We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, shame about the decor...”
Review of Seabank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seabank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Porthcawl
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, shame about the decor...”
Reviewed April 13, 2010

We stayed one night at the Seabank with our two children.
The hotel is quiet and very well located at the end of the beach overlooking the sea.
We thought the rooms were very dated - 80s bedspreads, tired curtains, ugly furniture and rather institutional bathrooms. The rooms were by no means dirty - just that when things are so old and dated, they don't look particularly clean either.
Breakfast was included - reasonable buffet but served in the gloom and quiet of the internal part of the restaurant - well away from the windows with the sea view!
We had specifically asked for an adjoining room for our young children when we booked by phone. However when we arrived and were sent up to our rooms, we found they were on completely different corridors - no adjoining rooms available.
The receptionist told us the hotel was to be updated and the rates reviewed.
We paid £80 for each room for the night- this seemed very steep given the quality of the accommodation and food.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalamityJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    85
    56
    18
    25
See reviews for
33
107
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

The Seabank Hotel sits on the main promenade in Porthcawl, its sea facing rooms enjoy superb sea views but sadly the splendid view isn’t sufficient to distract from what is a drab and thread-bear hotel in need of complete refurbishment.

Rooms are dated, beds are worn, four poster rooms (especially in the corners of the hotel) offer excellent space but the bathrooms and especially the corridors leading to the rooms at the time of our visit were less than appealing.

The hotel does have a good bar and reasonable bar food (although much better is available locally) the hotel restaurant from our experience should be avoided; breakfast was the deep fried variety but was perfectly acceptable.

Generally if you can get a good rate, one of the corner rooms, ignore the wear and tear and take a deep breath before walking through the corridors, eat out (fish and chips in Porthcawl is not too be missed!) you’ll find this hotel adequate for a short visit to Porthcawl.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank advisor035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Porthcawl hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Would be better suited as a hostel rather than a hotel.rude and unproffessional staff,namely front of house.wouldnt leave a sick dog in it.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Murph6902a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2009

Yes, the decor is a little dated but the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the food is very good. You get a much more personal service here than you do at some of the bigger chain hotels.

This hotel offers very good value for money, and I will be regularly staying here whilst working in Bridgend.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philhentall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aylesbury, bucks
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

We were a golfing group of 8 and one of three groups staying there. The hotel is right on the seafront and I think we all had sea views. Great for walks to clear the head!
Like a lot of seaside hotels it is suffering a bit through reduced investment. However the staff were welcoming and looked after us. Food the first night was very average but was much better the other two. Buffet breakfast was reasonable and a choice of real ales in the bar, which has fine views of the sea. Our room was a good size but did need a bit of a makeover.
The Billiards Room mentioned on web site no longer exists. Also, needed to ask for sauna to be turned on.
Overall, at £52 DB&B this was reasonable value for money.
For golfers, we played Pennard and Langland Bay on the Gower. Pennard is the 'links in the sky' tough in the wind but great fun. Langland is more of a parkland clifftop course. Both had great views. Southerdown is quite close and is a championship downland course. Watch out for the gorse, the sheep and the wit of the pro. Pyle and Kenfig was last and is a great links, particularly the middle holes of the back 9. We only had 3 minutes of rain in 4 days. Of course there is also Royal Porthcawl.
The town is somewhat rundown, particularly as the summer season had ended.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david_anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

We were surprised to see negative entries about the Seabank. We've had several weekends there recently and have been very satisfied. It's true that the hotel is not as up-to-date as some 3-star operations, but then, I don't imagine Porthcawl (the Bridgend address is not technically accurate) attracts the kind of wealthy clientele to generate the required turnover. The rooms are invariably large and comfortable enough. The promenade location is superb and there is a huge car-park. Staff are polite and efficient. A faulty TV in our room was fixed without delay. The all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast is excellent. All-in-all we reckon the Seabank is just fine for the money.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank countryman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dodger78
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

This hotel is an excellent place to stay. The largest of hotels in the area and very historic. Staff are very friendly. Rooms are clean and large and there is plenty on offer nearby.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dodger78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
0.1 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Foamedge Guesthouse
Foamedge Guesthouse
#3 of 6 in Porthcawl
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
354 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Bridgend
278 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabank Hotel

Property: Seabank Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Porthcawl CF36 3LU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Porthcawl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seabank Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seabank Hotel - Porthcawl (3 Alpha & AA 3-Star). Porthcawl's most prominent building is situated on a headland, a short walk from the Grand Pavilion and John Street shops. There are spectacular views of the Bristol Channel and South Wales coast from the bar, restaurant and most bedrooms. All 89 bedrooms are centrally heated and have bath or shower and WC, hair dryer, TV, internal telephones and tea/coffee making facilities. Extensive public areas include the Smuggler's Bar, Garden Restaurant and large function room with entertainment most evenings. The lift serves all floors. Extensive car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Seabank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seabank Hotel Porthcawl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing