We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous and centrally located seaside themed...”
other travelers have booked this property
Main Lounge - spacious, light with lots of comfy seating, tv,& dvd..
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Lounge - spacious, light with lots of comfy seating, tv,& dvd..
Coney Beach  A lovely beach  just 5 minutes walk - complete with donkeys and a fun fair on the beach Christmas only around the corner, fit some shopping into your break  Cardiff/Swansea 30 mins away
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
56 reviews
Main Lounge - spacious, light with lots of comfy seating, tv,& dvd..
Coney Beach  A lovely beach  just 5 minutes walk - complete with donkeys and a fun fair on the beach
Christmas only around the corner, fit some shopping into your break  Cardiff/Swansea 30 mins away
Trecco Bay indoor heated swimming pool - just a few minutes walk away from the house
Dining Room which is separate from the lounge plenty of room for everyone or relax and read a book
book in to see a panto at either the Grand Pavilion Porthcawl or Cardiff or Swansea so much choice
Rest Bay Sunset
Waterfront Winterland at Swansea or Cardiff Winter Wonderland , christmas is only around the corner
Horse Riding across the beach with Ogmore By Sea Riding School and short drive from the property
Newton Beach Porthcawl just a walk away from the house.
our dining room table and chairs, sofa bed, cd player, selection of cds and books
Ogmore by Sea Castle - go across the stepping stones - visit Merthyr Mawr with its thatched cottages
our lounge, Home from Home - plenty of seating for all - tv, dvd, and  a selection of dvd & cds
Surfers at rest bay - hire surfboards and wet suits at the beach or take a learn to surf lesson
Autumn at Castle coch
Trecco bay jets and fountains all just a short walk from the house free to use
Crazy golf at Trecco bay just a 5 minute walk away from the house
Beach Road , Newton Beach , on the edge of Trecco Bay Holiday Park , a walk from the house
Kitchen with your welcome basket - home from home everything you need to make a family meal
SWANSEA CITY INDOOR MARKET  GO BUY  SOME FRESH WELSH PRODUCE DONT FORGET SOME WARM WELSH CAKES
Comfy lounge - light and spacious with room for all
Porthcaw sunset - have a lovely walk along the coast just a few minutes from the house
Bedroom one - spacious room with plenty of storage
Margam Country Park just a 15 minute car journey away, a lovely day out - lots to do for everyone
Kitchen/Breakfast room, table and chairs, fan assisted electric oven, microwave,toaster, kettle,
LOVELY HOME BAKED WELSH CAKES TO BUY AT THE MARKETS
Dining Room Plenty of room for all
Kenfig Nature Reseve a 10 minute drive away from the house
MC ARTHUR GLEN DESIGNER OUTLET , TO GET A CHRISTMAS BARGAIN , ONLY 15 MINUTES AWAY FROM THE HOUSE .
Sunset at coney beach
Porthcawl - coney beach - our house is situated just behind the beach on the right of the picture
Main Lounge with plenty of seating for all - home from home with tv, dvd, cd's, plus wifi, inte
TRECCO BAY CHILDRENS PARK , JETS & FOUNTAINS, CRAZY GOLF , SPORTS AREA, INDOOR POOL , A WALK AWAY
2nd bedroom
Horse riding on the beach with ogmore riding school
Oh I do like to be besides the seaside - in our little bathroom !!
Separate Dining Room  - Table & Chairs, sofa, plenty of room for all
Kitchen/ Breakfast room with table and chairs - with all you will need for your home from home stay
with dvd and tv and a selection of dvds for those cozy nights in
childrens play area at Trecco Bay  , check out the crazy golf and jets and fountains
Merthyr Mawr go back in time and wander through the village
Even when its windy at Porthcawl lots of fun for the Blast Kite boardersand the spectators
the famous lighthouse on the edge of Coney ,Beach all a walk away from the house
Coney Beach for the sunny lazy days at the beach with your bucket and spade , your picnic ,  & REST
Castel Coch just a short drive from Cardiff ,, in its Autumnal Setting , Looking Beautiful
MUMBLES AND THE GOWER LESS THAN ONE HOUR AWAY
a few minutes walk away and discover The Wilderness lakes take a stroll and check out the wildlife
CARDIFF BAY ONLY 30 MINUTES AWAY
Margam Park and the resident Deer Herd
Ogmore by Sea Castle just a 15 minute car journey away , check out the old castle
Merthyr Mawr within a short drive from the house , go for a walk and discover the thatched cottages
CITIES OF CARDIFF WITH ITS MUSEUM JUST 20 MINUTE DRIVE AWAY
CARDIFF CASTLE WITHIN A 20 MINUTE DRIVE AWAY.
Sunrise over the esplanade
September at Porthcawl means one thing Elvis !!! one of the biggest gathering of Elvis in the world
September Elvis at the Sea front.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Porthcawl, Bridgend County, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ChrisandB...
S.Wales
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and centrally located seaside themed apartment.”
Reviewed September 18, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We enjoyed our stay at The Gateway very much. It was very central to the beach and the town. We don't have a car, so location is very important to us. We really appreciated the hamper, what a lovely addition to save rushing out for food. We loved the seaside theme and the fact we were able to bring our dog too. Kay and her hubby were very friendly and welcoming. We would definitely book again. Thank you Kay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review, you too were perfect guests and we would love to see you all again , including the little bearcub xxxx Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meander71...
1 review
“Good location”
Reviewed September 14, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Nothing was too much trouble for the owners. Very friendly and accommodating. Welcome pack very good. The best one we have had in a rental property. Lovely beaches which the dog loved and plenty of lovely walks close by. Margam park and Kendrick nature reserve well worth a visit. We thought Porthcawl was a bit run down and not a lot going for it. Enjoyed our week but could have done with better weather.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2018
Thank you for your review , we are so pleased you enjoyed our place, just to let you know , Porthcawl is about to undergo some new changes , with a multi million complex on the harbour , with another swimming pool , water sports , and so much more , not forgetting our new beach at the town , I know there were on going works in the area during your visit , but in the long term it will be really worth the troubles , hope to see you all again soon , and the weather will be kinder to you , kindest regards Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discover7...
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 30, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Lots of space for a decent home away from home. However,there was a strong smell of damp and dust;characterised by thick dust underneath the living room sofa and the bed in the master bedroom. As a result,night time was rather difficult to myself and the kids as we had bad allergic reactions to the conditions. The pillows in the master bedroom were sweat stained, and the linen in the same bedroom was rundown. Otherwise,we enjoyed the nice shower over bath.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2018
I am so sorry that you have given such a bad review of our property we strive to give the best home from home experience for our guests , although we do not understand your comments on the dust and damp at the property , I truly hope that prospective guests will take the comments of our other guests and see that one week we are commented on how lovely and clean and well equipped out property is and within a few days your comment on damp and dust , yet during your stay if there were problems with the property why not contact us so we could send someone around and resolve any issues of dust under the sofa which we would have gladly done , please be reassured that our pillows have pillow protectors which are washed between guests , but i would like the tripadvisor guests to know what you had done to my coffee table how you used one of my candles from another room and burnt a huge hole in the centre of my coffee table and did not even tell us why you had done this and then hid it under the coasters on the table, and also thank you for the pile of dirty dishes that you let all over the draining board, I am so glad that there is a way to review you as i feel that you have hidden your damage to my property by leaving this nasty review , I hope that you do contact us again so we can sort out the damage caused by you and your family so yes disappointed I am at a cost of £250 for a new coffee table that I have to pay for after your short break with us of only 3 nights , so thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beate L
Diez
2 reviews
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed August 23, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

When we arrived we had a very warm welcome by the ower Kay and a lovely welcome Basket. The apartment is very clean and well equipped. We enjoyed our stay and will certainly return to "The Gateway!".

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Welcoming, roomy, and convenient”
Reviewed July 10, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Fantastic stay - our second time. Plenty of room in the apartment, beds comfortable, fantastic new bathroom. Of course the welcome hamper is one of the best touches which is so appreciated. Very welcoming and friendly. Right next door to Trecco Bay and all their facilities (open to the public), within walking distance to Porthcawl sea front and the shows, all level and no road in sight, and the town only 5 minutes further on. Apart from Porthcawl, the beautiful valleys just 20 mins drive and even Cardiff Bay just 30 mins. Barry is on the way back from Cardiff Bay and well worth a visit if you are fans of Gavin and Stacey! Shop at the local Coop just 200yds away if you want to eat in - Chinese takeaway right opposite, and the excellent Beales chip shop just quarter mile down the road. If you are still not sure, compare prices with a caravan next door in Trecco Bay - you will be pleasantly surprised!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme B
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location ”
Reviewed June 8, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Lovely apartment, very spacious nicely decorated and a new bathroom too. A wonderful welcoming basket with eggs , bacon , sausage and milk in the fridge to get you going. Located on a quiet road 5 minutes walk from the beach and plenty of green at the back to walk the dog.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian F
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Porthcawl break”
Reviewed June 6, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Had a lovely stay once again, accommodation spacious very clean central to everything owner very friendly will definitely be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2018
Thank you Gillian , hope to see you all back again soon , Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing