We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chips”

Beales Fish and Chip Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 70 Restaurants in Porthcawl
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Merthyr Tydfil
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best chips”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great food, both chip shop and cafe are very clean, chips are always very good, is a little expensive but well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Loischloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    136
    41
    31
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best chips I have ever had”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Clean place, lovely staff and really great food. We have been using beales for years, especially during the summer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sharron w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed as heck.......”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Fish was good but batter was not golden and the chips were bottom of the barrel.Will not make so much effort to go there again...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ex51geo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best chippie ever”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have visited this chippie several times before, but my experience on Dec 31st 2012 was worth writing about. The fried haddock and chips were simply the best I have eaten anywhere, and I am VERY CRITICAL, being unable to find food of my standard at all in many towns. Large perfectly cooked fish, not too heavily battered with perfectly fried non-greasy chips.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“best in town- no question!”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Forget the other Fish & Chip shop in Well Street - pass it by!

It's worth the extra half a mile to get the best fish & chips you've ever tasted - the fish tastes like fish, no like wet paper and more to the point it is white as fish should be!

When you visit Porthcawl get to Beales and you won't regret it!

Congratulations on the best Fish & chip shop in South Wales!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jackarmy1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beales Fish and Chip Restaurant also viewed

Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Beales Fish and Chip Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing