We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coach” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seabank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seabank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Porthcawl
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Coach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

The coach holiday was excellent but the hotel left a lot to be besired the food we mediocre often cool and and not well presented The rooms we had was cool but ask for a heater and one was provided The lift kept breaking down and there was never a manager around when you wanted one this is not we have come to experience with Leisureplex and definitely will think twice and using Alfa Travel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colin612016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    77
    53
    16
    23
See reviews for
29
98
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
blackpool
Level Contributor
235 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed at the Seabank on a coach break with Alfa coach tours it was a cheap five day break
The room allocated was excellent bright and modern
We were lucky we had a ground floor room as during the week the lift was broken down three times each time for several hours, this was causing huge problems for the elderly and disabled.
There was no duty manager to take their complaints to just staff who did not know what to do
We were informed on arrival that the entertainment room was being used to store furniture and would not be used whilst we were staying however entertainment would happen in the bar area
What a pity for the artists who were very good but the bar area was cold and draughty most of the people staying went to their rooms for warmth which left with an audience of only around twenty
Informing staff of the problems fell on deaf ears no one seemed to be able to take charge of the situation
On the Wednesday evening in the dining room there were lots of complaints about cold food and shortages again no one was available to deal with this, so guest were left to grumble amongst themselves about things, one couple on a self drive break cut their losses and left a day early
Our trips out were very good our driver looked out for us and after all of us
This would have been a brilliant break had we seen a manager when we had issues but other than coming on the coach when we arrived he was thereafter like the scarlet pimpernel
They seek him here they seek there they seek him everywhere
This was our first stay at a Leisureplex hotel although things were bad here we have been assured by other guests that the situation at Seabank was not normal it’s just a case of poor management

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dragfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

reminded me of a quick dinner the beef was sliced cook beef from supermarket the peas and carrots and new potatoes came out of a can not even frozen. the decor was like being back in the 60,s along with the service. if i had feed the dog with it i could have been prosecuted by the RSPCA.

A good place to take your mother in law

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeronicaGorman, Guest Relations Manager at Seabank Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Stephen G

I am very sorry that you were disappointed with the Sunday Lunch you were served. I can assure you that the beef we use is a roasted topside of beef joint which is then sliced with an electric slicer (the kind used in supermarkets) so may have appeared to have been shop bought but I can assure you it is not. The peas are frozen and the carrots fresh (pre-prepared). We offer a very good standard of service in the restaurant and considering that the Seabank is an AA rated two star hotel and the price of the Sunday Roast is £7.95 for one course or £13.95 for 3 courses (4 choices of starter, 5 choices of main course and 4 choices of dessert), I believe it is very good value for money. I am sorry that you do not agree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Porthcawl hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Having been brought up nearby, the Seabank was always a place you went to for a birthday or special meal and the bar was fantastic. But that was a very long time ago and I realise I am probably not a member of the hotel's current target client group. We stayed last year in two single rooms. Rooms were adequate but I've stayed in a lot nicer. The dining room and bars were nightmarish - full, loud and brash - and the breakfast was not worth getting up for. Nevertheless, we decided we would stay again this year as it was very inexpensive and we could spend the money saved on food and drink elsewhere. However, they would not book us in until all the coach parties had expressed an interest in registering. Rubbish. So we booked in another place very nearby and it was fantastic and totally worth the extra. Review appears elsewhere. Seabank is being marked down because of the unpleasantness of its public areas and its lack of interest in people like me and my friends!.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank olwenjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hednesford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here on a three night break in December travelling with Alpha Travel. Our room on the first floor was very nice and the bathroom lovely. The food and the staff were good and attentive and we enjoyed our stay very much. The entertainment on the three nights was good although some people were ill on the last night with suspected Nova Virus which can happen anywhere I am afraid. The manager and his staff worked very hard to control the outbreak and all credit must be given to them. The young man who entertained the depleted audience was very good and we had a full show despite this. We would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jean_wellings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for Christmas with family and friends. The weather was atrocious and the cold and the drafts inside the hotel were on a par with the weather outside! The hotel has been fitting double glazing units in our seaview rooms on the third floor, see photograghs below of how the Maintenance man fixed the gale blowing through the poorly fitted windows in room 318, your eyes are not deceiving you, yes with a bathmat and bath towels!! Despite being given electric fires the rooms remained freezing cold, and I hopped into bed wearing dressing gown with the hood up and my face was absolutely freezing.

Every breakfast served was on a cold plate and I did not receive one hot breakfast during the 4 days I stayed.

There are very few comfortable chairs to sit and relax in. Entertainment was passable but nothing much to do during Christmas Day.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room they are warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muriel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester united kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Another coach trip with Alfa, single traveller, yet again I found this holiday very good. Food was good. Bedroom did need a little TLC but the bathroom had been done to a good standard. Water always hot and shower good. Manager says the room is being done this winter. Seaview ok. but I think the bed would be better on the other wall, mentioned this to manager. Staff very pleasant. Entertainment was good. This was aTinsel and Turkey holiday, hotel done likewise and good value for money. Would certainly go again on one of these trips. Find Alfa very good and have booked gain.

Room Tip: All seaviews seem very nice and bright furniture
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank airman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
0.2 mi away
The Porthcawl Hotel
The Porthcawl Hotel
#6 of 6 in Porthcawl
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabank Hotel

Property: Seabank Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Porthcawl CF36 3LU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Porthcawl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seabank Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seabank Hotel - Porthcawl (3 Alpha & AA 3-Star). Porthcawl's most prominent building is situated on a headland, a short walk from the Grand Pavilion and John Street shops. There are spectacular views of the Bristol Channel and South Wales coast from the bar, restaurant and most bedrooms. All 89 bedrooms are centrally heated and have bath or shower and WC, hair dryer, TV, internal telephones and tea/coffee making facilities. Extensive public areas include the Smuggler's Bar, Garden Restaurant and large function room with entertainment most evenings. The lift serves all floors. Extensive car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Seabank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seabank Hotel Porthcawl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing