We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Course”

Royal Porthcawl Golf Club
Ranked #10 of 17 things to do in Porthcawl
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This internationally renowned golf course hosted the 1995 Walker Cup.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely Course”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Manicured greens and faiways with many hidden bunkers. Pro very helpful, food pretty good. Would not recommend the Dormy accomadation. Looked very uninviting. Try the Rose and Crown

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank paul22harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Schanck, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing top 100 golf course!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

What a wonderful experience I had at this amazing natural beauty.
I can see why the 2015 Senior Open Championship is to be played here.
This undoubtedly was the highlight of my Wales golf odyssey . The pro shop staff were very friendly and helpful. The condition of the course was 1st class. Whilst the clubhouse is not huge it is perfect for a cold beer after your walk over this fabulous layout. Don't miss a chance to play there. I will return!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moonahtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best in Wales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

If you can only play one round of golf, this is the choice. A great links course, very challenging and a good test of golf.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank trop i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“2013 Trip to UK Wales Golf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I played this course in September 2013. This is a great choice in Wales. The track is terrific with challenging holes, excellent greens and terrific layout. The pro shop attendant was very friendly. Unfortunately I did not get to play with local Welshmen but did play with a fellow Canadians which were terrific company and made the afternoon very pleasant. Terrific Track! In Wales I played Royal Porthcawl, Tenby Golf Club and Conwy Golf Club of which this was the best of the three. Rick :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RickandDenise9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Wales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Top 100 in world course. Excellent links course. Challenging. The perfect friendly bar/ lunch room as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank othello1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Porthcawl Golf Club also viewed

Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Royal Porthcawl Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing