We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Spa Experiance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bleiche Resort & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Burg (Spreewald)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bleiche Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Burg (Spreewald)
Toronto
Level Contributor
237 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Amazing Spa Experiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This would be described as a trip to old world charm. The Hotel does not look as large as it is due to the building design and landscaping. Upon arrival we checked in and had the car parked by the valet. We were lucky enough to have our room upgraded to a suite which included an in-room sauna. The room was quite large and the sauna located in the bathroom also had windows facing into the living area. The bathroom also had the usual heated floors along with a large tub in the center of the room along with a separate toilet area and shower. The only complaint from the room was the noise of the cricket all night long which was somewhere in the bathroom. The hotel seems to have alot of these inside the property (which adds to the charm) but we were not so happy to listen to it all night long. The hotel would be best utilized as a getaway or relaxing vacation, those who didn't use the facilities were at a loss. The spa area is amazing, with a multitude of rooms and things to do. The main area centers around the indoor pool which faces out to the lawn and outdoor pool. Off of this are many quiet areas, sitting areas, whirlpool area and then the saunas. There are two larger saunas, showers, ice room, outdoor foot baths and other things. They have towels everywhere as well as pitchers of water. You are never far from needing anything. The atmosphere is that of a quiet relaxing environment. Most people are there as couples or small families with rather young children. I don't think it would be all that interesting for families with teen aged kids but I did see a few. We did partake in a salt and honey private sauna which was rather nice and relaxing, instead of a usual crowd of people during the aufgus. We enjoyed the restaurant, even they have your name at the tables for dinner. Though we were not quite sure on how it worked as it seemed like buffet but we had to order. We were so hungry by this point that we had started on the buffet before our starter arrived. After that, everything was fine and they returned later with a new starter after we ate the 2nd start plates from the buffet. The food was all quite good and prepared as a good size. The breakfast was similar style, which was buffet but also able to order warm prepared plates as well. The staff were friendly and polite, even though at some point where some explanation would have been in order, they did not provide it and we pretty much had to guess what we were to do. Again the staff were great and make you feel welcome and as a valued guest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    43
    49
    39
    16
See reviews for
39
155
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Wonderful relaxation in spa & gym - high quality food from breakfast to diner (standard rates include both).
Everywhere you feel the influence of the owners, from chinaware and staff dresses to antiques, architecture and activities.
Value for money is great if you use the spa - older kids may prefer to go next door to Spreewaldtherme for bigger slides and (possibly noisier) pools.
We plan to return with friends already this year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderer_new
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

We spent one night at Zur Bleiche because we needed a hotel near the Polish border and also wanted to see the Spreewald. Because there are many towns named Burg, several of them located in the same general vicinity of Germany, our navigation device directed us to the wrong place. However, upon calling the hotel, our error was quickly discovered and the staff assisted us in determining the correct location. When we finally arrived at the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised by having been upgraded to a suite. While our car was valet parked, and prior to being shown to our room, we were given a comprehensive tour of the extensive facilities and our dinner reservation was verified. Although they had booked the incorrect restaurant, the error was quickly rectified (see separate review of 17fuffzig). The suite was enormous and came equipped with a dining area, large sitting area, walk-in closet, and huge bathroom with heated floors. Additionally, we were provided with large bottles of mineral water and fresh fruit. Our only quibbles were the lack of personal toiletries and the miniscule bath towels, both of which were surprising in a place that markets itself as a spa. I can fully understand other reviewer complaints about the lack of air conditioning, primarily given that there is an obvious mosquito problem; we found them in our room and the restaurant in sub-zero January weather. However, the comment about not accepting credit cards is inaccurate; we paid with visa. The continental breakfast buffet was ample and we were also offered our choice of hot dishes. We did not stay long enough to take advantage of the spa facilities, so cannot speak to those. Although the staff, food, and room were all very nice, the price was still very steep given the hotel's location.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frequent_Flier07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

This hotel is remotely located from Berlin (about 1.5 hrs away) and is beautifully decorated and furnished. The staff is helpful and friendly as far as standard requests are concerned.

Overall, the rooms are overpriced for what they offer (or lack) in comfort. While it does hold itself out to be a top-notch hotel, the hotel lacks two features standard for any international hotel: air-conditioning and acceptance of credit cards. The hotel makes no effort to inform guests ahead of time that credit cards are not accepted.

The hotel has several "quiet-to-a-whisper" restaurants - all served by one central kitchen. This, perhaps, is the reason why the wait between courses had been between 45-60 minutes, again without any heads up from staff. While good, the restaurants are severely overpriced for what they offer.

While great potential, at this point I cannot recommend the hotel. This would change if staff is more attentive, price/value ratio is satisfactory and credit cards are accepted.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scubaboynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and found this to be a great place with nice staff and facilities.
They picked us up from the train station, did their best to communicate with us in English (broken english), even provide us with our own english menu and welcome message.
There is a network of river/canals that flow through the region and the hotel provides kayaks and canoes (believe you have to pay for them) but it was a nice little trip and people even sell things along the way.
We went during the week so it was quiter, left on saturday morning and it was getting busier. Lots of rooms and saunas (from ice cold to crazy hot) to explore. A few different pools, all with good atmospheres, although there is a naked area, which we walked into, so beware if that bothers you.
Overall great relaxing stay.

  • Liked — quiet (during week), lots of different rooms, great pools, canal
  • Disliked — small room, no a/c (but not many do)
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hexum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

Bleiche is an amazing place. The style is exactly what my partner and I like. Very classy but not stiff. They refuse to have a star rating which kind of proves my point. Taking into account that we spent around 1.000 euros for 2 nights (including meals etc), the place is very nicely informal. T shirt and jeans for a 5 course dinner is not a problem. The spa areas are huge, incredibly cosy with plenty of space to relax and rest, thousands of cushions and places to sit, lie, lounge, read... The staff is great (although not 'regular 5 star'), welcoming, friendly, knowledgeable but also nicely informal. Well - in the spa and wellness areas it kind of seems out of place to be formal since you are facing your guests wearing a towel only. And often not even that. We went on a coolish rainy summer weekend - perfect for saunas ect. On a hot summer's day I would personally prefer a hotel by the sea. But I will definitely be back in the winter. Maybe beginner's luck - we were upgraded 2 categories in our room. Funny enough, I suspected but did not find out until I asked on check out. Which means that the smallest rooms are indeed very small. Having said that - you do not want to spend much time in your room anyhow. Expect to do half-board. The food is outstanding and room-only rates don't really make sense the way the place works.

  • Liked — the love for detail in the decoration - it has to be seen
  • Disliked — bathroom in a fairly expensive room category is extremely small - well, there is a hige spa...
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GayGuyFromBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2006

We spent a weekend in the hotel. Unfortunately, they do not have air con there (which was quite a bummer because of the temperatures). So we requested a cooler room downstairs - which turned out to have a (typically for the Bleiche) small bathroom with a little mould. Of the 6 window panes, two were almost blind and one had a crack. The mini fridge did not work. Between the carpet (yuk!) and the wall was a 4 cm gap (?). For breakfast, we wanted to sit outside but were not provided with a tablecloth. Breakfast was not really fresh and distributed over 3 rooms. Service was slow. Additionally, only half-board is possible. The wellness area is large and laid out spectacularly but definetely has problems with cleanliness (e.g. plastic bag in the pool, used glasses in the gym). Overall, probably the most overrated hotel I have seen so far. If you want to go there for wellness by all means, try to get into the day spa.

  • Liked — surroundings
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — dont go
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank CarolineFaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burg (Spreewald)
1.1 mi away
Landhotel Burg im Spreewald
Landhotel Burg im Spreewald
#1 of 12 in Burg (Spreewald)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waldhotel Eiche
Waldhotel Eiche
#4 of 12 in Burg (Spreewald)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Spreewald Thermenhotel
Spreewald Thermenhotel
#2 of 12 in Burg (Spreewald)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Strandhaus
Strandhaus
#1 of 5 in Lubben
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Schloss Lubbenau
Hotel Schloss Lubbenau
#1 of 10 in Luebbenau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel zum Leineweber
Hotel zum Leineweber
#6 of 12 in Burg (Spreewald)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bleiche Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bleiche Resort & Spa

Property: Bleiche Resort & Spa
Address: Bleichestr. 16, 03096 Burg (Spreewald), Brandenburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Brandenburg > Burg (Spreewald)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Burg (Spreewald)
#4 Spa Hotel in Burg (Spreewald)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bleiche Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is an individual private hotel that operates along entrepreneurial lines and is geared to its guests' needs. In more than ten years the "Bleiche" has grown into an estate covering a total area of 11 hectares with all-year-around offers. Here it is easy to forget that the capital nearby is only a good one-hour drive away by car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Zur Bleiche
Bleiche Resort & Spa Burg (Spreewald), Germany - Brandenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing