We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl
Ranked #6 of 20 Porthcawl B&B and Inns
Ogmore-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Great food, great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Lovely hotel with excellent service, good sea views and fantastic food. The room was spacious, spotless and welcoming with a large comfortable bed, good range of complementaries, huge bathroom with jacuzzi style tub. The food is fantastic and I've returned on several occasions for meals. There's a small amount of private parking at the back and plenty of free street parking a long the seafront. I can wholeheartedly recommend staying at the Atlantic.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllisonTuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    76
    40
    20
    17
See reviews for
56
76
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We went for a meal SAT/ .The lady in pink jeans and pink top was very polite,but that is where it Stoped.The menue not good ,not what we expected.We didnt eat our meal,it was very poor.When i confronted the staff ,i was told they were very busy,we
were charged £60 I will not go back ,but i dont think this bothers them at all.Please listen to your diners Atlantic

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank david9080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Porthcawl hotels

Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

we have been visiting this hotel for a number of years now, making the most of their Booze and Snooze package. We have a sea view room which is spotless, with tea & coffee making facilities. The food is great, plently of choice and the portions more than enough. The staff are helpful and very friendly. Its a good place to stay while you discover that part of the country. We booked up for next year before we left.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joy i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Have stopped at this hotel on the Booze and Snooze package which is extremely good value arriving on a Friday afternoon and leaving on a Sunday morning. We usually stop in room 23 which has a lovely seaview and is tastefully appointed.

The food is delicious and plentyful and the staff attentive and friendly.

Porthcawl itself is a very unassuming place and makes an ideal base from which to travel to other parts of Wales.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel looks lovely outside and downstairs. We stayed on the first floor for a long weekend break the bathroom was very outdated and the carpet was very dirty for £100.00 a night i would expect a lot more that this. More occupied with daytime trade then staying residents.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darren c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

i stayed in he Atlantic hotel recently in one of their superior rooms.
When making the booking I was told I would be having an executive room with a partial sea view. Upon arrival the only sea view I had was by hanging out of the window.
The bathroom grouting was black around the bath and the toilet systern lid was broken.
the bathroom door did not close properly were it was badly fitted. My fiancée had to place a towel at the bottom off the room door to hid the light coming through the 2 inch gap again where the door was fitted badly.
We paid £95 for the room and the standard deserved at a push £40 of my hard earned money.

The only redeeming feature of this hotel is the food. It was very good

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

I called in on spec when my 3 children and I were in the area, and was delighted to find they had a room available for us all for around £100 including breakfast. Our room was spacious and clean, had a functional bathroom and plenty of storage. The view wasn't wonderful, but we were at the back of the seafront hotel, and for a last minute booking, I didn't grieve over it. We used their bar area for their free wifi for part of the evening, which was reasonably priced for drinks and had loads of room to spread out. The bar man was very lovely with the children and we felt welcome there. We had a great night's sleep, a lovely shower, and then made our way to breakfast in the restaurant, which is overlooking the sea. The staff were polite, the choice was plentiful and the food was absolutely beautiful. All in all, I would say the experience was stress free and worth the price we paid. Well done to The Atlantic Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brummymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
0.1 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seabank Hotel
Seabank Hotel
#1 of 6 in Porthcawl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Porthcawl Hotel
The Porthcawl Hotel
#6 of 6 in Porthcawl
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
6.1 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Aberavon Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl

Property: Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl
Address: West Drive, Porthcawl CF36 3LT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Porthcawl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing