We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't recommend this place enough.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rose and Crown Public House
Ranked #5 of 20 Porthcawl B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't recommend this place enough.”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stayed here lastnight with another couple and can't fault it atall.
Double rooms were £45 per night and excellent value for money. The rooms were modern, comfortable, attractive and had all the extra touches which went above and beyond the expectations of budget accommodation. The bed was comfortable and the shower very powerful and of high quality.
We also had an evening meal here which was delicious and reasonably priced. The quality of the food was great, with plenty of options (including vegetarian) and the staff were nothing but helpful and friendly.
The inn itself is worth going to as you get the experience of being in a traditional welsh pub. There are plenty of old photographs and posters around which creates a really great atmosphere.
It took us about 10 / 15 minutes to walk from here to the fairground but it is a scenic, pleasant walk.
I wholeheartedly recommend this place and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBaker26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    72
    29
    9
    7
See reviews for
48
91
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed here for probably the wettest 3 days of the summer so far! Luckily we didn't need to venture out in the rain in the evenings as the food was excellent and we ate there every night. The mussles in garlic and white wine we had on Sunday were the best I've ever tasted.
All of the staff were really friendly from the cleaner, waitresses and the manager. The rooms were a good size (big en-suite!) and very clean. If you wanted to sleep before 11:30 on Friday and Saturday, bad luck. But we were happy to stay in the friendly bar.
We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC9079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Very well located just 5 mins from the M4 and 5 mins from the centre of Porthcawl. Lovely quiet location. Very warm welcome on arrival and check-in. The room was on the small side but OK for a weekend. Nicely decorated, comfortable bed, and a good bathroom with a decent sized bath and a waterfall shower. The restaurant and bar get very busy at the weekends with people dining, which is good - I suggest you book a table, although if you miss the boat the staff will keep a table for you later when people start to clear. The menu is varied, good food and wines, excellent value for money - we ate in both nights as it seemed pointless to go elsewhere with food this good on the doorstep.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxyLady101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2011

The Rose and Crown has been completely refurbished and is transformed. If you stayed before the change and weren't impressed (we weren't), please re-consider. We stayed over Easter and found the staff friendly and helpful. The room was lovely, in keeping with the old building but with a modern, clean feel and the en-suite was sleek. Breakfast was delicious. Much effort has been put into the important aspects of making your stay comfortable and the inessential has been discarded. This is a popular pub with an outside area and lovely green opposite (enclosed so safe with children), however the drinkers dispersed quite quickly after 11 pm and it was very quiet.

Room Tip: Room 10 is lovely with a window seat
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexKiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Had a very nice stay at the Rose And Crown, was in Porthcawl for one night to see a show at the towns Pavillon Theatre and this was an ideal location. Just a 5 min walk to the Lovely seaside town of Porthcawl (or £3.50 in a taxi). When we arrived we able to book in straight away and was giving a very warm welcome. Our room was excellent, couldent complain about a thing, freeview tv, a massive en-suite bathroom, and a lovely view of Nottage village green. The bar was very welcoming and although we dident have a meal, the food was very good value for money. The staff in the bar are so friendly. will certainly stay here again on our next vist to Porthcawl.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

I have been to the restaurant numerous times. Most times the food is delicious and service good. On my last visit on a Sat 5th March I was very disappointed with attitude of the Manageress when the meal I ordered £14.95 Fish Platter (I believe) which consisted of Salmon, Cod and 3 large shrimps and chips was not up to standard. The waitress had come over very early into the meal and asked if food was ok (and at that time it was as I had only eaten the shrimps and a few chips) as I went on to eat the salmon I found it very dry and over-cooked, also the cod, I explained this to the waitress and she took the plate away.
The assistant Manageress then came to tell us that as I had eaten the 3 shrimps and some chips and that her Manager had said she was to charge me for the shrimps I had eaten which was £8.95 (Starter ) as I had not brought it to the attention of the waitress when she first asked us! So ensure you taste everything on your plate before you say ok !!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed there for a 3 night week-end in January. We were greeted with a very warm welcome which was an excellent start. The bedrooms are spotless and comfortable, the food was superb with a good choice, freshly prepared. There was a good choice of beers and wines and the staff without exception were polite, friendly and professional in their duties. This place would be hard to better. Well done Hannah and your staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skibereencork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
0.9 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
39 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
160 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seabank Hotel
Seabank Hotel
#1 of 6 in Porthcawl
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Foamedge Guesthouse
Foamedge Guesthouse
#3 of 6 in Porthcawl
60 reviews
4.6 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
639 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose and Crown Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose and Crown Public House

Property: Rose and Crown Public House
Address: Heol-y-Capel, Porthcawl CF36 3ST, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Porthcawl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rose and Crown Public House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Public House Porthcawl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing