We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
Review of Seabank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seabank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Porthcawl
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Expensive. ..dirty tatty run down..poor staff service food not up to much wouldnt stay here if it was free..120 pound for a night !!! Big rip off dont stay here people..no evening meal included just breakfast for that price..appalling

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank mariarees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeronicaGorman, Guest Relations Manager at Seabank Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Ms Rees

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your one night stay at the Seabank. It is not always possible to please all of the people all of the time but we try our best and had you advised us at the time of your stay that you were not happy with anything, we would have done everything possible to resolve any problems.

I would add that the price you paid for two people for one night bed and breakfast was actually £86 and not the £120 you stated. Three course evening meals plus tea and coffee cost only £10 per person so I don’t think you could call that a “rip off.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    85
    56
    18
    25
See reviews for
33
107
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I must admit I was wary of what to expect having read previous reviews but I found the staff were more than helpful and friendly. We had nice sized room (204) with view of the bay. Bathroom was good size and clean . Breakfast = full english with other alternatives. Meals were served with time slot that you kept for the duration of your stay. The packed lunch offered plenty of choice and was really good value.
There were a couple of minuses one of the people at our table found the prunes weren't edible as they were dried prunes. It was brought to the hotels attention so expect that this has been addressed. One of the starters was breaded mushrooms with garlic mayonnaise and there were only 3 tiny mushrooms . Again brought it to the hotels notice but on the whole good portions.
Vegetables nicely cooked . Large choice of vegetarian dishes. Nice choice of desserts. Close to sea and shops. I would definitely come here again and have no hesitation in recommending to friends

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allweatherwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, General Manager at Seabank Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
We are all very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will choose to stay with us again. I can assure you that the issues you raised have been addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Room had damp stains, the decor was shabby and outdated through out, I found the staff to be unhelpful. We didn't hang around long enough to sample their breakfast. Wouldn't mind but at £86 a night we were expecting a little more for our money.I definitely won't be paying this hotel a visit again. Just glad it wasn't a holiday.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank DanielDORN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Porthcawl hotels

Bristol
Level Contributor
354 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

A lovely sea front bar (Smugglers). A good choice of food and drinks and good service. Well appointed and excellent location. Sport on TV, which was good for the FA Cup Final. We have visited several times and it is always welcoming and a good place to stop and break your walk around the sea front

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolPete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Awkward manager ( Stephen something ? could not read his writing) when we complained about the condition of the room on arrival , it went a little down hill from there , worn and torn carpets - trip hazard , food was straight out of the freezer - not cooked through , when we were asked if it was "OK" and we said it could have been cooked through, we were told that it was ok for the usual guest that arrive by bus...............not for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank quantorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Paid for a sea view, fantastic view and spacious room.

However room stank of damp, bathroom smelled, and corridor by lift. Switched the bathroom light on to get a new foul smell through the aircon.

Jacuzzi jets didn't work in bath, was told someone would come up to fix, they didn't.

Peeling wallpaper in room, light fitting hanging out with wires exposed. Shower screen broken, cracked brittle plastic sellotaped up. Shaving light didn't work.

Breakfast at set time and allocated table, staff refused to take cooked breakfast order until all customers had been served drinks. Then a long wait for a terrible breakfast.

Wifi didn't work except immediately in front of reception desk.

Never again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It did not seem to be up to much on arrival as the outside has taken a battering from recent weather. The hotel inside was alright but the room we had was really nice, with a view of the Bristol Channel. It had recently been refurbished with a lovely bathroom and a comfy bed. The public rooms were a bit tired as they have not yet undergone refurbishment as it's a work in progress. The manager was a really nice guy. All the staff were lovely and went that extra mile to make our stay a good one.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
0.1 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Foamedge Guesthouse
Foamedge Guesthouse
#3 of 6 in Porthcawl
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
355 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Bridgend
278 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabank Hotel

Property: Seabank Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Porthcawl CF36 3LU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Porthcawl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seabank Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seabank Hotel - Porthcawl (3 Alpha & AA 3-Star). Porthcawl's most prominent building is situated on a headland, a short walk from the Grand Pavilion and John Street shops. There are spectacular views of the Bristol Channel and South Wales coast from the bar, restaurant and most bedrooms. All 89 bedrooms are centrally heated and have bath or shower and WC, hair dryer, TV, internal telephones and tea/coffee making facilities. Extensive public areas include the Smuggler's Bar, Garden Restaurant and large function room with entertainment most evenings. The lift serves all floors. Extensive car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Seabank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seabank Hotel Porthcawl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing