We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views, average food”

The Atlantic Hotel & Restaurant Porthcawl Mid Glamorgan
Ranked #27 of 70 Restaurants in Porthcawl
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely views, average food”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Visited The Atlantic last Friday with my partner and her family.

The views from the restaurant are fantastic, overlooking the sea.

We had a table booked for ten people, which, wasn't an issue and had an appropriate table located in the conservatory section of the restaurant.

The service was good, however, one member of our party had to remind the staff that they hadn't brought his drink. Our food was reasonable, I had the chicken and chorizo kebabs, which, was nice, but, the chips were quite dry.

There wasn't really an atmosphere per say, it was all very quiet, other than our table with four children.

It hasn't left a sour taste in my mouth, but, won't rush back for food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew_Walters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    48
    23
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“GREAT VENUE AND GOOD FOOD”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Been for lunch on a few occasions and have not been disappointed.Took a friend visiting us this week and we all had the trio of lamb chops which were delicious.Sat outside in the sun overlooking the sea and surrounding coastline and it was idyllic.Service was prompt and efficient.Nothing at all to dislike.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GWILYM17945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just visited for sunday lunch at 14.95 pp.very disappointed for what we had.Beef & Yorkshire delicious,veg left a lot to be desired,also dessert.would not visit again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank magantCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average Sunday Lunch/”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Visited the above hotel for sunday lunch on sunday March 2nd.2014,we didn't reserve a table but they were kind to fit us in.My son,his partner and myself had the beef dinner,which was very nice,plenty of beef and a Yorkshire pudding with roast potatoes,but the veg was poor,not a lot for three people and did not look very tempting.The dessert was a crumble with plums and custard,plenty of custard,hard plums and crumble,Oh! not a lot.Will not be going there again.

Helpful?
Thank magantCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Updated review - Better!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Since last reviewing this in 2012 after some very poor meals at this place, I think it's only fair to say there's been a BIG improvement with the food. I'm assuming this means that whoever the previous useless chef was has been sacked. As our parents both like this place for the occasional Sunday lunch I'm pleased to say that we enjoy the food there now - Hooray! Definitely a big improvement on the overall quality and presentation of the food. Veg can still sometimes be a bit insipid though, especially the cabbage.
Service is still pretty slow - sometimes you litterally have to wave your arm about to get someone's attention. They're not good at all at checking customers' tables to see if you've finished your meal and lack awareness overall it seems, so improvements could still be made with staff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noodle1Bridgend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Atlantic Hotel & Restaurant Porthcawl Mid Glamorgan also viewed

Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to The Atlantic Hotel & Restaurant Porthcawl Mid Glamorgan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing