House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl

Address: West Drive, Porthcawl CF36 3LT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Porthcawl
Price Range: $98 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing