We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pierhouse Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a 2 week trip around the Highlands and Islands. We loved this place from start to finish, and wouldn't hesitate to return.
The location is stunning, quiet and beautiful. The decor is warm, cosy and tranquil. The owner is very hands on and goes out of her way to be friendly and welcoming.
We had a room at the back of the hotel, so no view as such, but there was a lovely little terrace rock garden to see, with a bird feeder to attract pretty little birds. It is obvious throughout that the owner takes a lot of care, with nice little touches to make it special. The beds were super-comfy and the bathroom was small but beautiful with a powerful 'rain-shower'.
Food in the restaurant was excellent.
We loved it!

Room Tip: Room at the back was fine, but I imagine those with the views at the front would be amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieC226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review which was greatly appreciated by all the team.We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay and very much hope that we will see you again in the not too distant future. With best wishes Nick & Nikki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    107
    34
    15
    6
See reviews for
87
432
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was our first visit to Scotland, we flew to Glasgow airport and drove through the most beautiful scenery. Eventually we reached a long and winding single track road which seemed to go on for ever till at last we turned a corner and saw the pretty little building that is the Pier House, at the end of the road beside the loch. The setting is really beautiful with spectacular views over the loch to the Isle of Lismore and the mountains beyond.
We were warmly welcomed by Caroline and shown where to find things and how things work. She also gave us lots of useful tips about places to visit.
Never having been to Scotland before we had wondered whether we should bring hot water bottles with us. We needn't have worried as the hotel was cosy and warm. The bed was the most comfortable ever, absolute bliss with a big fluffy duvet and wonderful pillows, peace and quiet and the sound of the gentle lap of waves from outside the window. Our room had a loch view and a sitting area so plenty of space.
There was fruit in the room and in the residents' lounge and fresh milk available for making hot drinks, both much appreciated.
The Arran toiletries smelt gorgeous and all was spotlessly clean and well cared for.
From the restaurant we watched the little ferry boat come and go and the scene change as the light and weather moved over the loch from rain to sun and shimmering water. On the wall there are paintings by a local artist.
We stayed in May when the days were really long and late in the evening enjoyed a colourful sunset from the bar tables outside.
The food was all very good, from breakfast to the excellent sea food at dinner as well as the bar meals.
The local smoked salmon went well with the breakfast scrambled eggs but I found it over powering with the mussels at lunch time.
We did some walks from the hotel and took the ferry to Lismore as well as going further afield.
Nick and Nicki have a great team working there from Bianca who took our booking, Geoff the friendly barman/ornitholigist/geologist, John, Romi, Lorraine and more who all made our stay so special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingteapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your really lovely review! It is so nice to be able to make people happy when they come and stay here and if people like you leave having had a really enjoyable time then we have achieved what we need to be achieving. Our core team of staff are the single most valuable asset we have to tackle the challenge of a busy small hotel like ours and I am delighted to be able to say that our staff retention here is excellent with many of the team and certainly all those you listed having been here in excess of 5-6 years. Long may this continue. We will very much look forward to your next stay sometime soon with best wishes and many thanks Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Pierhouse is in a magical location with stunning views across to Lismore. We could have looked at the view all day! The bar was nice and cosy with a residents lounge available too. We enjoyed dinners in the restaurant and bar and both were good (breakfast was excellent). The staff were very friendly and helpful and more than happy to have a chat. Room was a bit basic, but very clean and had what looked like a newly refurbished bathroom, we had a sea view from our room which was an added treat. The pier outside the hotel allows you to get over to Lismore easily and we went over for a long walk which was lovely and peaceful, with a few sheep for company! If you are planning a trip to the west coast this is a great base to explore this beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobby99England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Many thanks for your very nice review which was greatly appreciated. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope that you might venture this way again someday. Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights. The location is beautiful and I could have looked at the view and watched the sunsets forever. The hotel was a little disappointing, the rooms were run down and the bed was the hardest I have ever (not) slept on! The bathroom looked as though it had recently been refurbished and although very small was very nice.We found it to be quite noisy, people seemed to be up from 6.30am and you heard all the doors slamming and toilets flushing, so there is no sound proofing.

The staff behind the bar are very friendly and accomodating. The bar food was very average, I was really looking forward to the mussels but most of them were closed and so unedible. The restaurant food was much better and we had beautiful langoustines and lobster.

If I was up this way again, I would possibly pop into the restaurant for dinner but I couldn't sleep on that bed again so I wouldn't stay the night!

Room Tip: We had a room without a view as we spent all our time outside looking at the view. I wouldn't sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fairmont123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and feedback. I am very disappointed to read that you were not entirely happy with various elements of your stay and that you found the bed hard. We do regularly check all our beds for comfort and I am sorry that your bed was not to your liking.
I have issue with your comment about the rooms being run down as they have all been recently rennovated, repainted annually and this contrasts sharply with the other reviews about the rooms on this site. I am however sorry that you were disturbed by banging doors in the early hours which is most regrettable and very rare. Since the hotel accommodation building was indeed built as a hotel in 1992, the structure is of concrete on all levels to aid insulation so it is highly unusual to have a complaint about this aspect of the hotel.
Regarding your mussels, I apologise if they were not up to our usual standard but had you mentioned this to a member of staff at the time we would have immediately replaced them with a fresh bowl. Once again I am sorry if you have not entirely enjoyed your stay but I do hope you will come again sometime. Regards Nicholas Horne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I consider this to be the perfect hotel in the perfect location - the feeling of peace was instant. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Lorraine who once we had signed in took us on a tour of the hotel and its facilities before showing us to our room. The room was spacious with an amazing view over to Lismore, plus we could watch the ferry run its hourly schedule back and forth to the island. The eating area was divided into two areas, one for passing trade and the other for residents, similarly with the lounges. The food, although a little pricey, was magnificent, fresh and well presented. Breakfast too, was of a very high standard, particularly the poached eggs(I always judge a breakfast on the ability to poach an egg correctly). This is a must for anyone who wishes time to switch off, relax and charge the batteries. Pierhouse, have friendly staff who also have good local knowledge of things to do and places to visit. Our visit was further enhanced by the weather - 21C.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for such a wonderful accolade for which we are hugely grateful. It is always really nice to receive such compliments which are greatly appreciated by all the team. We very much hope you will come and visit us again sometime soon! Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A beautiful location on the beach looking out across Loch Linnhe to mountains on the other side.
Perhaps more accurately described as a restaurant with rooms, but what a restaurant! Possibly the best restaurant meal I’ve had in ten years. Fabulously fresh seafood, the fishermen literally unload at the quay outside the front door. Superb breakfast as well.
Our room might fairly be described as, “small but perfectly formed”. Everything was lovingly chosen and the overall effect was the guest room in a friend’s house, but even with a queen bed it was slightly restricted; as was the bathroom and shower cubicle.
Overall we felt we had value for money and wouldn’t hesitate to make a detour to stay here again if passing this way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pirate859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your really nice review. I am delighted to read your great comments and am very pleased you feel we offer value for money which at the end of the day is absolutely crucial for us. We will hope to see you again someday in the not too distant future. Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here at the last minute on the way back from the Isle of Skye having eaten here on the way up. The setting is really beautiful and we cannot over-emphasise this. The hotel is very clean and everything is thought out sensitively. The breakfast was really special with local smoked salmon and freshly baked croissants. Thanks for having us!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrARG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Many thanks for your very nice review and I am extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is always very useful to receive feedback so many thanks for your comments. We will hope to see you again on your next visit to Skye! kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Appin
0.3 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
506 reviews
1.4 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
10.2 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
139 reviews
10.6 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
870 reviews
11.4 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierhouse Hotel

Property: The Pierhouse Hotel
Address: Port Appin PA38 4DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Port Appin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pierhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views to the islands of Lismore and Mull, our intimate twelve bedroom hotel, bar and renowned seafood restaurant has won a fast-growing reputation as one of Argyll's most idyllic and romantic destinations. We pride ourselves on the freshness & quality of our seafood and local meats, sourcing most of our food locally. We strive to offer our guests something different - a personal and relaxed family atmosphere, stunning location and deliciously fresh food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Pierhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierhouse Hotel Seafood
The Pierhouse Hotel Port Appin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing