We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castello di San Marco Charming Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Naxos Beach Parco(Giardini Naxos)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Atahotel Naxos Beach(Giardini Naxos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Archegeta(Giardini Naxos)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Assinos Palace Hotel(Giardini Naxos)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Baia degli Dei(Giardini Naxos)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Hotel Caesar Palace(Giardini Naxos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Linda(Giardini Naxos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Giardini Naxos(Giardini Naxos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (758)
Filter reviews
758 results
Traveler rating
587
121
23
11
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
587
121
23
11
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachjunior suiteswimming poolwine barhotel guestscastello di san marcobeautiful groundsmain buildinggreat poolan oasisfood was amazingsecond to noneexcellent staffwedding partiesbottle of proseccofour daysgolf buggy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 758 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

All in all an excellent hotel. A very peaceful place, perfect to slow down and relax.
The whole area has a very unique character and the castles garden is asking to spend time strolling around under the trees. The food has been delicous at breakfast as well as for dinner. Finally there are many nice places on earth - but only few are taken care of such excellent staff like in the castello. Very professional and helpful at any time, be it the receptionist, cleaner and especially the service in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowTravel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Second time we have stayed here and as always it is a haven of tranquility. Not far from Taormina ( but you do need a car ) but we enjoyed to stay at the hotel and relax. What a shame though the Spa was not open - we had such a wonderful experience last time we visited ( lovely English therapist ) that we were hoping to enjoy again this, but for the rest we enjoyed !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I was a guest of the hotel for one night during my wedding on 01/19/2013.
Structure exalted level, amazing service and quality of food of very high level.
The smiling staff and worthy of a 5 star hotel luxury.
Thank you very much to the banqueting manager, Mr. Alfino Cullurà, for their valuable advice and superb professionalism.
It is definitely not a cheap hotel but I was happy to pay for a service that hardly easy to find in hotels today.
Well done, you have made ​​the most important day of my life unique and unforgettable.

George & Tina

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastellodiSanMarco, Direttore at Castello di San Marco Charming Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Madam,

we would like to thank you for the review.
We are very happy that you had experiaced a memorable stay at Castello.
Hope to guest you again.

Best Regards and best wishes.
Daniele Murabito
Generam Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel claims to be a 'charming hotel' , I'm not quite sure how they are able to advertise as this..we found the whole experience a miserable one. Where to start...No vehicular access within the grounds, which is fine but to offer NO help with baggage from car park (in a separate location to hotel) was unacceptable. Not all our bags had wheels so it meant 2 trips. Before being allowed to check in, we were taken on a tour of the grounds, with bags in tow! Check in was inefficient and our 'suite' was small, dingy with poor lighting and cluttered - and had only 1 power point. I had to plug an iron into a bathroom socket and leave the external door open to have any natural daylight to iron a dress. The breakfast consisted of low quality sweet juice drinks, poor quality bread, proscuitto and cheese. Even the coffee was average! The staff hid inside and so attracting attention was impossible. The pool closed at 5.30pm even though it was warm and sunny. We were there for 3 nights celebrating a very special occasion, for which they gave us a bottle of Prosecco. We left it in the ice bucket - only for it to be taken away before we could drink it! The grounds near the pool are pretty however dont wander further down the path..it resembles a rubbish tip with discarded pieces of metal, plastic and general rubbish. For such a 'charming' named hotel, it was a truly disappointing hotel and our special stay was spoiled. Head to Antico Borgo a couple of miles away for a totally opposite experience.

Room Tip: dont bother booking this hotel!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank oliveoil_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastellodiSanMarco, Proprietario at Castello di San Marco Charming Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Sir,
We are very sorry for the negative judgment you have expressed and even if we consider it a bit severe, we will reply trying to make you understand our side and give travelers a better way to judge us.
We believe that a hotel that befitting your description have no chance to exist anymore on the market and sincerely I believe is not the case of Castello San Marco for the reasons I will describe here follow:
We are very self-critical and read the feedback with due impartiality, unfortunately in his case we found more than one inconsistencies.
In some occasions we have found in previous reports valuable comments that have helped to improve our services.
This is our natural way to manage our hotel to give all guests the expected experience.
We don’t use to miss any requests that could give us the unmissable occasion to make customers satisfied.
The travelers reviews are precious and dangerous because in some case report an excessive or unreal one side description of events.
When we find useful reports we immediatly reply with facts and actions, for example following your report we took note of the location of your power outlets in the room and have already started to place them in the most convenient manner.
as regards the other elements you have described, objectively do not think that it is useful advice to represent our service and to make travellers understand our way to welcome and offer a charming experience.
We never used to make a hotel property tour (38.000 sqm) with guests carrying suitcase. Moreover we have a valet service that is available for most of the day.
In all the hotels some rooms don't meet the guests satisfaction of the guests, this is a typical situation, as is normal in this case the hotel can offer guests alternatives.
We don’t remember that you have asked us to consider another solution, your dissatisfaction has been manifested only through tripadvisor few months later. this did not allow us to be able to remedy in an immediate way, we always do that with great pleasure without any exception.
A separate chapter deserves replication about the bottle of champagne we have offered upon arrival.
You accuses us of having stolen it but it was just moved in the refrigerator during your dining to make find it well refrigerate instead of a warm bottle inside a melted ice basket.
Your nick name protect you by a privacy violation, so we would like to describe what happened few minute later:
We remember that you came to the reception in a state definatly not very sober and screaming in an incomprehensible and rude manner accused us of stealing the champagne.
This behavior is not covered by code elegance of our hotel, but we have no rights and we cannot act directly on the rationality of our guests.
The same evening we received a call from the manager of the restaurant where you have been for dinner because you left the restaurant forgot to pay the bill !!!
You doesn’t know that we had to apologize on your behalf and ensure that the next day you will go there to pay the bill.
This latest episode opens a different view.
Your stay at the hotel was an experience for us and we do not want to add more.
We would have expected to receive your excuses for having damaged our reputation with colleagues and with the readers of tripadvisor.
We would like to repeat once again that we are always very self-critical, but on this occasion we found very few useful items to our improvement.
Thank you anyway for your contribution.

Best Regards
Daniele Murabito
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the Castello for two weeks and had a great break. The hotel staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful, as were the owner and his family - one day he made sure that the kitchen staff prepared some of the prickly pears that grow around the gardens specially for our breakfast, a very nice touch. The reception staff were great and looked after us when we had an issue with our noisy neighbours, moving us to another room for a night. The room we were in was very large, with a separate living area and a large bathroom and all the trimmings you'd expect (satellite TV, safety box etc.). As others say, the pool is lovely and the beach only a few minutes walk away. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel (no room after large Sicilian lunches) but the breakfasts were very good and they rustled up some great omelettes for my pregnant wife.
Hard to fault the hotel, it's a great place to relax. You do need a car to get about but once behind the wheel Taormina is only 10 minutes (and a lot of hair-pin bends) away and Catania just 30 minutes (airport 40 minutes). We'd happily return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w_herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastellodiSanMarco, Direttore at Castello di San Marco Charming Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your kind review of apreciations.
Hope you will visit us during next season.
We are planning to offer a mini van transfer to Taormina several time per day, probably you will find this service available next time.

Best wishes.
Daniele Murabito & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews