We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious and comfortable, located in an idyllic...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bothan Darach

Bothan Darach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bothan Darach
Bothan Darach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Bothan Darach
Bothan Darach
Downstairs sitting room
Dining area
Kitchen
Upstairs sitting room
Downstairs double (en suite)
Upstairs double (en suite)
Twin (1)
Twin (2)
Rear view of Bothan Darch
Bothan Darach in winter
Winter view taken from upstairs sitting room
Castle Stalker
View of Gylen Castle on Isle of Kerrera
Loch Creran
Bothan Darach in December
Rear garden
Rear decking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Port Appin, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JDK111
Paisley
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Spacious and comfortable, located in an idyllic village setting.”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Port Appin is one of those places where people say "where?". It is off the beaten track and doesn't get much through traffic, but is surrounded by beautiful land and seascapes. There are few properties that directly face the sea and Bothan Darach isn't one of them, however it does have a large upstairs lounge that gives enough of a vista to make it worthwhile. The cottage is a short walk from the village centre with 2 hotels, a grocery and a craft shop, The Lismore ferry is worthwhile taking whether for a walk or with hired bicycles.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The close location to the village, but still quiet
Liked least: Lack of direct sea view
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 12, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The 2 living rooms allowed everyone a bit of space
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jillyflow...
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage, beautiful views, welcoming hosts.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Beautifully quiet cottage near the sea lock by other properties. Fantastic views. Lots of nice local walks. Handy local store and lovely craft shop. Glencoe within half an hour of the property. Oban about 40 minutes away.

Dennis was very welcoming and left us a lovely hamper to get us started.

We walked the hidden valley in Glencoe, a walk recommended by Dennis which was beautiful and well worth the effort, bit of a drop in places but as long as the children don't rush or run around in this part it's fine. We also did a waterfall walk in Fort William which was also beautiful and well worth it. Would also recommend the Seafari boat trips - very knowledgeable guide and saw lots of wildlife - sea eagle, deer, stag, seals, porpoises, goats.

Midges weren't too bad and we found tea tree oil eased the itching of any bites.

We had a great break away, very nice and relaxing and the weather didn't stop us getting out and about.

The cottage is perfect for seeing this part of Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thaohien
Spring, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic accommodations!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We had the most wonderful stay at the Bothan Darach! I cannot say enough about it, but I will try.

We stayed here on our 2nd week in Scotland.
Our group consisted of 6 adults and 5 small children (all <4 yrs old)!
My husband, myself, and our two boys
My brother-in-law and his wife and 3 kids (from USA)
My parents-in-law (from USA)

The location was really nice. Remote, but close to Port Appin (10 minute walk), Oban (30 minutes drive), and Glencoe (30 minute drive), Inverness (2 hours), Kilmartin (1.5 hours).

4 beautifully appointed and remarkably comfortable bedrooms (1 big room upstairs with bathroom and tub).
2 more bathrooms downstairs (1 attached to a dbl room and 1 shared between a double room and 2 singles room).
Beautiful and spacious kitchen with very nice dishes, appliances, and kitchen gadgets (my dream kitchen). The best equipped rental kitchen I have ever seen.
2 living spaces (upstairs has a fantastic view).

Dennis and his wife met us at the location to give us the keys, give us some instructions, and show us around. They were so incredibly nice. It felt like visiting a friend or family's home. They provided a huge welcome basket filled with Scottish yummies - shortbread cookies, oat crackers, jam, oatmeal, wine, and milk (including soy milk for our baby!).

Dennis' wife provided each of the kids a very nice tote bag FULL of children's books and a toothbrush. The kids loved the thoughtful gift.

Dennis was available via email or phone for anything we needed. Wifi at the location was fast and reliable.

The house was filled with books, board games, DVDs, etc to entertain everyone in case we just wanted to stay in and relax (or the weather was stormy as it was during our stay).

There was an incredible amount of space for the 11 of us! We never felt like we were crowded at all. Plenty of hot water and water pressure.

Really enjoyable time and really enjoyed the Scottish hospitality! Dreaming about coming back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen and 2nd living space upstairs
Liked least: None!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mer87
Morrisville, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and spacious, room for the whole family to relax!”
Reviewed July 27, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Bothan Darach. We travelled with my parents, my husband and myself and our two kids (12 and 14). I loved the fact that there were two living rooms, which allowed us to enjoy our time together without feeling like we were on top of each other all the time. The kitchen was large and easy to work in. The beds were very comfortable. There were attractions within walking distance, a ferry to Lismore for bicycling or hiking, and lots to see within an hour's drive. Hosts Dennis and Katie were very friendly when we saw them at check-in and upon leaving, and made us feel quite comfortable. We would certainly stay here again!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Reviewed June 13, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glendevon, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 20, 2011 for a stay in July 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing