We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is now our only retreat, we have never found better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pierhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 31, 2011

I can't think of anywhere we would rather go for a well earned break from our busy life farming in southern England. The views are only surpassed by the relaxing atmosphere and fabulous dining. This hotel has just the right balance of location and hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wellground_Alpacas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 7, 2011

Many thanks for your wonderful review which means a huge amount to us. We are delighted you enjoy coming to stay with us and will endeavour to ensure that the quality of your experience here at The Pierhouse never wavers. We look forward to your next 'escape' whenever it may be...
Kind regards Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 643 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2011

Having read a number of Reviews about the Pierhouse Hotel from last year we were a little reluctant to book as they had very mixed comments. However our doubts were removed almost immediately after our arrival and stay. We had driven over 80 miles through snow and some horrendous road conditions and wondered at times should we turn back for home. Thank goodness we didn't, we arrived between breakfast and lunch time wanting but not expecting any needed refreshments. Within minutes Staff had a table covered with hot drinks etc for us. We had booked 3 rooms 2 had spectacular views and all were spotlessly clean and very cosy. The cost of staying in this Hotel is not by any means the cheapest but taking into consideration the excellent location with views to die for and to have good attentive Staff which the Pierhouse definately do have from a small community, the cost is understandable.
Their main food speciality is undoubtably fresh and well presented sea-food but also very important a good choice of food for others with different tastes, children etc.

In our opinion if the standards are maintained the Pierhouse will continue having it's Guests return time after time as we will.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barra5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 17, 2011

Many thanks for the review you have posted and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. We do everything possible to ensure the standards are maintained and I am confident that the next time you return they will be the same as they have been this time. We are really pleased you enjoyed your seafood and I have passed your comments on to the Chef. Once again many thanks and we will hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We have just spent the weekend at the Pierhouse and had a wonderful relaxing time. The staff were helpful, attentive but without being intrusive. I wish I had all their names but the head waiter (I think that's his position) was the best I have met in a long time. The room was warm and inviting with a lovely view across the water to Lismore and the newly refurbished en suite bathroom was all you could ask - the shower was excellent especially for someone tall like me who sometimes struggles in hotel showers.

Then there's the food - the seafood platter with the lobster was just amazing and the roe deer venison the night before was perfect.

I can't say enough good things about this hotel but highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickytraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 17, 2011

Thank you very much for your very nice review which you have recently posted. It is always good to know that guests appreciate the efforts of the staff and I have photocopied your review and given it to Romi, our Restaurant Supervisor to read. I do hope we will see you back here again soon and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Just back from 2 nights at the Peirhouse. We booked it because we wanted somewhere just to chill out and it is perfect for this. The food was fantastic, the Grand Seafood Platter is superb and worth every penny. The bar is cosy and really reasonably priced. Staff get the level of friendliness absolutely right. Overall perfect for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmck225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 1, 2011

Thank you very much for your really nice review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Your review has been circulated to all the staff and we will hope to see you again in the not too distant future! Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to write a review. Kind regards. Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Having had a couple of months of our social life totally wiped out by the winter weather, we decided to have an extended weekend break on Scotland's west coast, and settled on Port Appin and the Pierhouse Hotel. And boy were we glad we did!

We had the most warm and friendly greeting upon our arrival, an attitude which continued throughout the weekend from all of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone here and our needs were more than adequately catered for from the most mundane cup of tea and a scone (which by the way are to die for) to the excellent food served both at breakfast and dinner, and which is complimented by the most stunning views of Loch Linnhe.

The food is concentrated mainly on seafood, with some meat dishes on the menu, which is plucked fresh from the sea and brought to life by a chef who certainly knows his way round a kitchen. The flavours of the sea are brought to life with generous portions and without the fussiness that can be found in a lot of places; sauces are simple and complimentary to the food without being so overpowering that one does not taste the seafood. One can only rate the food 10/10.

The hotel itself is warm and inviting, spotlessly clean, and with warm friendly staff who treat even the first time guest as an old friend, unfortuantely this is so rare these days. We did not have a room with a view of the Loch, but this in no way spoilt our enjoyment of this fabulous little gem tucked away in a delightful corner of Scotland.

The location is quite, quite stunning with views of Lismore and the Morvern Peninsula. I would heartily recommend renting bikes from the hotel and taking a trip across to Lismore on the passenger ferry from the pier; although we did this and got soaked by a pretty heavy bout of rain, not that it spoilt our weekend in any way. I would recommend this delightful spot to anyone (young or older) wanting a weekend away, whether it be for romantic reasons or simply to get away from it all and relax.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlfEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 21, 2011

Many thanks for your extremely nice review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. As a hotelier the greatest challenge is the selection and then training of staff and it is very much appreciated when one reads reports such as yours. We are most fortunate to have a very high staff retention level and it is my greatest intention to keep it this way .
Our Head Chef is certainly extremely talented and I am really pleased you enjoyed your culinary experience here. Derek has an excellent team in the kitchen of very competent, happy chefs which makes a huge difference to overall staff morale and thereby the atmosphere throughout the establishment. Many people have complimented how this single aspect is really noticeable as a guest.
We very much hope you will come back again soon and thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review which has been appreciated by all the staff. Kind regards Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

This was the second hotel in a week's tour of the west of Scotland, and what a pleasure it was.
 
It is at the end of a lonely road, but attracts a large number of guests in the summer time, including those who arrive by boat and moor outside.

The rooms are pleasant, and slightly away from the main bar and restaurant. There is wireless broadband in the residential section, although this stopped working at midnight because the hotel seemed to have forgot to pay its BT Business Broadband bill...!

The hotel organised bikes for us to take on the ferry to the nearby island of Lismore, and we had a pleasant time on the terrace watching the sun go down over the spectacular bay.
The hotel reserve you a place at their restaurant - there are few other choices in Port Appin. The food was excellent, and well served in the big dining room, also with views of the island and bay. It is not cheap at all, but all four of us had lovely meals. Breakfast the next day was also lovely.
 
I would recommend this hotel highly for at least one night's stay. Staying longer would require some commitment to the outdoors pursuits offered in western Scotland. 

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManorRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 25, 2010

Thanks very much for the very nice nice review you have written and I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay! Just to let you know that I can assure you we have paid our BT Broadband bill and I do not understand why it should go off at midnight as it is on 24/7 and is available in the bedrooms as well. Hopefully on your next visit we can ensure you are set up ok in the comfort of your bedroom for use any time of the day! Thanks again and kind regards Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

I have stayed in many hotels for both business and pleasure, for me The Pierhouse rates amongst the best in it's class. Our party was ten in number and all are discerning guests. We all agreed the management and staff were both professional and friendly. The restaurant food was varied and very good (maybe a little too much salad with me with smoked salmon, but I can live with that). The rooms and bathrooms are well-decorated, and both clean and comfortabe.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellis_barn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 25, 2010

Many thanks for this review and I am really pleased your group all had a good time! Come and see us again sometime and I am sure we can give you a special rate for a return visit. Thanks again. Kind regards Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Appin
0.3 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
538 reviews
1.4 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
12.6 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
912 reviews
10.2 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
449 reviews
10 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierhouse Hotel

Address: Port Appin PA38 4DE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Port Appin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Price Range: $147 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pierhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views to the islands of Lismore and Mull, our intimate twelve bedroom hotel, bar and renowned seafood restaurant has won a fast-growing reputation as one of Argyll's most idyllic and romantic destinations. We pride ourselves on the freshness & quality of our seafood and local meats, sourcing most of our food locally. We strive to offer our guests something different - a personal and relaxed family atmosphere, stunning location and deliciously fresh food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pierhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierhouse Hotel Seafood
The Pierhouse Hotel Port Appin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing