We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we didn't go anywhere else!”

The Pierhouse Hotel - RESTAURANT
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Port Appin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So good we didn't go anywhere else!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were staying up the road in a self catering cottage. Well after one dinner at the Pierhouse..any thought of self catering went out the window as we came back night after night for superb bar food, beautifully cooked, reasonably priced, and with just the best views in Britain. Big mention to lovely staff too..we were never kept waiting long even on Good friday when holiday crowds and hot weather put them under real pressure. A national treasure.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Acton-Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel - RESTAURANT, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Music to my ears! Thank you so much for your fabulous review and I feel honoured that you consider The Pierhouse to be "a National Treasure"!!! Staff are everything in a place like ours and I am delighted you felt we have "lovely staff". Thanks again and we will hope to see you again sometime soon! Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    96
    24
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely lunch visit”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

A quick visit to the restaurant..... Which had a lovely views.

The best Cullen Skink I have every tasted !! And fantastic sea food platter

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbershf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel - RESTAURANT, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us and that the Cullen skink was the best you have ever tasted! We will hope to see you again sometime and in the meantime have a very happy Easter! Best wishes Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turriff, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning food and service”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is the second time we have eaten here and we will be back again. We arrived late evening in Feb so missed out on the views. Welcome was wonderful, it was as if they remembered us form two years previous. We had a quick drink before ordering from the menu, one of those menus you would gladly eat anything on it. We chose the seafood chowder for starter which was a stunning plate of chowder, a very light one, with langoustines topping it, it was exquisite and made for sharing. Main was a sirloin steak, I know how could I have meat when in seafood heaven, but it was the best steak I have ever had and it was Aberdeen Angus which I have never liked...shows how much I know! We shared a creme brulee for pudding which was also excellent. Wine was a lovely Sauvignon Blanc...it was graet too!
Not a cheap meal but worth every penny.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maretta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel - RESTAURANT, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am delighted you enjoyed your dinner so much and that we offer good value for money. Your review has brought a big smile to the face of the Head Chef and we will look forward to your next visit! Best regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“You could not ask for more”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We have now been here three times and each time, are amazed by the quality of the food. On this occasion, my wife had mussels followed by the lobster, both of which she pronounced as being amongst the best she had ever eaten. I had chosen sea bass for my main course but when I saw someone else being given their fish and chips, ordered that instead. This turned out to be a good choice-beautiful fresh fish, light batter and delicious crispy chips. For dessert we had the sticky toffee pudding which again, could hardly be improved upon. All served promptly, without pretension in a dining room with the most fantastic views across to Lismore. Worth a detour. We will definitely be going back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waterlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel - RESTAURANT, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thanks very much for your really nice review and we are extremely pleased you enjoyed your most recent meal at The Pierhouse. The quality of our food and consistency of this quality are hugely important so please keep coming back! Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Total Bliss!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Have stayed and eaten here a while ago and although we have always enjoyed this hotel especially the food,the present owners Nick and Nicky really know how to run this place and make it a destination.
On arrival the first thing you take in is the view. It is stunning! Right on the water,looking over to Lismore Island where you can catch the ferry from the door and enjoy a day's walking or exploring. Or do as we did and kick back ,enjoy the view in the warmth of the Hotel with a dram in hand,by the wood burning fires.Bliss!
A warm welcome awaits and you are quickly shown to your very comfortably furnished room,shown how everything works and offered fresh milk if you wish for your hot drinks. We had a room at the back of the Hotel. Maybe didn't have the view,but it was lovely watching the birds round the feeders placed by the windows.
Dinner approaches and the dining room must have one of the best views anywhere. Being a roundel everyone gets to enjoy the stunning scenery around here.
Decided on the Grande Platter for 2 and WOW! It had everykind of seafood you can think of ,including lobster. Served with homemade bread and mayo,it was perfect! So fresh and tasty and very filling.
Good wine selection and although mainly seafood on offer there is venison and steak too.delicious puds if you have room left including clootie dumpling.
After a very good nights sleep,breakfast was again served in the roundel and if you can tear yourself away from the view,a great breakfast awaits.
For a week-end to recharge the batteries and enjoy some of the best seafood Scotland has to offer,this is the place!
Good offers available in winter too

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel - RESTAURANT, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you so much for your super review. It is extremely nice to be told we are doing something right and we try our hardest to maintain the atmosphere you have so accurately described whatever the time of year or weather we are having at that moment in time. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much with us and we very much hope we will see you again in the not too distant future. Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pierhouse Hotel - RESTAURANT also viewed

Appin, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Pierhouse Hotel - RESTAURANT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing