We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality and service, but very noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Antico Borgo Agriturismo B&B
Ranked #1 of 9 Calatabiano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ballerup, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good quality and service, but very noisy”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights at Antico Borgo in Calatabiano. The room was comfortable and clean, and the staff was friendly and service minded. However, it was very noisy due to the A18 motorway being only 200 meters away. Don't believe that the lovely scenery in photos from this place truely represents the environment, the traffic noise is quite intrusive! We recommend using earplugs to ensure a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    45
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
48
87
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is clearly one of the best places to go in the area between Catania and Taormina. The structure is beautiful, is built in a old villa. God value for money, high quality, good position and
a fantastic restaurant (see below for details).

Every room is different, very elegant and with typical furniture "Sicilian Style". The staff is incredibly friendly and kind. Francesca and Giusy made us find every kind of unexpected surprises: the rooms have soap created from plants and fruits from the farm; you will find at breakfast home made jam and Sicilian home made cakes and cookies; we noticed very late that the room had air conditioning, but we never needed to use it, even if outside was ver hot; I got for free a toothbrush kit when I said I forgot mine.

The landscape is beautiful and the sight of the Etna in the morning is amazing. The (huge) garden will confuse you with its different scents; when walking out of the room to go and get breakfast, jasmine was prevailing, but you had more in different corners.

The position is good, but you will need a car. There is a train station very close, you can try to make it with public transport, but I would see it tough. The highway is very close, this can be heard also from some rooms, but was not a problem for us. All the time we appreciated the silence and order of the facility.

Last but not least, the restaurant has the quality of a Michelin Star restaurant, with the price of a "Trattoria". The executive chef Vincenzo Di Prima is exceeding every expectation. Does not matter if you have a snack or a complex dish, meat or seafood, you will have something "di celestiale bontá" (if you like the Commissioner Montalbano, you'll know what I refer to). Don't miss the "antipasti" and let the rest to the creativity of Mr. Vincenzo and Mrs. Anna, you won't be disappointed.

Overall a great place to go, with friends, family or for a romantic weekend. I would advice you to entertain some conversation with the staff, to discover the beauty of the Sicilian people.

Room Tip: We were in the "Frappato" room, ground floor and near the trees, very silent, but a bit mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValerioG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Many other reviewers have already provided in depth reviews, so I will just touch upon a few. First, assuming you have a car, this is a great place to stay north of Catania (don't stay there…) which is convenient to Taormina, Etna, and other sights and towns in the area. There is a train station across the road, but I don't know how difficult to travel in this part of Sicily by train. Some commented on the highway noise. You can hear traffic noise if you listen for it, but it is not otherwise noticeable.

The hosts are great. Francesca and her mother Giusy were very warm and helpful. This place feels more like a small hotel than a B&B (large rooms and bathrooms, hotel-like privacy). The grounds are beautiful, but we didn't get a chance to explore extensively. With more time one can roam the property and take advantage of the tennis court.

The food is great. They have full-course (antipasti, primi, second, dessert, wine) prix fixed meals at lunch and dinner at a very reasonable price (Euro 25 during our stay), which was the bargain of our three weeks in Italy. We had a lunch and a dinner, and the food was excellent, on par with the best meals we had in Italy. The restaurant is in the old winery in the center of the hotel.

We booked directly through their website, and we were able to get a better rate.

Since it may be difficult to find the address by searching for the address, here are the GPS coordinates for the front entry gate: 37.814168, 15.224266 (or +37° 48' 51.00", +15° 13' 27.36").

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CM477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Everything about this property is totally wonderful from the welcome from Staff to the accommodation itself and the restaurant is just fantastic. The room was delightful, like staying in a castle but with all the mod cons. We stayed 2 nights and the first night went to the restaurant not knowing what to expect and were totally blown away. The Chef came out to welcome us and introduce himself. He asked if we liked seafood (which we did) and explained that was what was on the menu that night. What followed was basically a degustation menu of everything imaginable from the sea all presented beautifully and we kept wondering when the dishes would stop coming. The second night was also excellent but was totally meat based and not quite to the standard of the first night but still excellent. The location is a 10-12 minute walk from the local piazza and is a little out of it if you don't have your own vehicle but we would definitely stay there again. We actually stayed in Sept 2011 so apologies for the daly in posting the review.

Room Tip: I am sure they would all be very good. We had a smaller one and were very satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is by far the best place to stay in and around Giardini Naxos and Taormina. Everything was perfect - from service to food to views (of Etna) and beautiful, light, airy, comfortable rooms. The gardens are beautiful as is the restaurant. Our stay was truly special and we loved every minute of it. A perfect place to relax and to access the bustle of Taormina/Naxos from. Lovely, lovely mother and daughter running it too who made our family stay very comfortable.

Room Tip: all rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliveoil_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We were on a group tour in Sicily and did not stay here this time - just had dinner.

Chef Russo and his staff provide an extensive number of courses of tasty Sicilian specialties which would each hold its own against 5-star restaurants. The villa provides a restful panorama of the area and the delicious appetizers served on the porch anticipate the culinary delights to come inside.

If you are going to stay here, be sure to coordinate your stay with his cooking dates!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Spent two nights here in June 2012. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Staff could not have been more welcoming and friendly. Francesca and her mother were delightful and their hospitality really enhanced our stay. We had lots of advice about the local area/where to eat etc. Unfortunately the restaurant is no longer open for guests and only seems to cater for private party bookings. Breakfasts were leisurely and included local produce. The only downside was that we were aware of noise from the road nearby, but maybe we were unlucky with the location of our room. However, the warmth and charm of the people here and indeed throughout our stay in Sicily, made this a truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philippa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calatabiano
1.5 mi away
Castello di San Marco Charming Hotel & SPA
4.6 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#17 of 87 in Taormina
825 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#1 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
La Terra dei Sogni
La Terra dei Sogni
#1 of 2 in Fiumefreddo di Sicilia
464 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,812 reviews
1.0 mi away
Agriturismo Serra San Biagio
Agriturismo Serra San Biagio
#1 of 9 in Fiumefreddo di Sicilia
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Borgo Agriturismo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Borgo Agriturismo B&B

Property: Antico Borgo Agriturismo B&B
Address: Via Calatabiano Pasteria 8, 95011 Calatabiano, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Calatabiano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Calatabiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antico Borgo Agriturismo B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old renovated farmhouse located between Taormina, mount Etna and Giardini Naxos beach, 5 minutes by car from the beach, immersed in big lemon and orange garden under the complete view of Etna. Free WI-FI in all the structure and rooms, free indoor parking,Jogging path in the garden. The farmhouse organizes daily trips to Etna with departure from the farm. Buffet breakfast with fresh and genuine produce (honey, marmalades, cakes and croissant home made, fresh fruit and orange juice of the garden, coffe cappuccino etc). Typical traditional restaurant upon reservation. Very spacious rooms feature air conditioning & heating, minibar, coffee/tea boilers, handmade toiletries, sleepers, large windows open onto sea, Etna and lemon garden views, free wifi in all rooms and entire structure. It also has family rooms and apartment with kitchen for families and groups. Every day cleaning service in all the rooms. Wedding hall, banquet parties and events. Excursions on Etna with private guide and departure from the structure. Ideal location to visit Etna (35km), just 20 minutes drive from Taormina, 15 km from "Gole dell'Alcantara", ideal to visit Acireale, Aci Trezza and Catania, just 5 minutes from Giardini Naxos San Marco beach., Antico Borgo farmhouse is completely immersed in the garden, outside the village of Calatabiano, 300 mt away from railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Antico Borgo Agriturismo B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Borgo Agriturismo B&B Sicily/Calatabiano, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing