We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, clean, great location.”
other travelers have booked this property
Stunning Rest Bay Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning Rest Bay Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Stunning Rest Bay Beach
Double Room
Enter a caption for your photo
Kitchen
View from the balcony
Off to the beach
Rest Bay Beach with rock pools to explore
Coney Beach Amusement park
Sandy Bay
Kite Surfing at Rest Bay
Evening surfing
The sea front in town
Sunset over the Esplanade
The Royal Porthcawl Golf Club
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Curtis124...
1 review
“Comfortable, clean, great location.”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Lovely flat, nice walk to shops and beach, plenty to do and see near by. Flat very clean, comfortable and well equipped.
Would definitely stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your stay, I look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa...
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent property, thoroughly relaxing”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I was really impressed with the size of the property - the photos don't do justice to the size or the finish of the property.

The location is fantastic, with beautiful views of the sea from the balcony and the beach is just a 10 minute walk away. We loved the convenience of being able to walk back to the apartment from the beach. Also a great location to explore South Wales, with Cardiff and Swansea just a 30 min drive away.

Everything seemed to have been thought of to make sure our stay was as relaxing as possible.

I would not hesitate to recommend and we will be returning without doubt in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, nice quiet road and very close to the beach
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa l
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely place to stay”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

myself and children just got home from staying at restbay appartment and we really enjoyed ourselfs,the appartment was very clean and spacious and the beds and pillows were so comfy,the appartment was in a lovely quiet street and it has off road parking which is good,the fantastic beach is only 5 mins walk away.lovely appartment and lovely area,i will be going back there :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sea view and bedding
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britgirl6...
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Relaxing Rest Bay Apartment”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I travelled from Canada to Wales and stayed at the Rest Bay apartment for seven nights with friends. Guy, the owner of the apartment was most accommodating and made communication easy and quick via email and phone. The price of the flat was very reasonable and certainly hit the budget better than a B & B or hotel in the area. This modest apartment met our needs with; clean linens, a very well equipped kitchen and only a three minute walk to the tranquil Rest Bay beach. The upstairs two bedroom apartment is in a quiet residential area. It had convenient parking and was but about a twenty minute walks to the town of Porthcawl and nearby Nottage. In the apartment was a binder that had very good resources and tips of local areas to visit and dining suggestions.
My husband and I both enjoyed running along the beach front and walking to the local pubs in Nottage and waterfront of Porthcawl. We did get spoiled with some of the hottest weather Wales has experienced in years so took advantage of the surrounding beaches too in the lovely Gower peninsula, dunes of Kenfig and hip Cardiff Bay. Porthcawl has definitely changed since I was a child growing up in this area but still has a strong community spirit. We visited local art galleries and the main street with little bakeries and thrift shops. Coney Beach Fairground is still there for the young at heart but gone one are the masses of holiday makers from the valleys far and wide. There are good golf courses close by and Rest Bay is famous for being a good surfing beach. At this point I would have to say the town of Porthcawl itself is for the ‘nearly dead and could be wed’. We mostly observed a range of retirees and young folk who sat out at the beach front lounges, bars and cafes. However there is no excuse for not finding things to do, if you want history, culture and recreation just cruise about the area and you are never far from anything.
I would recommend this apartment for those who don’t want hustle and bustle of the overcrowded flooded seaside resorts, for those who want quiet rugged Welsh beaches or just visits with family and friends. I’ve done my share globally of bombarded beaches and resorts and found if refreshing to go home to sandy beaches not consumed by the masses. I would certainly stay at the Rest Bay apartment again since it met our personal needs of having the beach and family close by.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location to the beach
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédéric...
Nice, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$73
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing