We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Brioche

La Brioche
Ranked #8 of 18 Restaurants in Lubumbashi
Cuisines: Cafe, French
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

I have been here via Tripadvisor to try the ice cream and o yes, this is good. Very good quality. I love my pistachio and came back twice this week.
I also tried the kitchen. Its quality and portions are very good, the chips weren't that good, some oily and some still uncooked inside, but maybe that's a Congo "thing" as I haven't had perfect chips in the DRC.

Service is excellent and even after 2 times they great you as a local.
I will try the breakfast next trip to Lubumbashi.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious Ice Cream, Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I only ordered the ice cream here, but I was impressed by the selection and I highly recommend the pistachio ice cream. The restaurant was very clean and modern. The wait staff were not the best, but I'm used to North American standards. All in all, I was quite impressed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubumbashi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice and affordable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the ancient cafés of the town. The place is noisy at certain times of the day but still it's a nice small café with good value. One cheeseburger+French fries+cup of milkshake @ approx. 10$.

Helpful?
Thank Cuty007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubumbashi, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
127 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A recent remodel upgrades the place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We live in Lubumbashi. This is located on Blvd Kabila, the main street in dntn Lishi. While not a fancy place, they serve good food. Probably the best ice cream in town but that is debatable. The staff is friendly if you are.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shawbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savona, Italy
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

In the most popular road of downtown of Lubumbashi, in "La brioche" you can have great brunch, nice coffee, excellent pastries and the best icecream in town.
Unluckely it's closed for dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stgpoggi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Brioche also viewed

Lubumbashi, Katanga Province
Lubumbashi, Katanga Province
 
Lubumbashi, Katanga Province
Lubumbashi, Katanga Province
 
Lubumbashi, Katanga Province
Lubumbashi, Katanga Province
 

Been to La Brioche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing