We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuck in a time warp”

Coney Beach Amusement Park
Ranked #8 of 18 things to do in Porthcawl
Attraction details
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Stuck in a time warp”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

we didn't go into the fair but walked around its looking very tired. It was like stepping back in time and not much has changed since the 1970's. It could do with a little bit of tender loving care. It was nice to remember the good old days mind!! Bought lots of memories back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank smokeyjoe27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    84
    112
    68
    82
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun at the fair”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Something for all the family of all ages plenty of side stalls go karts food outlets enjoyable day out

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1962davejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Porthcawl fair”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Went to Porthcawl today for the first time in ten years..
Was surprised to find the fair was still there..
Its quiet a size, with plenty to do there..
Sadly, on easter weekend it did look dated and in need of maintenance..
It was very cold and windy, but a lick of paint and a clean up would have made it more inviting..
I even saw a parking ticket on the floor in the fair dated 2012 so cleaning was a none starter..
Come on guys, you can do better than that. Ill take my grand kids again because its there..

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Radiomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fairground visit. The rest of Porthcawl i.e COney Beach & Town are great”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Saddly this fairgroung is abismal!. I went throught it in Sept last and i thought it to be down trodden. I know it is a longtime ago when I was child/teenager but in those days the fair ground had the water shute, the figure 8 ride and although they probably would not appeal to the younger generation, the fairground had a real buzz to it. Now it is DEAD!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Coney Beach”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Coney Beach is some 10/12 miles from Bridgend and was very popular in the days of the South wales Mines. During its heyday, the miners spent their 2 week holiday (miners fortnight0 at the nearby caravan parks of trecco bay and Newton, to name but a few.

Helpful?
Thank RoddersJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coney Beach Amusement Park also viewed

Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Coney Beach Amusement Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing