We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great meal at Ristorante Rava”
Review of Ristorante Rava

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ristorante Rava
Ranked #12 of 70 Restaurants in Porthcawl
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Family run restaurant, open to the general public. Early evening specials menu. Small but good wine list. Open from 17;30 - 23:30 daily
Bridgend
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Another great meal at Ristorante Rava”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Not our first visit, but keep returning as both the food, service and welcome is good.

May appear a little clinical to some, it is a clean crisp and modern enviroment. Good selection of food and wine. Never had a poor meal or service and excellent friendly service.

Always busy when we have visited so booking is better than being disappointed when you arrive.

Certainly be returning in not too distant future.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank slps27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    28
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A real find, off the front, friendly with really good food”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We found this place in trip advisor, hoping to avoid the tourist traps and we were really pleased we did. It got busy as the evening wore on - luckily we arrived early as we hadn't booked. A family business, it is child friendly despite the lack of a specific children's menu. Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robertsrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Standard stuff!!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I went to restaurant rava and i can tell you it was very average. i started off with the mushrooms and prawms for starters wich was good followed by a cheese and tomato pizza wich lacked in flavour, and didnt nearly have enough cheese and when i had a can of coke it was room temprature, and the glass smellt funny .my dessert was ok but not homemade. All in all it was ok but would not come here again .

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Un Bellissimo Ristorante!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

We never fail to have an excellent meal at Rava with a great, warm welcome. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. If you are used to rubbery calamari that you can't chew, do yourself a favour and order it here and see how it should taste - melt in the mouth.
With a small child we usual go for an early dinner, the atmosphere is always conducive and we are never rushed from our table, it's yours for the night.
We can highly recommend the scampi, cooked in cream on a bed of rice, it's delicious and very filling. Love that you can have the house wine in carafes. The main meal comes with ample chips, mustard mash, cabbage and carrots we never have room for a pudding but I hear they are homemade and to die for.
Definitely our first choice restaurant in Porthcawl.

Helpful?
Thank GolfingMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, South Wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Italian Class in a Small Town”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This restaurant is more friendly and accommodating in it's atmosphere than any we have experienced.
In terms of high class, the food is not just Italian but also well cooked; well presented and also excellent value
In a small town of 20 thousand people, this restaurant stands out for its atmosphere and quality cuisine especially during the past year now that we have made this modest venue our routine stop for our 'date night' each week.

There are numerous good restaurants but the Rava restaurant in Porthcawl stands out for us as the first amongst peers!
Definitely worth a visit .... The second visit will be an easy choice to make ... for you both!

Ciao!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank t0ny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Rava also viewed

Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Ristorante Rava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing