We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant place to stay!”
other travelers have booked this property
Lounge around in style...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge around in style...
Miners Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Lounge around in style...
Miners Cottage
Our fully fitted kitchen with everything you need, large 6 place dining table but room for a cosy 10
A double ended bath, mood lighting and a separate power shower...... fantastic!
Soft cotton towels
The twin bedroom, overlooking the Margam Valley and out across Swansea Bay to the Mumbles
Our single, same view to the front, both single bed rooms are loved by kids, teens and grown ups!
your garden view from the Master Bedroom
The garden
The garden
The garden
Christmas at Miners Cottage
Christmas at Miners Cottage - we decorate for you :-)
Our 220 year old climbing rose, 'Seven Sisters' planted by my Great, Great, Great Grandmother...
Christmas at Miners Cottage
Christmas at Miners Cottage - we decorate for you :-)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Porthcawl, Bridgend County, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nahameb
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant place to stay!”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband and I and our two teenage children thoroughly enjoyed our two weeks in Miners Cottage. The booking process was very straightforward and communications from the owners were excellent. The cottage was amazingly well-equipped, very clean and well-presented. The location is brilliant: very close to shops and amenities and to the M4, whilst at the same time being in a quiet setting. It has a lovely garden and the front windows overlook countryside. amazing to be able to see the sea and watch the beautiful sunsets over it. One of our essential requirements for a happy holiday was good, free wifi and this was provided with no problems at all. There is lots to do in the Bridgend area and Cardiff, Swansea and the Gower are quickly and easily reached via the M4 or local roads if you prefer a scenic route. We have already booked our holiday here for next year! Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: With teenage children, the free wifi, with husband the free on the doorstep parking, for mum/wife, everyone's holiday needs being met!
Liked least: Struggling to think of anything. Would probably say the stairs but only because they are fairly open and I'm a wuss!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2016
Thank you Hannah, Wow, what a brilliant review! We are very humbled:-) - and delighted we can welcome you back next year, with such an old cottage, we try our best and are delighted we could give you such home comforts, just let us know anything you need for your next stay,

Regards,

Jon & Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalre, The Netherlands
Reviewed August 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness of the village and the large lounge to relax . The large dining table to play board games
Liked least: Not applicable
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2016
Thank you for the lovely review, Hopefully we can welcome you again and you can catch up on all the things you didn't have time for during this stay - we would love to welcome you again, kind regards,
Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the cottage afforded plenty of space if holidaying with children.
Liked least: No covers on the duvet- a sheet was provided but difficult to ensure this remains over you all night!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2016
Dear Joyce,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, we always try to make things great for our guests. We are delighted you loved the area, we do too :-)

Once again, I apologise for the washing machine, thank you for letting us know when you let, and yes, it's been put right. I didn't realise you had a problem with the dishwasher, I am so sorry, I will contact our current guests to see if they are having problems.

We hope to welcome you back agin - you have definitely had the best weather so far this year!

kind regards
Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CocoBaugh
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Cottage. Comfortable & Convenient.”
Reviewed July 28, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed at Miners Cottage for the May Bank Holiday and not only were we very happy with the cottage we also had good weather so were able to enjoy the garden as well as the inside of the cottage. The cottage itself was very comfortable and offered all that you might wish for. My husband especially appreciated the Blue Tooth Sound Bar and we both enjoyed the complimentary bottle of wine. A great location for travelling around the local area and would definitely recommend a visit to the Kenfig Nature Reserve. Hoping to visit Miners Cottage again and discover other parts of South Wales.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2016
We are delighted you had a great stay and doubly so you had great weather! We look forward to welcoming you again :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 7, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2016
Thank you Simon - we love how centrally located we are for all the places you visited - lucky us :-)

We hope to see you again soon,

kind regards
Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hemmsLond...
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable home - would recommend”
Reviewed June 15, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed in Miners Cottage for the Dragon Ride cycle sportive that took place nearby. It's in a lovely quiet location and has everything we needed to eat, sleep and relax. Would recommend and stay again should we ever decide to ride in the Welsh mountains again any time soon ;-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2016
Thank you Richard, we are delighted you recommend Miners Cottage - thank you :-) Please get in touch if there's anything you think we can do better, we look forward to welcoming you again,
Kind regards,
Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm of the cottage & how homely it feels.
Liked least: Having to go home again!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 16, 2015
Thank you Alaine - we love welcoming our guests back again, it's very kind of you notice our behind the scenes work :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing