We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Travelled”
Review of Seabank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seabank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Porthcawl
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed at this hotel, which occupies a super view over the bay. Although this hotel is 18th century and should be a spectacular historical building it is decaying inside. The décor throughout is dated and the paper is coming from the walls. The colour scheme is in your face.
Our room 205, had wallpaper coming off in both the bedroom and bathroom and had been temporarily repaired. Around the bath there was oodles of silicone on the bath panels. Despite a lovely power shower there was no hot water only lukewarm!!
Although our bed was comfortable I was shocked and surprised by the spring that was exposed and protruding on the side of the mattress.
The food served in the dining room was OK, served extremely fast. Toast was barely done. Imre our waiter was extremely attentive and friendly.
Entertainment was good on both of the nights, however the venue was extremely HOT HOT HOT!!. It was like being in a sauna. It may well be a money saving tip to turn the heating down and save some money!.
I regularly book hotel chain hotels for AGM and meeting functions, and have never ever come across a hotel chain that does not have a policy in place for alcohol to be served after the bar has closed, normally the night porter would do this, when asked by another guest he was unaware of any procedure being in place.
By law in England as a resident you may be served alcohol as long as you wish after the bar has closed.
I will avoid this leisure group.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 267 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

Really enjoyed the hotel with its lovely views on the front and was great value for money. Food was excellent with a chef with a bit of imagination and very tasty meals served nice and hot and quickly even if you had different dietary needs it wasn't made a problem, the waiters were lovely. The rooms were beautifully clean and done each day. The staff couldn't do enough for us. If you had problem they sorted it immediately. The entertainment with different people each night was enjoyed by everyone First Class. We had trips out by coach if you didn't want that, there were regular bus services which most of us used. Would recommend you. Bren Mitchell

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just returned from a five day break and although we had a great time I think this hotel could do with a bit of a shake up. We paid for a sea-view room which was well worth the extra money. Our room was lovely and large and our bathroom was brand new, hence great. The thing that let the hotel down was the food. Our waiter Arek was nice and very good but of course he only serves what he can. The breakfasts were the best meals as the evening dinners left a lot to be desired. There was a chefs special everyday which was obviously made from the previous days main course. The lasagne was served, and looked totally unappetising and we had to peel the top layer off as it was rock hard, but the rest tasted ok. All-in-all the food was edible but was disappointing and the worst of all the coach holiday meals we've had but hey-ho the overall break was money well spent. The entertainment was good.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was an independently booked two day trip although there were two coach parties....

The hotel is in a really great position, and we had paid extra for a seaview room. It was worth it !!!

But back to the start... When we got up close the outside wall of the entrance had the wall finish peeling away, and I could have hooked my fingers behind and pulled it away.. There were a number of "fag ends" strewed around the entrance as well as a selection of other debris. As we opened the door we were hit by a musty smell reminiscent of lots of charity shops.... Although it was 14.30 and the place was deserted we were told we couldn't check in until 15.30 !!

Otherwise the staff were very friendly, the service was good, the room great, don't expect fantastic cuisine (£11 for a three course meal ordered at time of booking), the hotel was clean BUT in a major need of refurbishment

Room Tip: Pick room 310
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank constipatedcamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Well don't know what was wrong with the Sunday lunch, the rooms or the staff, we had a fabulous welcome and the food was exactly as expected. Certainly not tinned, the cake from the cabinet was excellent and perfect for my wife who requires a gluten free diet. We ate on the Sunday admittedly checking out somewhere to stay for the following week.
The staff and manager were very friendly and the manager even offered to carry our bags upstairs when we arrived to stay for the night on the Wednesday.
The hotel is perfect for an overnight stay or longer, the views are stunning and the close proximity to the Grand pavilion is a bonus as we were combining visiting relatives with a visit to the Grand pavilion.
The only downer was having to remember the registration number to enter into the machine in the hotel, and we were sorry to leave.
A comment for the cider drinkers, the Gaymers is not the best cider, but drinkable.
Looks like a case of some people just complaining for the sake of it.

Steve Atkinson.

Room Tip: Just book a room where you have a view over the channel Its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The coach holiday was excellent but the hotel left a lot to be besired the food we mediocre often cool and and not well presented The rooms we had was cool but ask for a heater and one was provided The lift kept breaking down and there was never a manager around when you wanted one this is not we have come to experience with Leisureplex and definitely will think twice and using Alfa Travel

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colin612016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed at the Seabank on a coach break with Alfa coach tours it was a cheap five day break
The room allocated was excellent bright and modern
We were lucky we had a ground floor room as during the week the lift was broken down three times each time for several hours, this was causing huge problems for the elderly and disabled.
There was no duty manager to take their complaints to just staff who did not know what to do
We were informed on arrival that the entertainment room was being used to store furniture and would not be used whilst we were staying however entertainment would happen in the bar area
What a pity for the artists who were very good but the bar area was cold and draughty most of the people staying went to their rooms for warmth which left with an audience of only around twenty
Informing staff of the problems fell on deaf ears no one seemed to be able to take charge of the situation
On the Wednesday evening in the dining room there were lots of complaints about cold food and shortages again no one was available to deal with this, so guest were left to grumble amongst themselves about things, one couple on a self drive break cut their losses and left a day early
Our trips out were very good our driver looked out for us and after all of us
This would have been a brilliant break had we seen a manager when we had issues but other than coming on the coach when we arrived he was thereafter like the scarlet pimpernel
They seek him here they seek there they seek him everywhere
This was our first stay at a Leisureplex hotel although things were bad here we have been assured by other guests that the situation at Seabank was not normal it’s just a case of poor management

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dragfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
0.1 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Porthcawl Hotel
The Porthcawl Hotel
#6 of 6 in Porthcawl
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
5.8 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Foamedge Guesthouse
Foamedge Guesthouse
#3 of 6 in Porthcawl
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabank Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Porthcawl CF36 3LU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Porthcawl
Price Range: $91 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seabank Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seabank Hotel - Porthcawl (3 Alpha & AA 3-Star). Porthcawl's most prominent building is situated on a headland, a short walk from the Grand Pavilion and John Street shops. There are spectacular views of the Bristol Channel and South Wales coast from the bar, restaurant and most bedrooms. All 89 bedrooms are centrally heated and have bath or shower and WC, hair dryer, TV, internal telephones and tea/coffee making facilities. Extensive public areas include the Smuggler's Bar, Garden Restaurant and large function room with entertainment most evenings. The lift serves all floors. Extensive car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seabank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seabank Hotel Porthcawl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing