We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely flat, so convenient - booked again!”
other travelers have booked this property
Main Lounge - spacious, light with lots of comfy seating, tv,& dvd
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Lounge - spacious, light with lots of comfy seating, tv,& dvd
Coney Beach  A lovely beach  just 5 minutes walk - complete with donkeys and a fun fair on the beach Dining Room which is separate from the lounge plenty of room for everyone or relax and read a book
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
51 reviews
Main Lounge - spacious, light with lots of comfy seating, tv,& dvd
Coney Beach  A lovely beach  just 5 minutes walk - complete with donkeys and a fun fair on the beach
Dining Room which is separate from the lounge plenty of room for everyone or relax and read a book
Trecco Bay indoor heated swimming pool - just a few minutes walk away from the house
our lounge, Home from Home - plenty of seating for all - tv, dvd, and  a selection of dvd & cds
Trecco bay jets and fountains all just a short walk from the house free to use
our dining room table and chairs, sofa bed, cd player, selection of cds and books
Surfers at rest bay - hire surfboards and wet suits at the beach or take a learn to surf lesson
Kitchen with your welcome basket - home from home everything you need to make a family meal
Horse Riding across the beach with Ogmore By Sea Riding School and short drive from the property
Comfy lounge - light and spacious with room for all
Crazy golf at Trecco bay just a 5 minute walk away from the house
Beach Road , Newton Beach , on the edge of Trecco Bay Holiday Park , a walk from the house
Bedroom one - spacious room with plenty of storage
Kitchen/Breakfast room, table and chairs, fan assisted electric oven, microwave,toaster, kettle,
Ogmore by Sea Castle - go across the stepping stones - visit Merthyr Mawr with its thatched cottages
Dining Room Plenty of room for all
Separate Dining Room  - Table & Chairs, sofa, plenty of room for all
Porthcawl - coney beach - our house is situated just behind the beach on the right of the picture
Main Lounge with plenty of seating for all - home from home with tv, dvd, cd's, plus wifi, inte
Newton Beach Porthcawl just a walk away from the house
2nd bedroom
Oh I do like to be besides the seaside - in our little bathroom !!
Margam Country Park just a 15 minute car journey away, a lovely day out - lots to do for everyone
Kitchen/ Breakfast room with table and chairs - with all you will need for your home from home stay
with dvd and tv and a selection of dvds for those cozy nights in
childrens play area at Trecco Bay  , check out the crazy golf and jets and fountains
LOVELY HOME BAKED WELSH CAKES TO BUY AT THE MARKETS
Porthcaw sunset - have a lovely walk along the coast just a few minutes from the house
SWANSEA CITY INDOOR MARKET  GO BUY  SOME FRESH WELSH PRODUCE DONT FORGET SOME WARM WELSH CAKES
Kenfig Nature Reseve a 10 minute drive away from the house
Merthyr Mawr go back in time and wander through the village
Even when its windy at Porthcawl lots of fun for the Blast Kite boardersand the spectators
Rest Bay Sunset
the famous lighthouse on the edge of Coney Beach all a walk away from the house
TRECCO BAY CHILDRENS PARK , JETS & FOUNTAINS, CRAZY GOLF , SPORTS AREA, INDOOR POOL , A WALK AWAY
MC ARTHUR GLEN DESIGNER OUTLET , TO GET A CHRISTMAS BARGAIN , ONLY 15 MINUTES AWAY FROM THE HOUSE .
Coney Beach for the sunny lazy days at the beach with your bucket and spade , your picnic ,  & REST
Sunset at coney beach
Horse riding on the beach with ogmore riding school
Autumn at Castle coch
MUMBLES AND THE GOWER LESS THAN ONE HOUR AWAY
a few minutes walk away and discover The Wilderness lakes take a stroll and check out the wildlife
CARDIFF BAY ONLY 30 MINUTES AWAY
Margam Park and the resident Deer Herd
Ogmore by Sea Castle just a 15 minute car journey away , check out the old castle
Merthyr Mawr within a short drive from the house , go for a walk and discover the thatched cottages
September at Porthcawl means one thing Elvis !!! one of the biggest gathering of Elvis in the world
CITIES OF CARDIFF WITH ITS MUSEUM JUST 20 MINUTE DRIVE AWAY
CARDIFF CASTLE WITHIN A 20 MINUTE DRIVE AWAY.
Castel Coch just a short drive from Cardiff ,, in its Autumnal Setting , Looking Beautiful
September Elvis at the Sea front
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Porthcawl, Bridgend County, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jill M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely flat, so convenient - booked again!”
Reviewed October 15, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you for a wonderful week, we, our son and two labs loved being there. The flat is so well situated, well equipped and spacious, decorated with a lovely seaside theme - and what a super welcome basket. Unfortunately we can’t give five stars as there are a few issues where it needs a bit of TLC (though talking to Andrew he told us of planned work), and our main disappointment was that the advertised WiFi just isn’t fit for purpose in the late 20-teens. Even when we could get onto the hub we rarely could access the internet. However the pros VASTLY outweigh the cons, and we have already booked for next year.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“The Gateway a lovely stay”
Reviewed October 10, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Thank you for a lovely stay , the property is spacious and thank you for the welcome basket and food , really home from home with plenty of room for us all , we were a party of 4 and plenty of space for us all. we enjoyed our visit to Trecco and loved the indoor pool when it was a rainy day , but really lucky with the weather and managed to get onto the beach at Coney with the donkeys and we had a lovely walk around the fair , complete with an icecream and some dougnuts to go home with , all in all a lovely time had by all, thank you , and we will see you again

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel R
1 review
“Fantastic stay!!!”
Reviewed September 30, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Had a lovely stay at Gateway Porthcawl. Was very clean.and comfortable with all amenities. Welcome basket was a fantastic surprise! Proprietor answered all questions regarding the locality and was very helpful throughout the stay. Would most definitely recommend. Very good location also!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2017
Thank you for your review, yes our property is really central, and close to the beaches, town and the attractions, Yes our bathroom is about to undergo some major changes , even though our current bathroom has done us proud over the years , it is time for change , we have a lovely new double size walk in shower planned, complete with a new toilet a freestanding vanity unit and sink , with single modern mixer taps , nice new modern flooring and walling , we too cant wait to get it all done , but we are waiting for a little gap in our bookings , planning for November at the end of the season , yes we will take some nice new pictures then so don't worry, you can get to see the new bathroom before your next visit, the new shower will be much easier for you to use than the current bath and shower above , we too cant wait for its arrival , and are looking forward to getting it done , look forward to seeing you all again kindest regards Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Culliford...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gateway Porthcawl”
Reviewed July 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I know Porthcawl really well & have stayed on Treco bay many times.
This is the first time I've stayed in a self catetering house there.
The house itself is in a great location only a 10min walk to the beach. It is a very spacious house, it has parking for 1 car on the driveway. We had 2 cars so parked the other on the main road opposite the driveway. There's isn't a garden for any children to play in but we didn't need that. There was just a small concrete area where the bins are located & that was enough for my dog to go out and go to the toilet.
Wifi password worked but Wifi was very poor, ok to load pages up but not to watch anything.
The only reason this isn't a 5 star review is I do think some work is needed in the bathroom.
There was a smell in the back bedrooms quite a musty/mouldy smell, and I believe this is down to the bathroom.
The bath has a lot of movement and pulls away from the tiles which is allowing water to run underneath also the toilet systern was wobbly and leaked underneath. I believe there is a knock on effect from this leading to the mouldy smell.
I did enjoy our stay & I would stay here again I'm hoping my criticism is seen as constructive criticism only.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Stay at The Gateway”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you for a lovely time at The Gateway in Porthcawl, the welcome basket a nice touch after our long journey , the place was lovely , spacious and light, plenty of room for us all , everything you need for a home from home , the weather was great during our stay and Porthcawl has lots to do for the children , the beaches and trecco bay were just a walk away , and lovely places to eat , the children loved the jets and fountains at the crazy golf at the holiday park which was only down the road, lovely holiday , and thank you again , see you again next year xxx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
Reviewed May 27, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Booked for a stay to visit family & friends. Website shows very nice photos, however, the property was not as well maintained as expected and was very tired looking and grubby.
The welcome pack was a nice touch.
We enjoyed our visit but not the property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing