We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly deserves it's 5stars!”
Review of Olivia House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olivia House
Ranked #1 of 20 Porthcawl B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed for the second year running in Olivia House, Porthcawl and it's just as good as we remembered. The owner makes you feel so welcome and the bedrooms are very luxurious and clean. There would be nowhere else for us if we come to Porthcawl!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Angel room this time and I think I prefer it as it has an enormous bathroom. Altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanlubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 289 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel like old friends. Freshly baked welsh cakes were given with our tea. We stayed in the King's room which has a very grand bed and a view of the sea. Annette the owner is so friendly, helpful and a great character and nothing is too much trouble.The accommodation is plush and interesting with a real feel of luxury, a world away from Ikea!. The breakfast was cooked to perfection and not for the diet conscious. If ever we are in Porthcawl we will definately stay here again..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAURICEC190745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

From arrival to departure this B&B is full of surprises. The decoration, breakfast with the regional twist - you will have to stay to find out? Each room has its own signature including the guest lounge, dining room in addition to the bedrooms themselves. Well worth a visit just to experience the wlecome and bubbly character of your hostess who makes you feel like long lost friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGuillaumeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My friend and I had entered for the Dragon bike ride on 10th June and struggled to find suitable accommodation (we each had 12yr children with us) and Annette (the owner) came up trumps for us.
Very friendly on the phone when I made the booking and she couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating during our stay, including storing the bikes securely in the garden shed and allowing us to traipse through her kitchen in cycling kit very early on the Sunday morning filling water bottles etc.
Fantasic cooked breakfast at silly o clock on Sunday morning which sustained us for a good part of the ride!
The room was very clean and well equipped with, shall we say, quite unusual and interesting décor – far better than the run of the mill most b&b’s opt for!
If we do the Dragon ride again next year (which is quite likely), Annette will get an early booking from us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richdickhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had a lovely 2 night stay (in Kings and Solo rooms), were welcomed by Lyn and later Annette. Vey comfortable - the bed in the Kings room is great (a bit Princess and the Pea!) and the breakfasts freshley cooked, tasty, plentiful and hot. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamshrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the French room which turned out to be much smaller than the photos and that the bath was in the bedroom was different/weird. The decor was very nice though and unique. If you are over 6ft tall be careful not to bump you head. I'm 6ft and was only about 3inches from the ceiling. The host was nice and welcoming but the long wait at breakfast before even being acknowledged was a bit of a let down. Admittedly it was all freshly cooked but the timings could have been better. On the first morning, we were asked what we wanted which was good, but on the second morning we just got given a full breakfast (2 sausages, 2 bacon, black pudding, chopped mushrooms, large mushroom, tomatos, beans, egg and 2 hash browns) this was way too much and pretty much half of it was left on the plate. I think a bit more attention could be given to the guest i.e. ask questions like 'white or brown toast?', and def. ask before presenting such a huge plate of food. In all, a pleasant stay and I'll stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adaajoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The best b&b i know
Annette is a super lady and her brother in law was a very kind person
Nice place with à super service

Andre and Kathy from Belgium

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Andre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
0.2 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
52 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seabank Hotel
Seabank Hotel
#1 of 6 in Porthcawl
267 reviews
5.3 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#5 of 8 in Bridgend
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia House

Address: 44 Esplanade Avenue, Porthcawl CF36 3YU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Porthcawl
Price Range: $124 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Olivia House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Olivia House, Porthcawl's only Boutique Bed and Breakfast. Indulge yourself in the splendor of our magnificent surrounds and awaken to our fantastic, locally sourced full Welsh breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Olivia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia House Porthcawl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing