We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Value!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porthcawl
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marllew Guest House
Ranked #3 of 20 Porthcawl B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Fabulous room, spotlessly clean, comfy bed, big-screen TV, en-suite shower, lovely owner (Lisa), unbelievable value, great location (one min from sea front), great breakfast. My wife and I have stayed in hundreds of hotels around the world, and this was by a country mile the best value we've ever had. I can't believe she can do it for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marllewguesthouse, Owner at Marllew Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you Martin for your lovely review and thank you Angela for solving a problem.Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Marllew Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 170 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

would definetly recommend a stay at marllew guest house,Lisa was a perfect host,very freindly easy to talk to.THE room we had was immaculate,fab design of decorating realy stunning.full english breakfast was great with all the tea and coffee you could drink.ideal location 2 mins from town centre,5 mins from the beach.what more could you ask for,if you are looking to stay for a weekend or longer do not bother looking anywhere else this is the place to stay.this guest house gets 10 out of 10 from me and my wife.would just like to say many thanks to LISA for a great weekend.C+L warren.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marllewguesthouse, Owner at Marllew Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you Carl and Lesley it was a pleasure meeting you both hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just finished my second stay at the Marllew , absolutely love the place. Immaculately clean and the rooms have fabulous taste of interior design..
The beds are the most comfortable I've slept in. I have stayed in many of the hotels and b&b in porthcawl. Some more than double the price of the Marllew and they don't even compare .... Breakfast is lovely .. Lisa and lee are wonderful hosts too and we are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gracelandjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marllewguesthouse, Owner at Marllew Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you Darran and Debs love having you both here thanks for the great review see you both in June and Darran you are The Best Elvis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We chose to stay at the Marllew guest house after viewing similar guest houses, due to its location and reasonable price. We spoke to Lisa on the phone who we found to be very accomodating, friendly and down to earth. On arrival we were not disappointed in our Choice,the room was spacious, comfortable,clean and tastefully decorated. The full english breakfast was most enjoyable and set us up for the day. The Marllew is situated in an ideal location, close to the sea front and amenities. If we are visiting Porthcawl in the future we would certainly stay with Lisa again.

Martin & Karen

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marllewguesthouse, Owner at Marllew Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you Martin and Karen for your review. it was lovely meeting you both and as I said if I am in Great Yarmouth I will be booking into your hotel The Kings Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

my first ever stay at the Marllew guesthouse a few weekends ago and I have to say it was a complete pleasure! The rooms were spotless beautifully kept. The location was perfect, 2 minute walk from the main town / restaurants and beaches! The full english breakfast was defiantly a hit! Lisa the owner was very helpful indeed she give such a warm welcome. I highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone thats planning on a stay at Porthcawl, we are planning on another stay in the next few weeks and will defaintly be returning to Marllew guesthouse.

R.Anne

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marllewguesthouse, Owner at Marllew Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

thank you rose it was lovely to meet you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This B&B was a delight.Reasonably priced I was expecting a standard, basic accommodation, it was far from that ! Attending a wedding at the pavilion we found this place almost by accident, it was really close to the venue and we thought " that will do." Marllew was great, landlady friendly and welcoming, the room spacious and tastefully decorated (with balcony), clean and the bed so comfortable I could have taken it home. I could really not find fault with anything and I would now seriously consider returning just to get away for a break and would advice anyone to do the same!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marllewguesthouse, Owner at Marllew Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

thank you both hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I love staying here. Lisa is completely down to earth. The rooms are absolutely decorated beautifully and very very comfortable. The breakfast is cooked to order unlike some places where have to make do with a dried up piece of bacon or rewarmed sausages. What's more Lee runs a taxi service which is a bonus. I'll be back soon Lisa I promise.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyBowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marllewguesthouse, Owner at Marllew Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

thanks tony always nice to see you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
0.0 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Porthcawl Hotel
The Porthcawl Hotel
#6 of 6 in Porthcawl
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seabank Hotel
Seabank Hotel
#2 of 6 in Porthcawl
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foamedge Guesthouse
Foamedge Guesthouse
#3 of 6 in Porthcawl
62 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Bridgend
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marllew Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marllew Guest House

Address: 39 Esplanade Avenue | Porthcawl, Porthcawl CF36 3YS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Porthcawl
Price Range: $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Marllew Guest House Porthcawl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing